Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Arvada Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 444 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

While I had to educate the teachers on how to implement the accommodations in my son's 504, and occasionally remind them that he indeed needed them and they were to be followed, overall they have been supportive of his needs, and open to learning how to accommodate his disabilities. They've never made him feel uncomfortable for needing accommodations, and helped make them relatively discreet. We're now at the end of middle school, and the accommodations are more automatic and regularly offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

I suggest that your student was being incredibly disrespectful. North Arvad is a bad neighborhood school, and I'm SHOCKED at how blatantly they sass and disrespect Mr. Cross. He has a really hard time teaching. Talk to your kid-I bet Mr. Cross called home at least once because of his or her behavior. And FYI- Mr. Cross probably had a certifiable reason. Assuming your child is disrespecting Mr. Cross, it's probably a result of YOUR behavior. I'm in the gifted program. North Arvada is a good school for GT, but has horrible, disrespectful teens. I hear people calling each other b------ and saying s--- and f--- every day in the halls, even to teachers-What do you know! Mr. Cross. Testimony of a 7th Grader at North Arvada, 2012


Posted March 10, 2010

North Arvada Middle School is a great school. I have had a student in the gifted program and in the regular ed program. The staff is very supportive of all kids. They are encouraged to become involved and succeed in their school work. Everyone has been open and willing to help. They students are friendly and are expected to be respectful of each other and the adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

I am student currently attending this school for the GT program. Unfortunately, when I first came to North Arvada last year, the experience was far from pleasant and I, as well as others, was frequently terrorized. When the GT program first moved, I suppose it became to joke of the school to have 'nerds' roaming the hallways. This year is far better concerning the display of attitudes and behavior, especially toward the GT students, and while I do believe that Principal Sergeant is a wonderful principal, I also miss Principal Little. However, I will not complain, since I see that with the new principal, many improvements have been made. I am unaware of the education received by others here at the school, but I do know that the education at the GT program is top notch and the teachers are dedicated. Overall, attending this school has become a very pleasing experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

In 2008 NAMS was blessed with an new principal, who previously led Manning school to greatness. It's no surprise the Trip Sargent has improved the quality of teaching and the attitude of the students. Sometimes you can walk into a middle school and feel very uneasy when groups of students are around because they appear hostile or disenfranchised. This year I have noticed an increasingly positive atmosphere, especially because I see students who are happy, excited and at ease in the halls and in the classrooms. My son has not encountered any bad influences from gang wanna-be's or drugs and alcohol or violence or bullying. He is safe walking to school with the hundreds of other neighborhood kids. Academic standards are high and teacher communication is great. I am a hard to please parent, and I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I love this school! Even if the teachers can be kinda mean sometimes and our assistant principal creeps all the kids out, they, and i love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

This school is as good as any ! I'm tired of hearing what a bad school it is , i'm not only a parent but i also work there. The only thing we need is more parent involvement!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

Other students here are disrespectful and quite honestly way below the learning level they should be at. I can't believe they had to move the G/T program form Moore Middle School to this one to raise the scores. As a student, I am dissatisfied.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2004

This school is so amazing my daughter goes there she says the teachers are very amazing and all the kids are nicley organized and very nice when it comes to work or for someone who has no friends. It is so much better in North Arvada Middle School .If it wasnt for u and all your support my daughter would be stuck at that horrible Kepner .... thank you so much and to exspecially to ms conners she is so nice when it comes to teaching.u should raise her amount of money she gets payed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female61%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible44%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students58%
Female72%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible44%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female54%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligible48%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Reading

All Students68%
Female76%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible68%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Science

All Students51%
Female53%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible48%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students50%
Female61%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible39%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 56%
Hispanic 37% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7285 Pierce St
Arvada, CO 80003
Phone: (303) 982-0528

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Goal GED Prep
Westminster, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT