Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moore Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 516 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

This school was absolutely terrible. The kids were plain out rude and ignorant and has a HIGH percentage of bullying. Although the teachers claim they handle this very seriously.. My daughter has noticed several of her peers who were constantly picked on. It's as if the teachers don't care at all. I would NEVER let my child attend here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

We have been very pleased with the school, the teachers, and the administration. Nothing but positive experiences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

Wonderful school, wonderful programs! My son is very happy there. The teachers and administrators have promptly and effectively handled all concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

With School starting I thought I'd update this. My son transferred here from another district that did some standard based education down in in South Denver and what a difference! After a few tests with the Jefferson County School District we found my son was a little behind, the teachers and staff went right to work helping him out. They kept me updated and always returned my calls. My son enjoys it and says that the kids are friendly and is making a ton of new friends PLUS he is pulling A/B's !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

Love this school my daughter was well ahead of the other kids entering high school, caring teachers and overall good school. Proud to send my daughter there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Moore Middle School was a great school for my daughter, they taught her a lot about who she is and she also learn a lot from the teachers there. They are all great at Moore Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Not enough homework. I met with the principal last year about the lack of rigor. He agreed to work on it, but nothing different this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

This is my daughter's first year at Moore. I think that the teacher's are awesome and although my daughter doesn't usually have homework, the way the teacher's work them in the class is admirable. The school offers a strong music and arts program as well as other extracurricular activities. I think the only thing that I am concerned about at Moore is the communication between the administration and the school. They will leave you a voice mail message to let you know if your child has been in trouble. They do not involve you in the process when things are happening, only when they've implimented consequences. (No, my daughter has not been in trouble - yet).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

I attend this school at the moment and I for one think it is great. The teachers I have and had last year were the most incouraging and devoted teachers I have ever had. I strongly recomend this school to anyone especially to strong art and sports students that are for the Pomona Panthers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

I am truly disappointed with the way my son s school year has gone. I expected so much more from this school. There are teachers that are very negative when they are confronted with a challenge. They say they want to help and that it is ok for the student to ask for help when needed, but they turn around and with a negative out come and sighs of disgust say ok now what? I would not recommend this school for children that are bilingual as I feel teachers see it as a crutch and I don t believe they are properly trained to handle these children. It seems that they are too stressed, overworked and the life goes on attitude is unacceptable. The advice given to my child after asking for help and support was that if he is behind (1st semester), he should just work twice as hard to catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I attended Moore and was very pleased with. I made friends quickly and easily, and anytime I felt I was falling behind or didnt understand something all I had to do was ask. I for one am proud to say i attended Moore Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

We have not had a good experience at this school. Our son sustained an injury and had minimum support this last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

My son attended Moore Middle School for all 3 years of Jr. High. He liked the school and so did I. He has some learning disabilities, and they have a great program at Moore. It has been in existance @ 12 yrs, (might be more), and they have it down. My son will be going to High School in the fall, and I really wish he could do High School at Moore also. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

I think this is absolutly disgusting how far behind our kids are this is an outrage and i think it is time the teachers start doing the job they signed up to do! instead of just passing the student along to both another school and another teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female60%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students73%
Female74%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students60%
Female70%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female51%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students69%
Female77%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students54%
Female57%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible52%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students45%
Female51%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible36%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 56%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8455 West 88th Ave
Arvada, CO 80005
Phone: (303) 982-0400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mandalay Middle School
Westminster, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT