Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ralston Valley Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

The teachers amazing at this school. I love going here and believe that I am properly being prepared for collage. The "cliques" and "preppy" kids are at every school, not just Ralston Valley! The music department is incredible and all the sports and clubs are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2014

After attending Ralston Valley for my Freshman and Sophomore years I have to say that I am utterly unimpressed with it. I don't think that it deserves it's 10 rating. The administration certainly had nothing to do with that. They are lazy when it comes to improvement. The academics are alright, especially if you take honors or AP courses, but they are nothing exceptional. There is defiantly a huge emphasis on sports. The main problem with Ralston Valley is the pressure to conform to the upper-middle class white kid stereotype. When it comes to the outside world students are ignorant and xenophobic, preferring to stay safely inside the Ralston Valley bubble. If this doesn't bother you then you'll probably have a great time at Ralston Valley, but if you have a problem with this, then you will will most likely feel isolated and trapped by the homogeneity here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2013

Ralston Valley was a great high school for myself. I came from a small middle school up in the mountains and although it was daunting at first it was a great experience. I suppose I was in the unpopular group in school but I enjoyed it nonetheless and gained great friends in the process. While there are "cliques" at this school they are not as bad as you would think. It's not segregation, just people wanting to hang out with other people. I was never bullied at this school and while it is mostly Caucasian, it is a very accepting school. I would recommend it to anyone and I disagree with some of the lower ratings on here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2013

I attended Ralston Valley for two years before leaving and home schooling my last two years. I couldn't handle the disrespect of the students towards the teachers and the laziness of the teachers anymore. Discipline simply does not exist here. Kids wear whatever they want despite the dress code and teachers couldn't care less about their kids (absolutely everything is about test scores- one of my science teachers even told us that he didn't care if we learned, that his job was simply to run through the curriculum). As mentioned before, there is no diversity. Most kids are snooty rich/upper-middle class students that come to school hung over from partying all weekend. In middle school I had a 4.0 GPA and was asked to join the Junior Honor Society; here I struggled to hold good grades, not because I wasn't motivated or didn't have parents that cared, but because my teachers never helped me when I asked for help. All they did was write notes on the board, we copied, and were tested the next day. No teaching. One of my teachers even disappeared in the middle of the school year and no one heard from him again or knows what happened. I can name 5 good teachers; the rest were lazy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2012

Our child has been attending here for 3 years. He lettered academically in his Freshman year and was elected to National Honor Society the following fall. He carries a 3.85 GPA and takes honors classes. It is a rigorous schedule and it is good for him, however, he will be attending a different high school for 12th grade due to the fact that the faculty does not return phone calls or emails that they don't deem important enough. In speaking with the principal, we were told that even though our family was going out of the country for 2 weeks, he would be unable to take his finals early (by 1 day), which jeapordizes his GPA, National Honor Society, and possibility for an academic scholarship. People are right about this school. It is very beautiful to look at, but that doesn't help the situation that all the staff wants to do is make sure their test scores are high so they can get more students and be "the best" in scholarships, etc....It is a joke!! The principal didn't care that the counselor failed to contact me back after weeks of emails and phone calls, and just shrugged it off! My son deserves better...and he will be a better person for attending a different High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

If you think it important your children gain an understanding of the value of other points of view, diversity and tolerance, in addition to academics, go elsewhere. RV has close to no diversity in student backgrounds, ethnic or otherwise and does not appear to seek it out. Half our son's teachers did not bother to respond to parent inquiries, email or otherwise. The focus is solely on test scores and college admissions. If you're looking for a myopic focus on academics and sports, an appalling lack of diversity, and just want to keep your kids in an upper middle class suburban bubble, this is the place for you. But most of us think there's a lot more to education than that. You can do much better for your kids than RV. Test scores and sports trophies aren't the only yardsticks. Our son has a solid B average at RV in his first year. Academics are fine, the social environment leaves a lot to be desired. You can get the academics with a much more rounded and educational experience elsewhere. We'll not be back next year. Thanks to School Choice there are alternatives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Ralston Valley High School is exceptional! The principal is amazing and has a great relationship with all the students. Challenging curriculum and students are very prepared to go on to college. Would recommend Ralston Valley to anyone looking for an excellent school for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

I have two children that graduated from RV and they are as different as night to day. My oldest received a full tuition academic scholarship from a prestigious private university. My second a full ride sports scholarship from D-1 University. I attribute both of their successes to the leadership from the admisitration and some of the best teachers in the state. They encouraged growth and pushed both my kids to their full potential. I have read a few negative reviews from other parents, and as an involved parent myself, I can say that most students who don't succeed there, usually have troubles due to lack of motivation and parental support, not a lack of teacher initiative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

Ralston Valley offers all of the opportunities for one to challenger his/herself. If a student does not receive enought homework, then the level of his/her classes should be raised. The cirriculum is very rigorous if one takes advantage of the difficult classes offered. The teachers are usually available and willing to help their students succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

I disagree with some of the other reviewers, my child does not have a lot of homework and he is taking mostly AP classes. But, I will be honest my student is bright. Athletics are important at this school and as in most schools football is considered the cool sport. RVHS has a great music program-both instrument and voice. Campus is beautiful and students seem to be respectful of it. The kids who I see having problems are from some of the medicore private schools in the area. I think ther parents thought their children were gettting a better education then they really were. Kids from the local charters seem to do okay. This is not a diverse school. Most students are caucasion from middle class families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

This school promotes cliques and 'rich child issues.' We have had major problems with sending our child to this school. Better schools in the area are Lakewood or Arvada West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

We have transferred in this year from a small Colorado school district. We love this school! From parent involvement, student involvement and obvious passion for Ralston Valley, teacher excellence, and a beautiful facility - this school has it all! Homework is heavy, as it should be - our children's primary job at this age is to be a student! Extracurricular activities offer something for everyone. We are very fortunate to have such a high quality school, with National rankings, in our public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Fantastic school with high standing academic ratings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

I have had 3 children attend RV and found the experience to be acceptable. Teachers are good, but do not go the extra step to aid students. There is a complete lack of discipline at RV. No action taken for tardy attendance and cell phones are used in class. Administrative staff is quite good and puts a tremendous effort in to the success of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

This school is horrible! They only care about funding they don't care about your children. If you want your kid to drop out of high school and feel unwanted send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

I went to Wheat Ridge and Ralston Valley, and I noticed that the teachers happen to care more at Ralston Valley. Also, the students tend to be on top of things and communicate with the teachers so well that, generally, parents don't need to be as involved as they would have to be at other schools.It prepares the students better for their futures because of the responsibility they must take up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

The teachers at RV tend to use access time as a catch-all for the students who need extra help. There are some teachers who do not want to become involved with students and parents who ask for extra assistance or guidance. There can be an attitude of 'at this level your student should be able to......' rather than an attitude of taking an extra step or two to help. Clear communication from teaching staff to students concerning assignment due dates and instruction is not always provided, and the tendency to use the internet as an assignment posting board or avenue to turn in homework can be overused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

Academic Programs are diverse, well taught and emphasize education over athletics. Parental involvement is good, with good interaction at events and volunteer programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

Way too much homework about 3-4 hours every night, doesn't leave much time for family or activities. Teachers don't always give clear direction on assignments then become frustrated when students ask for clarification and tell them to go to access rather than take a moment to answer the questions. Some teacher's also teach at a much higher level (college)than the student's are at in ninth grade Counselors fail to work with parent's about issues wth teachers School is very nice inside and kept clean although it is already a little crowded with all the new homes being built. Overall other than being frustrated with some of the teachers and the never ending homework, I am pleased after coming from nine years in a private school.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female76%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students87%
Female93%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female64%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students82%
Female80%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students68%
Female74%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13355 West 80th Ave
Arvada, CO 80005
Phone: (303) 982-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT