Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 566 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

This school is AWESOME! The teachers are great, the office staff are great and the overall school itself it GREAT! Both of my boys have gone here since Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

My son is attending Kindergarten here in the full day program. I can not say enough good things about his teacher. She is excellent!! My son is already reading and it's only half way through the school year. I am so impressed with the staff and teachers here. I am so happy this is my homeschool. The parent involvement here is exceptional. I can not wait for my younger son to start here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

We have lived in a home a few blocks from Sierra Elementary for over 25 years. We have watched "three generations" of kids and are on our fourth attending Sierra. We have known the children, attended their functions with their families, and can say nothing but good about this school and the impact it has had on the children, their families, and our neighborhood as a whole. What a pleasure to walk past the school and see the whole area covered with cars when there is a PTA meeting or open house or student activity going on! What a joy to walk past when the children are outside at recess and hear the high-pitched squeals of the children laughing and playing with one another. The values taught by the teachers, the support given to all by the principal, and the family involvement are exceptional at Sierra. We sometimes feel "guilty" that we do not have a child who attends Sierra - seems as if we ought to make our home available to someone who does. This school is one of the biggest "selling points" of our entire neighborhood and one of the best assurances that our children will grow up to be well-educated, "solid" citizens.


Posted January 10, 2012

Great school . The kids there are really nice. I was new when i started there, and i was immediatly accepted by pretty much everyone.


Posted July 22, 2011

This school has great teachers, a great principle, close to 500 PTA members. If that stat itself doesn't speak volumes then I don't know what does. We have a new principle who came in August 2010 and is pretty receptive to any complaints. Yes, as there is everywhere, there can be bullying, however with our new principle there is NO tolerance for bullying and if you speak to him immediately he will address the issue with all involved and will not be close any complaints until the bullying is solved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

We choiced into Sierra for three years until we bought a house in the Sierra articulation area. As a school administrator I knew how to evaluate schools. I was looking for a school where there was very little teacher turnover, a happy, positive environment and an ACTIVE PTA. I knew I would be extrremely involved at my kids' school and I didn't want to be the only one leading up the band. Sierra has almost 500 PTA members, higher than any other school in the area. The overall feeling at the school is happy and friendly and I want that environment for my kids. Sierra offers a down to earth feeling, there is very little, "Keeping up with the Jones'" like at other area schools my friends go to, and I value that for my children. And the teachers.... they are amazing, there is almost no turnover because they love the Sierra community and don't want to leave. A great Principal is icing on the cake, and we got a new one in August 2011, he is the best. A+++ School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

Sierra, Oberon and Ralston Valley are an incredible trio of schools! Our children have been enrolled in these 3 for years and we are amazed at the foundation for life they have fostered in our children. Due to staffing policy changes affecting the number of open enrollment these schools can now take, we know of five families that have moved into the school boundaries. Why? The teachers, principals and community are dedicated to the growth of the whole child regardless of academic needs both high and low. Sierra teachers have come to soccer games and band concerts for our children, worked before and after school with struggling kids, etc... The 6th grade team is well known for bridging students successfully from the comfort of the elementary world to the grown up life of middle school by instilling in them the confidence and skills to know that they can do it. One child of ours was quite a struggling student and not only went up in all areas on his 6th grade CSAPs but actually jumped from Partially Prof to Adv in math! Graduates in our neighborhood attend prestigious universities. It isn t a surprise that most of the teachers/staff also bring their own children to these schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I thought this school was going to be a great school after reading all the reviews, but boy was I wrong. One of my children have been bullied and physically assulted by aother student and when I addressed the situation to the teacher , my child was told ( stick up for yourself, you know that this other student acts like this) we than addressed the problem to the principal and were told well if you have a problem with it talk to my boss than, I have already spoke to the teacher. This is one of the most unprofessional principals I have come across. My child also neede help in a subject and I was told well I guess he will have to get help with it next year at the middle school. How lazy and unprofessional of the teacher not to offer tutoring help. I am transfering my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I fell in love with this school beacause of the great principals, teachers, students and parents. My children love going to school and Sierra has such has an amazing community feel where parents and teachers worked together to support one another and do what's best for the school and the kids. We feel very proud and blessed that we have such a wonderful school in our neighbourhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Sierra has wonderful teachers and students and is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

Sierra does well in academics due to two factors: Parent Involvement and Location. The PTA organization has more members than any other school in the entire district. This provides them with significant funding and unparalleled momentum benefiting the students on many levels. I recently moved to the area primarily to enroll my two children in Sierra. The neighborhoods are established middle to upper-middle class and rentals and foreclosures are few and far between relative to the Denver metro area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

This school gets great scores on the standardized tests because they teach to the test. The principal seems really focused on test scores and image. The teachers are great, though they don't seem that they are allowed to deviate from the 'script.' Problem solving, critical thinking, and integrated learning are lacking. We are drowning in worksheets and busy work. In defense of Sierra, I don't think its much different than the rest of Jefferson County. Our kids are learning to do multiple choice and regurgitate information better than any other kids I know...too bad that is not what life is about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

The love the teachers have for educating the kids really show. Our boys have been here for three years now. They both have improoved in reading and math. When my two boys come home and say school was great, that makes everything alright.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

My Daughter went from 1996-2003. We felt the school was great overall. Sierra did get a new pricipal the last year. And it looks like he will continue on the great path they started on.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Writing

All Students76%
Female82%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female85%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Writing

All Students70%
Female74%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students83%
Female83%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Science

All Students67%
Female64%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students72%
Female72%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students95%
Female100%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students82%
Female91%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7751 Oak St
Arvada, CO 80005
Phone: (303) 982-0821

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT