Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hackberry Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter went to Hackberry Hill for six years. It was an amazing experience and prepared her for the transition to middle school. While we were pleased with all of her teachers, the music teacher is outstanding. Ms. Mogan instills a love of music into all of her students.

Hackberry Hill Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Last year was a rough year for HH: there has been "acting principals" assigned to HH due to Mr. Blair's promotion and health concerns of the previous incoming principal who had been expected to stay. There was also a spike in enrollment numbers, which was challenging. That written, I am still so impressed with the HH faculty. The music, art, and homeroom teachers have I meant over the last 3 years and two children are dedicated and highly qualified. My kids have fortunately not been bullied there, as far as I am aware; hopefully with the new principal, we will have more stability in the HH social environment and better crack down of any bullying.


Hackberry Hill Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
The GT Center at HH has done wonderful things for our kids. The growth we've seen in them is nothing short of amazing. Instead of daily worksheets for homework, they often have projects in which they study in depth a topic and learn so much more. The teachers are caring and are very receptive to parental input. There have been many principals, but one has been chosen and is expected to add a sense of stability to the school. The music program with Sue Mogan and Amy Woodley is top notch. The PTA is so open and appreciative of parental involvement. There are so many extracurricular activities: Oral Interpretation, Geography Bee, Spelling Bee, Reflections, Science Fair, Talent Show, etc. Our kids couldn't be happier at Hackberry.

Hackberry Hill Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
The only good thing about this school is the music program. They have had 5 different principals in the last 5 years, and they can't seem to get their act together since Mr. Blair left. They do not communicate very well, homework is a joke, and they don't provide a bully safe environment for the kids. If a child is a bully, they learn how to perfect the bullying behavior there and are not held accountable. The GT program is what I would consider a regular education and not a Gifted one. The homework they get is a couple of worksheets a week in their Friday folder and it doesn't give the children the reinforcement they need for what they are learning in class. The teachers also don't communicate what they are teaching unless you are physically able to come volunteer in the classroom itself. Some of us cannot do that. They are also not very effective in using the available resources of parent volunteers. Even if we can't come into the classroom, we want to volunteer, but there are no opportunities for us to do so. Overall, if you have a GT kid, take them to a charter or homeschool them. They won't get any better education here than at any other public school.

Hackberry Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a community member
Our grandson is receiving an excellent education, both in Kindergarten and this year in 1st grade. As his grandparent and a retired teacher of 32 yrs., I really appreciate the curriculum he is exposed to each day. The discipline chart for the day keeps us informed about his boyish behavor and we can support his teacher in staying steady the course. He and I love the Raz-Kid program for extra reading activities. THANKS


Hackberry Hill Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
I am impressed daily with this school. The academics, the music program, after school activities, the teachers and the parental involvement. If you wants a school that is top notch. This is the school for your child.

Hackberry Hill Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
At Hackberry, it's starts with an outstanding principal. Mr. Blair sets a high standard that trickles down through the ranks. I continue to be impressed with the quality of the faculty. Each teacher cares deeply about the kids and brings enthusiasm and experience to the classroom. Ms. Landis-Eigsti, Ms. Gallagher and Ms. McCracken are all stars for the 1st and 2nd grade GT programs. And is there a better elementary music program in the state? Special kudos to Ms. Mogan for all you do.

Hackberry Hill Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hackberry Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hackberry Hill Elementary School 4

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hackberry Hill Elementary School
7300 West 76th Ave, Arvada, CO  80003
(303) 982-0260
Last modified Hackberry Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hackberry Hill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top