Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Arvada, CO
Students enrolled: 1,693

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arvada West High School 2

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
I agree with other parents my daughter is on a iep they treat her with dishonest respect and treats her like don't want to deal with her they tell her to go to rezourse but when asks question they basacally don't want to deal with her the only one that cares is teachers in the challenge program and the Sparkles and the students in sparkles its the only good program even a kid broke her arm and also c

Arvada West High School 2

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
I have a child who graduated from AW in the top of the school but did not fit in because they weren't the Barbie/Ken role model. My other child who is a student does not qualify for an IEP but struggles with D/F is regarded as a student to just get by and get them out of here. Arvada West does not have time to deal with the social issues that teenagers need help with these days that arise during school hours. Students that do not meet the IEP criteria but are on the border line for an IEP are left to fend for themselves which creates other problems. There is drug abuse, fighting and disrespect between the students. The school security is doing the best they can but it is more than a full time job. When entering the school parking lot the vision that you see is students smoking and the English they know begins with "F". What a sad situation for what used to be such a nice school. I am sure there are good students there but that is not what you see when driving into the parking lot.


Arvada West High School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
AArda west is the best school is the best in arvada iv had several kids go through in the last 15 years 3 in special ed they have the best special ed dep iv had no trouble if have problems go to the suprendent my daughter is now going there the district makes it to easy for kids to do homeschool and not do the wk cause nobody chk to see if doing the wk or kids don't go to school but iv never had trouble with arvada west they have lots of activites for the kids

Arvada West High School 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
The administration at this school is awful. They talk down to you and act as though they are above you. My child has a learning disability and the admin and teaching staff treated her as if she was just a waste of time and treated us (parents) like we were a huge pain in thier side.They just wanted to be done with our daughter.

Arvada West High School 5

Posted January 01, 2012
- a student
I currently attend this school and while the teaching quality veries from teacher to teacher the enviroment is great.


Arvada West High School 5

Posted February 03, 2011
- a parent
Arvada West High School has served my 10th grade honors student/athlete very well. Both the AP and Honors curriculum are just as good or better than any school in Jeffco. The teachers are PASSIONATE about their jobs and, more importantly, creating good relationships with their students. I noticed that Arvada West gets only 3 stars for "Parent Involvement." Not sure why this is a rating criteria as this is High School after all! It doesn't matter which High School your student attends...it only matters what they do with themselves when they get there! Arvada West High School will prepare your child for our big and diverse world.

Arvada West High School 5

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
I have son who currently attends A-West. He loves the school. He is an honor student and is in football and track. The teachers respond immediately if I have a question or concern, then proceed to resolve it. I have very high expectations and this school meets them.

Arvada West High School 3

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Arvada West High School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Arvada West High School 4

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arvada West High School
11595 Allendale Dr, Arvada, CO  80004
(303) 982-1303
Last modified Arvada West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arvada West High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top