Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Aurora, CO
Students enrolled: 2,197
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rangeview High School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
Rangeview high school is the best in the APS district. My children love this school, the teachers are fantastic! The Leadership is strong, the Principal has good guidelines for the kids to follow. He is friendly, and proactive. When a couple of situations arose, he helped us resolve them. He's a no nonsense kind of leader. And really, kids should be prepared to come to school for the purpose of learning, especially by the time they reach high school age. Unfortunately a lot of parents in the contempory world think that if their child is misbehaving, it is someone elses fault. No, it's a reflection of the people who are supposed to be parenting these children.

Rangeview High School 1

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
This school does not let students or parents have a voice. I have tried to meet with the principal several times and the secretary tells me he is not in that day. I drove up to school and his was standing in the office visiting with staff. The secretary told me she had no idea he was there. The principal than discussed issues with me, but later denied talking about them or that we had ever met. This is the leader of a high school?


Rangeview High School 4

Posted November 26, 2013
- a teacher
Rangeview High School is a school that establishing the path for all other urban high schools to follow. Staff care, are thoughtful, and go above and beyond for the students. They offer the best ACT Prep class in the state- Mr. Petry is awesome. Leadership is solid.

Rangeview High School 1

Posted August 10, 2012
- a student
RangeView highschool is not any diffrenet than other school like gateway or hinkly. The teachers teach at there own pase, and when stutdents are being bullied the staff doest really seem to do much about the situation. It seems like they make issues worse by makeing students talk to each other because that just makes the bulliy wanna be even meaner to the poor student. Students fight aot in the hallways and its really crowded in the hallways. I didnt feel safe in that school and its getting bad in there i wouldnt wanna be a new student there so plz dont bring ur kids there its not fun.

Rangeview High School 4

Posted April 05, 2012
- a parent
Rangeview HS is a very good school. My son graduated from Rangeview and he was very inspired by Ms. Fox. to pursue an English major,. He says Ms. Fox is one of the best teachers he has ever had. My daughter is also attending Rangeview. Both of my kids have had good teachers at Rangeview and my kids worked very hard on many assignments. Both of my kids have received excellent grades!


Rangeview High School 1

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
It is difficult to put the Rangeview experience into words, but they are losing 17 more teachers, so this is bound to get worse. Students making very low state test scores are told that they are advanced in their classrooms. If you bring up an issue about your student it will be hushed over, weather the issue is good or bad, its really sad. The principal is unresponsive and the staff seems determined to use students until they can get as much government money as possible. Student have been forced to make quick decisions about their futures, about the same way used car salesmen force themselves on suspected buyers. Students are allowed to know take a "pre-test" and then they are given that same information for their regular "test" and then they are allowed to keep taking it until they pass. Counselors fail to present honest information to all students. Students know more information about the personal lives of teachers then they do about actual subjects. They are lax in every area - take a hard look at the tardy policy. There are systemic problems that the current administration is not equipped to deal with, nor do they have the inclination.

Rangeview High School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a student
As a Student this is definitely the best school APS has to offer, i've attended two other schools in the area, Rangeview teachers actually care about the students, the administration do their job, all the sports programs are great, and we learn actual skills that are needed after graduation.

Rangeview High School 3

Posted January 17, 2011
- a student
Rangeview is challenging and fun. It has many clubs and sports and a good staff. It is top of APS in test scores, curriculum, and safety. However Rangeview is forced to succumb to the ludicrous ruling of APS, bringing us Standard Based Grading, a soon to come no off period schedule, and what once was a 93% for an A idea (which actually might have been exclusively Rangeview). APS brings forth condescending and degrading policies that has been haunting many concerned parents and students seeking equal opportunities with other competing students (outside of APS), and quality education. Parents seeking this school should be very cautious knowing fool well that you may harm the probability of your students' success with college admission and scholarships.


Rangeview High School 1

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
This school is really lacking. Standard Based grading is a joke. How does a kid really know how they're doing in the big picture when all they get is a letter... A, P, PP, U. And some how a bunch of these translates to A, B, C, D over a term. Any college looking at these kids must just wonder what the heck!? The curriculum is not challenging enough in the slightest and the teachers are unimpressive. The test scores are even less impressive.

Rangeview High School 1

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rangeview High School
17599 East Iliff Ave, Aurora, CO  80013
(303) 695-6848
Last modified Rangeview High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rangeview High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top