Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yucaipa High School 1

Posted June 01, 2016
- a community member
Yucaipa High School is a god awful institution. My child is an excellent student, and he/she has had a terrible experience at this high school. The lack of challenging coursework and lack of encouragement by administration to motivate students is just flabbergasting. The office staff especially the principal and his all "women staff", are extremely rude and unprofessional. The most horrific part about this entire story though is that the school is perfectly content with mediocracy. In my child's words, the school was like a prison and the students were all treated like inmates. If you are looking for a great school for your child to attend, stay as far away from Yucaipa High School as possible.

Yucaipa High School 5

Posted April 02, 2016
- a parent
ThIs is my daughter's second year at YHS. I have been impressed with her teachers and she has had great opportunities to grow academically and personally. The administration and staff also care about making sure that kids of all academic levels have an opportunity to succeed and grow.


Yucaipa High School 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
Very happy with YHS - My son graduated few years ago and he did great with no issues and now my daughter is a current student and averaging 4.0 gpa & playing sports. Teachers are receptive to students who approach them and counselors have been willing to assist is class changes when needed. Positive experience on my end.

Yucaipa High School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
The staff is wonderful and I love that they have free tutoring after school. I would recommend this school to anyone who asks about it.

Yucaipa High School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a teacher
YHS offers a lot of opportunities for enrichment. There is a well-rounded variety of electives. After years of emphasis on helping the underdogs (in Special Ed and ELL) the academic rigor has improved. Now, there are more challenging classes offered for stronger students. Students will be well prepared for college. Compared to other area schools, YHS has a more personal, safe & friendly campus. Yes, there are a few duds on the teaching staff, but overall, YHS teachers are smart,enthusiastic and positive role-models. The new principal is a winner!


Yucaipa High School 1

Posted March 15, 2014
- a student
yhs isn't a good school. There is way too much bullying and drugs. If your kid is good or even halfway decent, don't put them there. The teachers there are good, but they don't do anything about the kids.

Yucaipa High School 2

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
Life Skills for Special Needs. The teachers all seem to love their students. I found the IEP very frustrating though. At the IEP they don't include all the teachers or psychologist in any of the IEP that I experienced. My husband and I requested simple things as allowing our teenager to be apart of golfing, band or other areas YHS offered and we were continually brushed off, or told no that didn't work out for them. I wanted my son to pick out his own extracurricular class and not be limited with 3 choices. I also wanted him to take an English class and they told me maybe maybe next IEP or maybe next semester. It never happened. I felt like he was held back. I would of rather my teenager take an extra english class with an assistant than crush plastics or play puzzles.

Yucaipa High School 5

Posted October 26, 2010
- a student
I can't even comprehend how someone could say there is no help. The teachers are phenomenal and most ARE available for you're assistance, although YES, they do hold you accountable. Tons of programs like writing workshops and peer tutoring are also provided at the students' convenience. YHS is incredibly supportive of a very wide variety of extracurricular activities and clubs creating tons of opportunities for students to be involved. It is truly a wonderful environment and I would recommend this school to anyone.


Yucaipa High School 1

Posted September 17, 2010
- a community member
I am a student there they do not help you what so ever they will get you for the most stupied things and even if your not a part of it . and most of the techer are not willing to work with late work even if there is a docs note

Yucaipa High School 1

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
Is Terrible. For a special needs student is fails to meet IEP needs mostly by refusing to place needs in the IEP to begin with. THey are more interested in disapline, and attendance than education. Maybe if the children who have needs were learning something, they would want to be at school. The assistant principal refuses to listen to the parents!

Nearby schools

Yucaipa High School
33000 Yucaipa Boulevard, Yucaipa, CA  92399-1951
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (909) 797-0106
Last modified Yucaipa High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top