Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomson Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

All the teachers I've worked with really know their students, how they're doing academically, and are always looking for ways to increase their learning success. The secretaries make me feel at ease leaving my son there and I watched how they make every student feel at ease and welcome. Ms. Burns worked wonders with my child and somehow inspired him to write and focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

This is the second year my children have been at Thomson Elementary, and I've been impressed with the staff's commitment to children and to the constant improvement of their own knowledge and teaching skills. I also like that the school is friendly and encourages parents to come in to help, or even have lunch with their kids. Not as many parents take advantage of these opportunities as would perhaps be best, but on the whole, I believe this is a very good school, and I'm glad my kids are learning here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

This is the second year my son has attended Thomson Elementary. It is also the second year that Thomson has had a new principal & academic improvement program. Academics, communication & discipline are noticeably stronger than even 2 yrs ago. The whole school is clearly on a unified academic track. My son loves Thomson & has matured both academically & socially here. Office staff & paras are excellent. Principal & teachers want to know about problems so they can fix them. My son is a non-traditional learner & although I had to advocate for him aggressively @ district level, Thomson has worked to meet him where his needs are. In general, no school is perfect. You must find a good fit for your child & stay involved. Every teacher/staff member is different. Some have more experience than others, esp with learning disorders. So be your child's advocate & insist on the teacher/team with the most experience that "gets" & respects your child. Involvement is the key. At Thomson I feel welcomed as a partner in my son's education, & will be as squeaky a wheel as I need to be. It is a place that is improving, where my son feels loved & challenged, and where I can make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

i go here the teacher refuses to help me with classwork in math and i have heard teachers swearing more then once


Posted May 16, 2012

my son Jeffrey went to this school for 5th and 6th grade. Ms. Annie was his teacher and he did amazingly with her. she is an amazing teacher and i believe that every school needs a Ms. Annie, however my experience with my son charlie is hands down different. i am frustrated beyond belief with the faculty of this school. with the exception of his teacher ms. martinez. ms martinez has gone out of her way this year to help keep the lines of communication open with me. however the social worker seems to think that child protective reports are the only way to communicate with us. my son is diabled. one time he did not want to get on the bus, and refused to get dressed. i sent him in his pajamas with a note stating why, and sent him a set of clean clothes. it was reported that i NEVER bathe my son and i choose my battles with him. my son told the social worker that he got a spanking, it was reported that my husband and i beat each other up on a daily basis and my son is afraid to come home, we have councilors in our home 6 days a week to help with our children. next year my step daughter will be going. i cant wait for those cps reports... uggg! teachers rock, others..???????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

My son goes to Thomson. My son has Autism, but is also highly gifted. The staff at Thomson has trouble dealing with the Autism. They seem to also have trouble following his IEP, or his ALP. I have asked repeatedly to see what he is doing for his ALP, and they can't present anything to me. We are currently looking for a different school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I'm a parent of a student at Thomson. Although the staff is very nice, I'm really disappointed with my child's academic progress. What I have noticed consistently is a push to keep kids in a 'mainstream' situation, rather than giving them what they need to help them improve or excel. Additionally, although I have asked repeatedly over the past couple of years, my child does not receive work that is at all challenging. Instead, we are dealing with the affects of 'boredom' & disruption appears to be the result. What is more frustrating is to watch my child lose the enthusiasm to learn more because (outside of the extracurricular classes) according to my child, 'Nobody cares if I know more. They just tell me to wait and let somebody else answer and wait for other people to finish too before I get to do more...' This will be our last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I am a parent of a student here and my older child went to this school also. When I adopted my oldest she was in the 6th grade with a beging 3rd grade reading level after one here she was back on track and at a high school reading level. The teachers are always easy to reach and keep me updated on my kids progress. I have not moved because I want my kids to continue going to this great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I have 3 girls who go to this school and my son will be going next year. The teachers here are dedicated, helpful, fun and just all around great to the children as well as the parents. They are very prompt in returning questions whether you give a note to your child to give to the teacher, write an email or leave a voicemail. They all provide wonderful one on one with each child. My children love going to this school!! They especially love their family nights they put on, the end of the year fair and many other activities they provide for the children if interested. Not to mention the front office staff!! They are always very polite and are willing to help in every way possible!! I am so glad that we found such a great school as Thomson!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female32%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%

Reading

All Students45%
Female52%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Writing

All Students17%
Female16%
Male18%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)23%
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch21%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities20%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female42%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Reading

All Students42%
Female42%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Writing

All Students21%
Female33%
Male8%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)15%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female40%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Reading

All Students64%
Female81%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Science

All Students37%
Female38%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Writing

All Students38%
Female43%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female27%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Reading

All Students71%
Female81%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students53%
Female62%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 56%
Hispanic 40% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7750 Harlan St
Arvada, CO 80003
Phone: (303) 982-9933

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT