Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rangeview High School

Public | 9-12 | 2197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

Rangeview high school is the best in the APS district. My children love this school, the teachers are fantastic! The Leadership is strong, the Principal has good guidelines for the kids to follow. He is friendly, and proactive. When a couple of situations arose, he helped us resolve them. He's a no nonsense kind of leader. And really, kids should be prepared to come to school for the purpose of learning, especially by the time they reach high school age. Unfortunately a lot of parents in the contempory world think that if their child is misbehaving, it is someone elses fault. No, it's a reflection of the people who are supposed to be parenting these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

This school does not let students or parents have a voice. I have tried to meet with the principal several times and the secretary tells me he is not in that day. I drove up to school and his was standing in the office visiting with staff. The secretary told me she had no idea he was there. The principal than discussed issues with me, but later denied talking about them or that we had ever met. This is the leader of a high school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

Rangeview High School is a school that establishing the path for all other urban high schools to follow. Staff care, are thoughtful, and go above and beyond for the students. They offer the best ACT Prep class in the state- Mr. Petry is awesome. Leadership is solid.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2012

RangeView highschool is not any diffrenet than other school like gateway or hinkly. The teachers teach at there own pase, and when stutdents are being bullied the staff doest really seem to do much about the situation. It seems like they make issues worse by makeing students talk to each other because that just makes the bulliy wanna be even meaner to the poor student. Students fight aot in the hallways and its really crowded in the hallways. I didnt feel safe in that school and its getting bad in there i wouldnt wanna be a new student there so plz dont bring ur kids there its not fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2012

Rangeview HS is a very good school. My son graduated from Rangeview and he was very inspired by Ms. Fox. to pursue an English major,. He says Ms. Fox is one of the best teachers he has ever had. My daughter is also attending Rangeview. Both of my kids have had good teachers at Rangeview and my kids worked very hard on many assignments. Both of my kids have received excellent grades!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

It is difficult to put the Rangeview experience into words, but they are losing 17 more teachers, so this is bound to get worse. Students making very low state test scores are told that they are advanced in their classrooms. If you bring up an issue about your student it will be hushed over, weather the issue is good or bad, its really sad. The principal is unresponsive and the staff seems determined to use students until they can get as much government money as possible. Student have been forced to make quick decisions about their futures, about the same way used car salesmen force themselves on suspected buyers. Students are allowed to know take a "pre-test" and then they are given that same information for their regular "test" and then they are allowed to keep taking it until they pass. Counselors fail to present honest information to all students. Students know more information about the personal lives of teachers then they do about actual subjects. They are lax in every area - take a hard look at the tardy policy. There are systemic problems that the current administration is not equipped to deal with, nor do they have the inclination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

As a Student this is definitely the best school APS has to offer, i've attended two other schools in the area, Rangeview teachers actually care about the students, the administration do their job, all the sports programs are great, and we learn actual skills that are needed after graduation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2011

Rangeview is challenging and fun. It has many clubs and sports and a good staff. It is top of APS in test scores, curriculum, and safety. However Rangeview is forced to succumb to the ludicrous ruling of APS, bringing us Standard Based Grading, a soon to come no off period schedule, and what once was a 93% for an A idea (which actually might have been exclusively Rangeview). APS brings forth condescending and degrading policies that has been haunting many concerned parents and students seeking equal opportunities with other competing students (outside of APS), and quality education. Parents seeking this school should be very cautious knowing fool well that you may harm the probability of your students' success with college admission and scholarships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

This school is really lacking. Standard Based grading is a joke. How does a kid really know how they're doing in the big picture when all they get is a letter... A, P, PP, U. And some how a bunch of these translates to A, B, C, D over a term. Any college looking at these kids must just wonder what the heck!? The curriculum is not challenging enough in the slightest and the teachers are unimpressive. The test scores are even less impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

rangeview is a very good school and has very high test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

This school is very good, but it really needs to re-evaluate some of its teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

Rangeview High School may have wonderful teachers, but it means nothing if the children are taken out of classes that actually work for them. The school shuffles around students that have been there for several years out of good classes; and gives these now open spots to transfer students who should not get top priority. After all, isn't it the students who go and choose what classes they would like for the following year. My daughter was not only moved out of a class that she was actually learning in once, but twice. I'd like to see some changes to Rangeview before I send any of my children back there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

Great school with good programs. Challenging academic curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

Rangview High School is a great school. my daughter loves this school. She recently moved from eagelcrest where she disliked the school. Here in rangview she has made so many more friends and seems to enjoy it more. Im really proud of her. and I only want the best for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

I am finally a Senior and apart of the '08 class! Sadly, I do not attend Rangeview anymore, but I have attended during my Sophomore and Junior year. I'm proud to say that Rangeview High School is the best high school within the APS district, regardless of not achieving academically great like Douglas County. Academics is not enough to fulfill a student's wants and needs, the social environment does and I have to honestly say that Rangeview rocks with social environment. If social environment is good, then students can achieve better academically. However, life is what a student makes it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

Academic programs are well set so that students that are below average, average, and above average are able to find a class that meets their needs. Rangeview students are held to a higher standard than other schools in Aurora. To receive and 'A', a Rangeview student needs a 93% or higher, while other schools only need a 90% or higher. I spread myself out in the activities that I participate in. I am a manager for the Girls Swim Team, Marching Band, Symphonic Band, Treasurer of the DECA Club, and the National Honor Society. Rangeview has nearly 100 different clubs and activities, and if there isn't a club that you want, you can always create one.(With school approval) Overall I believe that Rangeview is a school in which I would recommend to anyone and I am proud to be a Rangeview Raider. Also, the staff is for the Students
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

My son started at Rangeview this year. It seems to be great for him. At Columbia he was getting C's and D's and now he's getting A's and B's. I believe the Teachers do all they can to help the kids understand what they are to be learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

this is a get school. i have so many friends and the teachers are great. the sports are great to get involued in and they are improving every year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2005

The quality of academics at rangeview is low. The school has lowered its expectations do to the inability of the incoming students to achieve average grades. The extracurricular activities are administered very poorly, particularly the sports. As far as I know there is only minimum parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

Right now I attend this school, I'm a freshmen before I started school I was frightened to go but after a couple weeks went by I feel more better now. The new semester started and I never heard as many kids talk about their grades before, I think it's because they relized that they to straighten up to get better grades. I honestly didn't do that good from the last E grades but now I'm more focused then ever.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female30%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asian66%
Hispanic28%
Multiracial46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligible33%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)7%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%

Reading

All Students64%
Female68%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)59%
Asian88%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Writing

All Students47%
Female52%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asian84%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female29%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asian55%
Hispanic24%
Multiracial26%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligible30%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch37%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Reading

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asian83%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Science

All Students48%
Female47%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)32%
Asian66%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible47%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students41%
Female49%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asian45%
Hispanic34%
Multiracial33%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

73%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 56%
Hispanic 30% 32%
Black 22% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17599 East Iliff Ave
Aurora, CO 80013
Phone: (303) 695-6848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Eaglecrest High School
Centennial, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT