Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tollgate Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

If I could rate this Principal Ms. Godwin any lower I would. She is the rudest, most uncaring person I have ever dealt with in a professional capacity. Her reason for any issues presented is that she has 250 students and she can't keep track of all of them. WOW! The school board was called, my daughter called them. The School Board needs to look into the ethics of this school. The teachers are good, the principal in my opinion needs to get out of the education field.


Posted November 21, 2013

I believe Tollgate has some advantages and a lot of the things to work on. My son who is in kindergarten loves his teacher, however we have had problems from them sending out a letter in Spanish saying he is not proficient in English which my family does not speak Spanish, and English is his primary language- this had me worried, but he was retested and stated he was right on tract as all the other kids. We have had issues when he is not able to go to the bathroom, the lunch lady was mean to him and refused to help him open his lunch,. He over heard a kid being taken to a different home by a police officer, His teacher definitely seems to care but i called and tried to talk to the principal, when speaking with her it was obvious she did not care about listening to my concerns and was just interrupting me to make excuses and say how many kids they have, she stated to me if I go to the superintendent they can't do anything and it will just be redirected to her. needless to say I will be changing schools which is unfortunate because my son doesn't want to change his teacher, I also went to the school board and will continue with the complain with them despite changing schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

I have two daughters that currently attend Tollgate Elementary. One daughter has special needs, has been diagnosed with Aspergers. She receives tons of help from the Tollgate family, as well as receiving help outside the school from different support facilities, at my expense. I did have both of my daughters in a charter in APS, and unfortunately could not get the assistance I needed. I have always commended the team at Tollgate for their assistance, and continue to thank them for helping my daughter proceed toward her goals and set a expectation to her future daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

how many parents have a child with ADHD? What would you do, as a parent, if you got a phone call from the school that says...come pick up your child, he/shes acting out again and they are no longer welcome in this school until a Dr. can tell us what to do with them!! They are basically saying they can't do their job! If I were that parent, I'd be calling the news channels and reporting them. Spread it all over the news that the teachers at Tollgate Elementary cant do the job they were hired to do! Hundreds if not thousands of kids are diagnosed with ADHD and this school kicks them out because the Principal, Vice Principal, and the guidance counselor cant handle them!!!! OMG what is this world coming to if your child can't get the education they need because they have ADHD! Tollgate you should be ashamed of yourselves. You don't deserve to have your job if you can't handle an ADHD child. Your solution=kick him out so we don't have to deal with it! IT'S YOUR JOB TO DEAL WITH IT AND TO EDUCATE ALL CHILDREN! SHAME ON YOU.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

Tollgate was once again awarded the Center of Excellence Award. This is two years in a row that this school has gotten this recognition. We are so proud!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2010

I think this is a great school. The teacher who made bad comment listed below must have not made the cut. I know that the principal hold very high standard for teaching. If you do not perform she will not keep you. She listens to the parents a lot and what they say about the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I have had two kids go through Tollgate now and I feel that there has been a lot of changes in the last two years. I like the direction they are moving in. But the best part of the school is the teachers. I love the teachers they have. I think they are gold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

Both my children go to Tollgate. My daughter is in 3rd grade and my son is in Kindergarten. The teachers are great and care about the children. Even though APS don't generally have a high academic performance rating by the state and the teacher to student ratio is a bit high, the teachers here deserve a lot of credit for how well they manage the classes. The principal is very nice and the vice principal is awesome. He is always ensuring the safety of the kids. In the last 3 years I've seen only improvement at tollgate. If only tollgate would allow volunteer parents to be involved in classrooms, I think in a few years they could rise in their state academic ratings to a high level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

I am currently a teacher at this school and think its an amazing place to send your kids. Tollgate's teachers put their students first and will do anything to help their students to be successful in their classrooms. We have been recognized as one of only ten schools in Colorado for growth of students for three years in a row on CSAP. Way to go Tollgate!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2009

This is a horrible school. I was a teacher here a few years ago-the principal only cares about the image of the school and data, rather than her staff or the kids. I've never seen such a poorly run building in my life. There are a few teachers who really care about the kids, but by and large it's a really negative atmosphere. Send your kids elsewhere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2009

My son is on 1st grade he loves the school but I'm not so happy about having 26 kids on his class; to me that's a lot of kids & I noticed my son is going backward with his reading & writing. We work together at home as usual. He is a smart boy, took him a few months in kindergarten to write & read, now I can see something is not helping him, not sure if is the teacher or the fact that she have to deal with 26 kids at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

This school is very good for children with disabilities. The staff is very understanding and works with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

i think tollgate is a great school the staff cares about the children. the teachers that my child has had were great and wanted her to do well and she did. so said her test scores so i think they need a better rating i would give them a five at least
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

My son has attended kindergarten and 1st grade at Tollgate. He has repeatedly told me 'school was bad, I learned the same thing again today.' I liked Tollgate's all day kindergarten program; however, once in first grade, the all day kindergarten students were divided up into classes with the half day kindergarteners. The vast majority of kids in my son's 1st grade class did not attend the all day kindergarten and are not as far along in reading, writing and math. I feel that the advantages my son received from attending all day kindergarten have been completely negated in his 1st grade class. In fact, it s almost worse, because now he is bored in school. Just to give one example: In kindergarten, my son had homework every night (distributed on a weekly basis). In 1st grade, homework is sporadic, usually one assignment every two weeks or so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I have a child who just completed 4th grade at Tollgate elementary. In 1st and 4th grades, we got TERRIFIC teachers - unfortunately, in 2nd and 3rd grades, we got awful teachers who didn't really care about their students at all - in fact, in 3rd grade, the teacher left the school without a word and the class was broken up among the rest of the 3rd grade classes. All the children fell behind and very little was done to get them on track. The teacher/principal relationships also seem to be very sketchy. There seems to be a lot of teacher turnover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2003

One of my children attend Tollgate Elementary in Aurora at this time. She has been going to this school since first grade. She will be going in to the 3rd grade this fall. Her first 2 teachers have been outstanding. They encourage the children to do their best! I have had some concerns regarding the leadership there and the activities they provide. I would like to see more team encouraging activites. Overall I think Tollgate has teachers who care and are concerned about our children as people.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female61%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)71%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students39%
Female42%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Writing

All Students28%
Female37%
Male18%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)44%
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female71%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)63%
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students52%
Female61%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)52%
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Writing

All Students28%
Female37%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)22%
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female48%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)57%
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Reading

All Students45%
Female53%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)39%
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Science

All Students19%
Female26%
Male12%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities20%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)14%
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant19%

Writing

All Students38%
Female47%
Male31%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)36%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 32%
Black 22% 5%
White 13% 56%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 South Kalispell Way
Aurora, CO 80017
Phone: (303) 696-0944

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Aurora Quest K-8
Aurora, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT