Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Secrest Elementary School 2

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
My husband and I have been very unhappy with the quality of education our son has gotten in the pre-school program at Secrest. We feel that he has not been academically challenged. We have tried to address this problem several times with school personnel. Unfortunately, they have not made any adjustments to classroom instruction. They also have not made any attempts to differentiate for our child. Additionally, we feel that the staff has not taken sufficient steps in dealing with inappropriate behavior by certain students. Despite the fact that this has been a problem since August, the staff does not seem to believe any action should be taken regarding the behavior. Overall, we are very unhappy with Secrest and are considering taking our child out before the school year ends. I WOULD NOT recommend this school to other parents, particularly if their children are very bright. Their children will not receive instruction at an appropriate level. The staff also seems very unwilling to differentiate instruction for advanced students.

Secrest Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Secrest has the best teachers, principal and staff. They have helped my son blossom as a student, a musician and an artist. I love Secrest.


Secrest Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Every single teacher and staff member at this school is terrific.. They are very warm and genuinely care about the students and family.

Secrest Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
Dont judge this school by the state's overall grade - above all the teachers here care about the children. My child is going in 3rd grade and you couldnt ask for a better school

Secrest Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
My kids have no problem learning here. We love this school and the teachers are great! Maybe it is just your student that is not learning!


Secrest Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
I have got to say with the schools report card this is untrue. The teachers the staff even the gym teacher they are all genuine and really care about one child individually. I cant thank you enough for being part of my childs life.

Secrest Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
This is not a good school. Students are not learning! Too many students in the classroom with only 1 teacher.

Secrest Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Secrest is a great neighborhood school. Principle Chiles has really done a lot for this school and the teachers are great! Great community feel.


Secrest Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Secrest Elementary School 4

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
I credit Ms. Snow Kindegarten class and Ms. Yang 1st grade. They go over and beyond what it takes to make a great student. Ms. Carmosino is heaven with all her activities and ideas that she shares with the whole 1st Grade. If you choose to enroll your child into Secrest you are doing them a favor. We love it here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Secrest Elementary School
6875 West 64th Ave, Arvada, CO  80003
(303) 982-0760
Last modified Secrest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Secrest Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top