Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vassar Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 550 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Vassar Elementary is such a great school. My boys love their teachers and friends there. The staff does such an awesome job and they really care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

My children went to Vassar a couple years ago. I put them in a charter school because Vassar just wans't giving them the education they needed. Come to find out both my kids were about 2 grade levels behind. I'm a very active parent in the scools and I would constantly ask how my kids were doing, the response was fine. I feel like the teachers were only there because they had a job not to teach my kids what they needed to learn to be successfull. I suggest that if you have a choice of schools this is not a very good one. I Love the charter school that my kids are in and I'm glad I made the move. The teachers and principal were very negative and put down my kids (come to find out later). I wanted my kids to be successful in both school and in life so I feel like getting them out of Vassar was the best thing for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Vassar has great teachers who commit hours beyond what is mandatory.The quality of a solid education is present. It starts at home with the parents on how committed to education they are, the child will carry that over into his or her school day. Teachers can't do it all, it takes a village. My children love Vassar, and if there is a problem with a bully, the teachers will deal with right away, they just need to be made aware of the situation. We are happy with Vassar and appreciate the hard work from the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

My son has thoroughly enjoyed being a student at Vassar! His teacher, Mrs. Orner makes every effort to make each student feel special and meet each students individualized needs. Her creative hands on activities and various ways of teaching are amazing and keep students focused on learning with consistency. I have volunteered in the classroom and see how amazing different K teachers skills are and each student goes to their level classroom briefly each day for ELP. Each classroom is set up for the level that kindergartner is at , of their reading/letter recognition level. Carnivals, Math Nights, Turkey Walk- Family Interaction is what makes your child successful and Vassar expresses their wanting your child to succeed with many family nights! Many opportunities to help your child grow with amazing educators! This school works hard with fundraising to get what the students want. I just hope to where we are moving to knows what amazing education I have witnessed and what my new expectations are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

My 3rd grader relocated from a private school to Vassar and she loves it. I appreciate the structure and commitment. I hope the rest of the school year is as wonderful as the beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

I am a proud parent of a 3rd grade student at Vassar and I have to say this is a great school. I think alot of parents rate the school in the progress or level of their own children but it should not be that way. The school should be classified soley as a school and should not reflect on the progress or standing of your child. I think if a teacher tries their best to teach students and some students just don't catch on, that should not depend on the school because as parents we should also take the time to sit down with our children to review or help with homework. There's no 'Perfect school' that will make your children become honor roll students or the top rank of the classroom, it's not the school that makes the student it's the student who is interested that make themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

Boy the reviews on Vassar are not very recent. My children are both attending Vassar this year, and really haven't learned much, seems to have been nothing but review from last year thus far. There is no extra help for those who need it and there is no challenge for those who need that. My daughter was physically threatened by a bully who was bullying a lot of kids the school did nothing. My son has fallen so far behind his peers in other schools that I fear he will never make it up. Yes, there are a few really great staff members, but the poor out number the good. Class sizes are huge 3o-34, at least in my childrens rooms. I will not be sending my children back there next year. I want my children and myself to feel welcome in their learning enviroment and we don't
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

I am a retired teacher at this school, but I have worked here since its opening for 25 years. I still return to volunteer twice a week. There are a number of excellent volunteers and paraprofessionals that assist teachers in teaching reading, writing, and math concepts and skills. Even though this school has a rating of three I know that the past CSAP results have steadily improved, despite the increasing diversity of ethnic students, making Vassar one of the very best schools in this district. Students receive a lot of support to ensure their success. Many parents receive support from teachers and the principals to ensure their success in educating their children at home. Academic expectations are raised every month to achieve learning goals. Teachers have coaches at each grade level and for each academic area insuring quality education for students. Accountability is a very strong word at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2006

We think vassar is a great school. The teachers are great and there is a wonderful before/after school program. Our daughter always felt at home at vassar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

There are some good teachers, Mrs. Reed,Ms. Schmidt.It's nice to have teachers with high expectations and structure. The new Principle is a great one. There are about 25-30 kids per teacher, they usually have helpers in the class. This is a good public school, however some students need smaller teaching enviroments to get what they need for their education. This school has great saftey policy! This is good if you are going for public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

It is hard to describe the excellence of Vassar. Students at this school learn a lot and at the same time, they are in an environment with other motivated students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

Vassar Elementary School is a great school. The Staff is very professional and very friendly. When a child is in need of help they do all that they can. The Teachers encourage parent envolvement to the extent that they allow me to bring in my 8 month old while I volenteer in the classroom. I help out in 2nd and 4th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female52%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)45%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students59%
Female66%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)65%
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students45%
Female57%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)25%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female51%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)35%
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students47%
Female47%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)24%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students36%
Female45%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)29%
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female58%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Science

All Students30%
Female31%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Writing

All Students59%
Female61%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 32%
White 30% 57%
Black 23% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18101 East Vassar Ave
Aurora, CO 80013
Phone: (303) 752-3772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT