Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arvada High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2013

Arvada High School has done an excellent job with the students that want to get a superior education. Students have earned over 3 million dollars in scholarships last year. Full scholarships to top rated Universities. Standford, Alabama, DU to name a few. Every school has students that do not apply themselves but if yours does - teachers and counselors will go above and beyond to help them succeed. Arvada sports teams may not win state championships but players get to play rather than riding the bench. But lets not forget 3 state wrestling champs, several football players signed to universities, cross country runners competing at the college level and more. You get out what you put in; Arvada staff will help you achieve your goals and will be right beside of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

this is a school that cares about you. if it is too easy try taking some AP classes and then see, but it is a great school because of the friendly teachers and students, there are basically no cliques and everyone hangs out with everyone. I wouldn't want to go to any other school because of it. Arvada High School is a school with great diversity and passion. It is a great school with a bad reputation only because some students don't care, but the ones that do care, will succeed and be great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2013

Arvada High School in a nutshell is not the best school to go to. The students there are friendly but I learned a lot more in Moore Middle School and that school was not so good too. Some teachers just seem to let you kick back and just let life past you. I expected I wasn't going to do well there, but my grades flipped on a dime. I went from slipping through the cracks having D's in middle school to having A's in almost every class in high school. The classes were too easy. I didn't change a thing on what I did on my approach to school. No disrespect to the students at Arvada high, but they just seem lazy. A lot of students get D's and F's. They don't seem to care. It is not entirely the schools fault, the parents need to step up and teach their kids to do work; that everything in life will not come free. If you want your kid to be challenged don't go to Arvada HS. I was more challenged in seventh grade then in nineth grade. It is better than nothing though. To sum it up Arvada HS is a place to make friends, not very challenging, and all around a not so good place to learn a lot. I am a student at Arvada High and I hope you found this review helpfull.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2011

I am a student at Arvada High School and wouldn't want to go to any other high school. I was excepted into every high school in the area, but I chose Arvada High School. The teachers are amazing and truly care about the welfare of their students. I am a NAOS student (North Area Optional School) and have had nothing but positive experiences with this school! Several of my friends who go to Pomona and Lakewood have agreed that AHS is much more welcoming and friendly! So please remember not to believe everything you hear about us!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2011

I like that this school does not have the "cliques" and group harassment that many other high schools have. My son, who is not very outgoing, does not feel pressure to "be popular" that he has felt at other schools. The teachers are extremely supportive, dedicated, and qualified. They have a large variety of classes, including many honors and AP classes. There is even an honors program called NAOS with high level classes and graduation standards. I am very happy with the education of my son and would recommend this high school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

3.I would choose this school over Pomona or A West any day. That is if your child is not very smart and you don't want to challenge him/her in anyway shape or form. If you just want to have your child pass high school and not go to college this and Denver public schools are for you. 4. This I totally agree with: This school is awful. The curriculum would not challenge a 4th grader and it still did not make the yearly adequate yearly progress. I know someone who was caught cheating without any consequences. These kids are being pushed through without learning how to read or write for the real world. I would ... Read more like to know the percentage of graduates who have a high enough GPA and ACT scores to get into something other than a community college. I bet that number is as low as the CSAP scores. This school needs to return to teaching reading, writing and math to raise their test scores and forget about the 'egos' of the children. Telling kids who aren't making the grades they need to success that they are doing well, is just setting them up for complete failure in the real world. THANK YOU! 3 of 5 character number to long. See older posts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

2. The teachers are very friendly and make Arvada an awesome place to be. a welcoming place. I love Arvada! I found out that only applies to kids that are not a challenge to anyone and does what they are told. So how many teenagers do you know like that? If yours is one you are very lucky. If not do not send your child there. I had an awful time trying to get a hold of teachers. They took weeks to get back to phone calls, and emails. I had to go into the school and get the Principal involved to get the teachers to do their jobs with communicating with me!! Then they had the nerve to say "Why did you get my superior involved. I informed them that I sent multiple phone calls, and email with no responses. They did not care and because they got into trouble it was my fault....Oh well you tell the students "If you you do the job you are supposed to, you will not get into trouble" That goes for you as well. Communicate to the parents when they address a concern and I would not have had to go to the principal. 2 of 5 character number to long. See older posts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

If I could give this a school a negative rating...I WOULD!!!!!! OK to address other things posted here ahem: 1. CSAP scores are a poor way to judge a schools success. OK then why do it? I guess having a school that rates lower ten any other school in the district means nothing. Just look he other way kind of like a mugging in process. 1 0f 5 character number to long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

I do agree however that the school has the highest diversity in the surrounding schools. Also I agree with this statement: " when I hear other parents and teens share their stories from other schools. Arvada does not seem to have the same level harassment and hierarchy that other schools have. The football players hang out with band members, etc. My son, who is generally shy and quiet, feels comfortable going to this school and is confident that he is not going to be attacked, mentally or physically, for being himself." I fear for children going here. Some are to the point they will do whatever to fit in, and keep their parents in the dark. This is more of a school for lower achievers, and stoners. The sports program is awful and not competitive at all. They lose 75% of thair matches in every sport offered when my student attended there, so they are about equal to the band performers. Our overall experiance there was awful. I would not recomend this school to even my worst enemy. If your child has a furture please send them to one of the surrounding schools. Please. 5 of 5 character number to long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

Arvada High is a wonderful school. Anyone who attends the school would agree. It is not fair to give Arvada a bad reputation. CSAP scores are a poor way to judge a schools success
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2008

Although Arvada has a bag repitation, Arvada Arvada High is incredible. It is open to everybody And the school is full of many cultures. The teachers are very friendly and make Arvada an awesome place to be. a welcoming place. I love arvada!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

I am a grandparent and 2 of my granchildren are in Arvada High. They love their school and are doing well. My grandson graduates this year. I am very proud of him.


Posted May 21, 2007

I am a student at Arvada High School and it is great I am very pleased at the selection of classes. The atmosphere in Arvada is amazing, every click will hang out with one and another. Its a great school with a bad rap.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2007

The quality of academic programs could be better & so can the parent involvement. But everthing else is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2006

As a concerned parent in the community with a child in the 9th grade at Arvada Senior High, my overall rating in just about all areas of this school is pretty low. The communication between the school and myself as a parent has been close to zero. In making bad choices, my son has not been sufficiently reprimanded nor have I been properly notified of these bad choices until it was too late to justify them. Now with a semester gone and zero credits earned, we will be struggling to get back on track. If I had been properly notified, having every possible means to do so, I believe this matter would not have gone as far as it did. Be aware the initiative on communication is not taken by the administration therefore YOU must take the initiative alone to see your child is on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

I am disapointed that an old school like Arvada Sr. High is no longer considered a good school. I wish there was more students that cared about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

This school is awful. The curriculum would not challenge a 4th grader and it still did not make the yearly adequate yearly progress. I know someone who was caught cheating without any consequences. These kids are being pushed through without learning how to read or write for the real world. I would like to know the percentage of graduates who have a high enough GPA and ACT scores to get into something other than a community college. I bet that number is as low as the CSAP scores. This school needs to return to teaching reading, writing and math to raise their test scores and forget about the 'egos' of the children. Telling kids who aren't making the grades they need to success that they are doing well, is just setting them up for complete failure in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

I think this is a great school for students to attend. There are many school related activities you do in this school that will help you when you graduate and while you're attending. I'm having a great time Arvada, attending DECA. I'm very proud I'm going here, and doing great in school. I would like to encourage parents to send their kids to Arvada High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2003

My twin daughters both went to Arvada and they loved it. They were cheers and poms and they excelled. Unlike many schools, there weren't as many cliques. At Arvada High students could be friends with anyone and everyone and they would never be ridiculed. Also, students could take classes where you received college credit. tHis credit could transfer to any college in the state, and even to selected out of state colleges! This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
Female22%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)26%
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligible13%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)7%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant22%

Reading

All Students44%
Female47%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible25%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Writing

All Students32%
Female37%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible16%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students15%
Female11%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Free lunch eligible9%
Reduced lunch eligible19%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English16%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant15%

Reading

All Students53%
Female62%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students34%
Female35%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligible19%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%

Writing

All Students27%
Female33%
Male21%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligible31%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch37%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English29%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

78%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 56%
Hispanic 36% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7951 West 65th Ave
Arvada, CO 80004
Phone: (303) 982-0162

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT