Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shrine Of St Anne School

Private | K-8 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arvada

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $163,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2014

Stability, strength, and community are words I think of when describing St. Anne's. As a parent attending a private school in an area where our local schools are ranked so high, I frequently get asked "Why St. Anne's over public schools?" I now have 3 children at this school ranging from Kindergarten to 8th Grade. The challenge is not raising perfect children but raising children who can handle life's imperfections. When they meet those challenges & imperfections, they can address them with dignity, courage, and respect. My 8th grader is now on a competitive baseball team; his conversations with his coach, his attitude on and off the field, and his ability to show respect to those parents and adults around him come from walking the halls in this school; conversations he has when I am not there with fellow classmates and teachers. My children feel very secure in these classrooms which allows them to express their uniqueness - free from judgement of others. 8 years ago, if someone would have asked me "why" - I'm not for sure I would have had a good answer but now I ask "Why not?".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2014

Though this school is a safer moral alternative to Common Core, you don't get much education for your tuition dollars. Kindergarten at SA is wonderful for the average child looking for a challenge. I can see it being frustrating for an unprepared child, but I really believe the teacher works with all abilities successfully. Unfortunately, the emphasis on academics ends there. There are teachers at SA who LOVE children and LOVE teaching. In that sense, SA is rich. The teachers, however, are crippled by disturbing curriculum omissions. There is little consistent effort across grades to teach spelling or writing and the lack of attention to mechanics of grammar is evident. Teachers who challenge students are criticized and forced to scale back expectations (unclear whether this was pressure from administration or parents). I am not wanting college prep in early elementary, but academics are not taken seriously here. There is no room for accelerated learning, nor is there a conscientious effort to work with students with learning challenges. Accelerated students and struggling students alike need to find a school to embrace them, not leave them to waste away for 7 hrs/day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

I would rather not rate this school at all. My son was absolutely ecstatic about attending St. Anne's. We had our paper worked filled out and were lead to believe our son would soon be starting there. Then I was at the very last minute we were informed that he first needed to be "evaluated". I attended a Catholic school my entire life and was never once "evaluated" to see if I was good enough, and that is probably because the Catholic faith is one based on "Do not judge, lest ye be judged." Basically, he spent 15 minutes with a teacher, who decided he wasn't "ready" for St. Anne's. How do you judge a shy 5 year old in 10 minutes and say he is not allowed to attend? Ten minutes! We are Hispanic, and I personally felt very discriminated, and judged. My son is excelling at the school he currently attending, and it is a true blessing he did not attend this horrible excuse of a school. The parish should be ashamed, and should reconsider this absurd policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

We have two kids in St. Anne's right now and just moved to Colorado a few years ago. We have had a great experience at St. Anne's. In addition to strong accademics, the kids are taught life skills such as respect, friendship, love, faith, etc. I believe our children are and will be better people because of the experience. We have a local HS teacher in our neighborhood who says that St. Anne's kids come to HS much more accademically and emotionally ready.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

This is a school where academics and personal integrity are taken seriously. The learning environment is positive, so that the students look forward to school. The dedicated teaching staff combines with an involved parent community to assure a consistently supportive education system for the students. The students wear uniforms and enjoy a reputation in the community of being very well-mannered. Lessons of faith are integrated into the students daily lives, and community service projects also provide them with invaluable life lessons. My children have thanked me many times for sending them to the Shrine of St. Anne School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

The Shrine of St. Anne School consistently produces excellent students, who also are courteous and caring members of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

I am a parent of 3 graduates from the Shrine of St. Anne School. We have loved this school and its community since the very first day; and have continued our respect and admiration. My children were very prepared to enter high school. All three of my children went to a private high school. They were accepted in honor classes in math and English. St. Anne School is dedicated to teach the whole child . It offers so much more than their excellent academics which includes a phenomenal religion program that instructs children spiritually, and teaches service and community projects that stay with the child long after leaving the school. The students are confident in who they are and where they fit as leaders in high school and after. They often return to visit with their teachers and Vice Principal, and Principal showing that they respect and love the foundation that was taught to them. I have seen many alumni bring their children for the same nurturing education to St. Anne s - they want for their children the best in elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I am a parent of three kids. 2 are currently at St. Anne's and one went through 8th grade and is now in High School. All three of my kids have received an excellent education. They all perform very well in national testing and my child in High School found it very easy to transition from St. Anne's. More importantly is how my kids do in social situations. They are confident and respectful when dealing with others. We always get compliments about their behavior. Thank you St. Anne's for helping us raise successful, confident, smart, God loving children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

I have been a parent at Shrine of St. Anne School since the early 90's. I have close to 20 years of experience at the school as a parent. My older children were very well prepared for high school when they left Shrine of St. Anne. They had very high academic acheivement in high school garnering of them substantial academic scholarships to excellent universities. As a parent, I am proud of their academic success and I am proud of the fine adults they have become. Hard working, loving, faithfilled, respectful. I look back and believe it is the FOUNDATION they received in the early years of their education. The teachers, administration and othe parents and families had high expectations and that filtered in to the expections that they had for my children as well. They were always surrounded by loving families that expected the best of them. I find that children rise to meet the expectation that is placed on them. I still have children at St. Anne's and am very happy that the school continues to maintains those high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Shrine of St. Anne School is an excellent choice to make for educating the whole child. As a parent, I know that my children are receiving an excellent education academically. I also know that they are being provided the opportunity to develop as a Catholic Christian, and I see them becoming young people of virtue. This is not easy in our society today, but the teachers and admininstration at Shrine of St. Anne are committed to developing not only intelligent young people, but decent ones, as well. Parents are always welcome and they are very involved in making St. Anne's a great school. The connection between home and school is very strong, which creates a partnership that is very beneficial to your child. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Both my sons have attended Shrine of St. Anne. My oldest was easily accepted to any High School he applied to in the Denver Metro Area. St. Anne's has not only done a great job of educating my children, but they have prepared them to be great human beings as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

It is ok. I would give it a three. As a parent I would like to see the student: teacher ratio smaller. I fell the students would have better test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

I just graduated from this school after attending it for eight years, and i must say what a blessing it was. My class was extremely close, and i formed friendships that will last a lifetime. Here, students grow academically, spiritually, and socially. It is a great school, and i encourage everyone to check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7320 Grant Place
Arvada, CO 80002
Phone: (303) 422-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Arvada K-8
Arvada, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT