Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Charter Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 548 students

We are best known for rigorous academics.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2014

I'm sad to read the 1 star comments. I'm new to CO and LOVE this school! Two of my 4 kids attend here (no space 4 older 1's yet). I loved the PM K teacher! Great communication, quick at responding to emails, very loving towards the kids. My daughter hated missing school when she was sick and talked about getting her missed school work as soon as possible. She would tell me the funny things her teacher would say and do throughout the afternoon of teaching. I am thrilled that she is practically reading and then sounding out bigger words (5 letters or more)! They had fun field trips both in class & outside of school. The holidays, it was fantastic to see the parent involvement and the numbers that attended!! My son was in 2nd gr. this past year and I loved his teacher and the communication she gave both by email, phone and after school during pick-up. She worked well with him and I could tell she was eager to help him learn and adjust to his learning styles as he has asperger's. I'm especially impressed with the principal because going through the drive through/pick-up line she seems to know each family by name! If she doesn't know you by name you can tell she is trying!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2014

We love Lincoln Academy. Our oldest transferred in 3rd grade - it was a very difficult year! He had abysmal skills from the neighborhood school and learning responsibility for things like turning in homework and getting correct answers took some effort. While he hated the neighborhood school and never felt he fit in, he has enjoyed making friends and building relationships at Lincoln. Our other two children started at Lincoln in Pre-K and Kindergarten. They love it! We have been impressed by the concern the teachers show and how well they know their students. We've had 8 teachers total, plus specials, and each one has sent out weekly emails updating parents on what the kids are learning & what is going on in the classroom. They have each responded to emails I have sent asking questions or making requests - usually responding within 24 hours. I wish I could say the same about my experience with teachers in the neighborhood schools. Lincoln is not a perfect fit for everyone, but we feel between Core Knowledge, dedicated teachers and the parent involvement, our children our getting a much better education than what was offered at the neighborhood Jeffco school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

So thankful for this amazing school! Exceptional teachers, high expectations, amazing leadership! My children are having a very positive experience at Lincoln.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Lincoln Academy has been nothing but a positive experience for my kids and our whole family. The staff knows the kids and the families and there is a strong community feel! The Core Knowledge Curriculum is fantastic! I wish I had learned all the things that my children have been exposed to from the earliest ages. I really appreciate the high expectations that the school has, not only in academic areas but also for behavior. I would definitely say this is a school to give strong consideration to if you want a structured, back-to-basics school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

Do not take your child to this school. Teachers/Staff/Board of Directors do not communicate, return emails or calls. They don't deal with bullying. Waste of money! My son hates going to school. They don't use Love and Logic, even though they claim they did. They don't! If you want a robot kid that is not treated like a human being then by all means this is the school for you, but if you want more for your child and want them to shine as an individual, this school will not support that. I will be changing schools for the sake of my sons sanity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

I am a PROUD Lincoln Academy parent. I can't imagine a better school for my children. My oldest started in Kindergarten & my younger child in Lincoln's PreK. Their teachers have been nothing but AMAZING. Teachers at Lincoln truly know their students & what each child needs to fulfill their potential. I was hesitant about the Whole Class Learning format, but quickly found that within that format teachers push or support students as needed. My kids LOVE the Core Knowledge curriculum & constantly share all they have learned in conversation & in trips to museums and other places. Reading the last 2 entries make me so very sad. The staff is wonderful about communication - updated webpages & the office staff sends out a weekly memo. Teachers always respond to my emails in a timely manner. New staff was added as the school expanded this year, but there is NOT a high turnover rate. Lincoln has a very steady staff of experienced teachers. The 1 time in NINE years that my oldest had a 1st year teacher, I was wowed by her professionalism & teaching ability. My oldest is now preparing for high school & I know he is prepared academically, socially, & emotionally for the transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Used to be much better. If you read some of the other comments I believe the problems are from their tendency to higher younger, less experienced teachers. However, this is a problem for all charter schools. They can't pay their teachers as much as Jeffco can and Jeffco will only give an incoming teacher 5 years of experience credit on their pay schedule. That means the more experienced teachers are earning FAR LESS working at a charter school. After about 10 years of teaching experience it is a $10,000 hit. At 20 years it could be $25,000. It is hard for Lincoln to find dedicated and experienced teachers who will work for far less pay. That explains the high turnover and most of the new teachers don't really know how to teach that well, let alone Core Knowledge. By the time they do, the leave for regular public schools leaving the school without an experienced teacher so they hire another twit who just graduated and needs ANY teaching job on their way to teaching in regular public schools. If you have a choice, try to get one of the older, more experienced teachers. If any are left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Poor school. They only care about how much money they can get and what you can do for them! They do not care about parent concerns, never answer questions. It's a waste of money to take your child here! My son is in kindergarten and hates going to school. They do not use love and logic, which is false advertising!!! The put on a good show, but do not follow it up! No communication! No positive reinforcement! Horrible school! They are trying to make robot soldiers here. Kids are not allowed to be individuals! Do not take your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

We will have 2 kids this year at Lincoln. We have been nothing but pleased. Having grown up with both parents as teachers (and around teachers and administrators constantly) I recognize how this school is different than most schools. The teachers and staff are very involved with the school. In fact most of the teachers and staff kids go to (or have) graduated from Lincoln. We had a school work day and to see the principals, teachers and staff along side the parents weeding flower gardens, painting, and cleaning the kitchen shows the level of commitment by the staff. One teacher has been coming t the school every other day for 2 hours (during her summer vacation) to water grass and flowers. All unpaid. With this commitment I can see why my kids are out performing their peers in academics. It is quite obvious this school exceeds anything normal and standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

What first drew me to Lincoln Academy was the orderly classrooms. Students are not allowed to disturb the learning of other students. The teachers create a stimulating learning environment - they are excited, creative, and use a variety of ways of teaching in order to address the different learning styles of students - they make learning fun! The Core Knowledge Curriculum is rich and my children have been very well prepared for high school after leaving Lincoln Academy. The staff knows my children and family by name. As a public charter school, Lincoln Academy provides parents the opportunity to have a say in our children s education and how our school spends its money. The ability to be involved in the running of our school, which gives so much to our children and the community, is invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

As a parent of two children attending Lincoln (and one more on the way), I have to say I am very pleased with the quality of education this school offers. The environment is caring and supportive of my children's needs. The school also provides many opportunities for parents to get involved in their child's education. I only wish more parents would take advantage of the fine community Lincoln is trying to grow. I feel very fortunate to have my children here and look forward to helping make the school community the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

We are such a fan of this school. When my kids came to Lincoln, we were new to town and nervous about a new school for the kids (three kiddos - currently 3rd grade, 1st grade, and PreK). We wanted someplace that would have high standards, warm, caring teachers and a safe environment to grow and explore. We were greeted by name by every staff member we met and treated like old friends. The curriculum Lincoln uses, from Core Knowledge to Open Court and Wilson for reading are some of the most respected and challenging - I have seen my kids blossom and thrive - and met with extra help when needed. This year Lincoln has moved to a beautiful new campus of 15 acres - with lots of green space and trees. To be fair, the equipment is a bit older and will need replacing soon. The school offers and promises to keep all specials, from library to music, tech and art! We love our school and I am so thankful my kids will learn and grow here. The majority of the staff and teachers are stellar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

As both a parent and an employee, I couldn't love Lincoln Academy more! In its new location, Lincoln will continue to offer its academically rigorous program to even more students. The teachers are talented, caring and love what they do. One of the things I love most is that when people (either staff or families) come to Lincoln, they stay for a very long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

My children have been at Lincoln Academy for 10 years. We have been very pleased over the years with the faculty and staff, but most of all we have been so impressed with the Core Knowledge Curriculum. I continue to save their tests that show their learning in Social Studies, Geography, and Science. Since the curriculum builds upon previous learning, they don't "learn-it-and-forget-it". Schools everywhere have problems with bullying, cliques, bad behavior and Lincoln is not immune to these. But I believe they strive every day to provide the best education to build great people, not great test takers. That is rare in today's world. I would highly recommend this school to families who want (and have the time to actively support) an academically challenging education for their K-8th grade students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

My son attended the Pre-K program and is now finishing his kindergarten year at Lincoln. He is so excited about the subjects he is learning from the details of each continent to the engaging science units. He loves to read and especially loves his teacher. Lincoln has provided a great foundation for his learning career!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Our oldest child has attended this school long before it was actually a "school". He is now in 11th grade - I have two others here one ready to graduate out to H.S. To say the least, this school met our expectations up until about 3 years ago. Now, it just seems that what is best for the teachers and staff is what is best for the students. The parents do not matter anymore. Try talking to the principal, the office staff, the teachers?? Forget it! All they want to do is blame the problem on someone else. What does that teach our children? I will tell you that the core knowledge is the BEST approach to teaching, but what Lincoln does is just "certify" most of the parents who have volunteered for their child for a long time, and **POOF** make them a "teacher". This I don't find right...but just try to get someone to explain to you. I will be moving my children out of this school at the end of this year. Thanks for a LASTING memory....I certainly won't forget this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

My opinion has changed dramatically about Lincoln. I have come home every day from Lincoln Academy in tears. I think the main problem here is that everyone thinks it's such a great school that has such great academics and all that they don't care or see how it feels to be on the side of the kids that are ignored and neglected. They just see the bright shining faces of the popular kids that form all these cliques. They see how happy they are. I am not trying to tear down on Lincoln in any way. I have been there forever. I'm just letting you know that this isn't the right choice for kids that have a tendancy to be left out. No school is perfect, though. I just want everyone to know that there are kids at this school that have been stuggling with what I have been too. That's why I'm leaving


Posted March 13, 2011

I have been at Lincoln for as long as I can remeber. I love it! All the teachers are so friendly and really work hard for each student individually. The cirrucliculam is just absouloutley amazing. Everyone shows a tremendous amount of effort in everything they learn and teach. I couldn't imagine ever leaving Lincoln, I have grown so close...


Posted January 19, 2011

Our daughter is in her 2nd year (1st grade) and is absolutely loving the Core Knowledge. We considered long and hard what school would be the best fit for a fairly shy but academically gifted child. So far she has had a wonderful time interacting with kids of a wide variety of academic abilities (including some who are at least as advanced as she is). While we have been disappointed in the math, we are fairly certain that we would be frustrated with more than that 1 issue in any other public school and her teacher is working with us to try and keep her challenged and interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

My two children entered Lincoln Academy as 2nd and 4th graders. But better late than never! I will be honest, it was difficult for my 4th grader. The Core Knowledge program starts in kindergarten and keeps building and building each year. It was quite an adjustment from our neighborhood school. I am constantly AMAZED at what the Lincoln Academy students are learning. Technology is a Core class, and my kids love it! My oldest child does not like to read, yet his favorite middle school teachers were the reading/writing teachers. My oldest is now a freshman at A-West. His 5 years at Lincoln Academy made the transition to highschool an easy one! I cannot say enough good things about the teachers, teaching assistants, and administration. There is a truly caring environment here, with LOTS OF INDIVIDUAL ATTENTION (if needed). I personally have never seen religious teachings inappropriately integrated into the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Writing

All Students53%
Female67%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students62%
Female72%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Science

All Students70%
Female66%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female69%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Reading

All Students71%
Female84%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students55%
Female66%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female50%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Reading

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Science

All Students78%
Female75%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 56%
Hispanic 18% 32%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A41%
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Colorado Governor's Distinguished Improvement (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (303) 467-5367

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Solar Car Club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6980 Pierce St
Arvada, CO 80003
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 467-5363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT