Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Joshua Springs Christian School

Private | K-12 | 253 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yucca Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $84,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2014

We were also a military family who moved to the area. This school is so warm and friendly. My kids loved it here. We have moved many times and the teachers here were some of the best in the country. I had a second grader and third grader. You could really tell how much the teachers loved my kids and invested themselves in making sure they were happy. We had to move again and my kids miss the friendships they made at this school and miss their teachers! I would highly recommend sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

Awesome school! We are a military family who relocated to Twentynine Palms and the idea of 30 plus kids in a class was crazy. We found JSCS and are so happy there. My kids are in 1st, 6th and 9th grades and we are pleased across the board. Caring teachers, small classes AND the bonus of God in the classroom. Worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

I withdrew my children from public school and enrolled them in JSCS. I am very satisfied with the quality of education that they are receiving. It is a joy to know that they are learning God's word along with academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

This school is awesome!!!! My kids go to the preschool, and they love it. The teachers are very loving and you can just see in their eyes how much they really love the children there. My kids have grown eduactionally overnight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

My daughter is just about done with Kinder. here, she LOVES her school and wishes she could go here forever. We do not attend the church, but are welcomed with open arms into this school. My daughter went to preschool here last year as well, it is a wonderful and LOVING environment as well. She is reading (everything!), adding and telling time, has developed some self confidence and has 14 kids in her class. She has Spanish, PE, chapel, and library every week - not the case with public school. She is there from 8-3.... expanding her learning opportunities. I HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone who lives in here. I drive, everyday, from 29 Palms because it is so worth it! The new security fence has made it safer, and helps contain the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I moved my children from the public system to JSCS. Prior to the move my children hated school and homework. Now, they have developed a love of learning. Additionally, the standard test scores I received this past summer was proof positive that they improved over 40% in several core subject areas. It is also a nuturing and caring environment. We do not attend the church, but felt completely welcome in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

Good school, very sound K-2 grade program with Abeca as foundation for learning to read/write. Good Christian leadership, some inefficiency but overall very pleased with my children's time spent there. Love that the kids are able to pray, learn about Jesus at school. May not be as safe as public school, not as well enforced security as public school- gov't mandated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

This is a great school for any christian or non christian young person .And if you arent a believer of christ you will by the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had 3 children in this school for the past 5 years. It is the best in the area regarding class size, academics, sports, extra curricular activities & most of all helping our children lead Godly lives with principals and morals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 26%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 5% 6%
Hispanic 4% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Fem Ontiveros
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

57373 Joshua Lane
Yucca Valley, CA 92284
Phone: (760) 365-3599

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Joshua Springs Academy
Yucca Valley, CA


Beacon Hill Academy
Yucca Valley, CA


Berean Christian Academy
Yucca Valley, CA


Yucca Valley Team School
Yucca Valley, CA


Hope Academy Charter
Yucca Valley, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT