Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Isidore Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yuba City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2012

I went to this school k-8. When I graduated with good grades I was accepted into San Domenico, an all girls Catholic Boarding School. I was sorely underprepared for true college prep rigors. I then transferred to Yuba City High where I was horribly behind in Math. In 8th grade we had not even started pre-algebra! I struggled through high school, having to re-take advanced algebra. I graduated on a high note having eventually recovered from my poor science and math background and then transferred to YCC. I did eventually graduate from UC Davis, but I have to sometimes wonder if I would have chosen an engineering field, my first desire, instead of a 'softer' science degree had my math skills gotten off to a better start. I also felt like there were a lot of distracting kids at this school. I learned at least 10 racist and derogatory musical rhymes here. Why was this tolerated? Why was academic mediocrity tolerated? If your goal is to send your child here to best prepare them for college, I would seriously examine if the academic requirements have improved. Having gone to Yuba City High and co-mingled with kids form Gray Avenue, I always felt that I was a few steps behind.


Posted May 12, 2009

My children have gone to this school for three years now. There has been some faculty changes but only for the better. Each change the school makes seems to focus on improving the childrens experience and academics. The school is ranked very high academically. One of the many reasons we chose to send our children to this school was the manner in which they teach personal responsibilty and self-discipline. It is refreshing to see children in todays society who respect adults and are strong in character. Class size averages around 18 students and there are no combined classes. All the teachers are credentialed and some have advanced degrees as well. Parent participation is high and this makes the school very family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I have seen way too many principals come and go and with that came a continuous change of rules and policies to gratify their needs. There is not enough consistancy. The faculty is also ever changing. This year I was debating home schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

I attended this school for seven years, K-6, and up until 6th grade the school was fine. The reason I moved was that the next year, two classes would be merged. 7th and 8th grade would be under one teacher. This would be the same for each two classes one teacher per two classes. I have no doubt that St. Isidore is a high achieving school, having come from there myself, I still maintain a 4.0 GPA for every semester ever since I was given letter grades. I think it was a wonderful starting point for my academic career. I got really tired of Friday masses and religious teachings. I believe that one of the best teachers I ever met was my 6th grade teacher, Mr. Lowden, he stressed the importance of being a good 'person' to his class.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 3, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The class sizes are perfect and really make it easy for teachers to give individual help to those who need it. Students leave St. Isidore as well-rounded people- intelligent and still social. The staff and the children alike are so great and really welcoming to those who have not been there as long as others have. I'm so glad that I sent my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Academically, St Isidore is a well performing school. Students come out of St Isidore with a high standard of educationa dn are well above thier public school pers. Socially, the school is small and often class sizes do not lend themselves to a large/varied peer group. However, the kids there do seem to be good kids and there is no tolerance for misbehavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 21%
Two or more races 14%
Asian 3%
Black 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Clark Avenue
Yuba City, CA 95991
Phone: (530) 673-2217

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT