Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Peace with Christ Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 189 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Aurora

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

My three kids were in the school for 1 year and we had to pull them from the school. Paying wasn't problem but it was a waste. Some teachers are very good and supportive, especially the 5th grade teacher for 2013/2014, but one veteran teacher in the school for 20 years is horrible. My child in her class had a lost 4th grade with bad experiences only Christ knows. For example, a 92% score for my child on a test got recorded as 12% fail and the teacher didn't care. When we found the grading error and notified the teacher, it was corrected overnight with no explanation, no responsibility and no apology. Our email asking for why such error could occur but the teacher refused to reply. Teacher disrespect to a fee-paying parents! As a Christian family, we wanted the best Christian education for our kids but we got un-Christ-like treatment and disappointment. As a black minority family, we now understand the lack of diversity among student population at the school, which says a lot about the "Christ for some students and not for all students" attitude two of kids experienced. We are glad our kids are now happy with good friends and caring teachers at a Cherry Creek public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

My kids have been at PWC since early learning. Initially, we were going to transition to the public schools for kindergarten. The full day kindergarten offered at Peace was what kept us there. 7 years later, we are still there. The teachers are great - always making time for parents. My kids are challenged on a daily basis. The athletic program is competitive - Go Eagles! There are numerous opportunities for parents to get involved. Budget-wise, we will do whatever it takes to continue through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

We were at this school for 5 years and we have left. 4 principals in 5 years ,lost test scores,2012 test scores compared to 2007 scores, apology letters from the teachers as to why the scores were so low, questionable accredidation to name a few.We really wanted to overlook these problems but in the last year it kept on mounting. At first we thought the school was superior but truly it is only average attested by the scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

My son started at PWCCS when he was in kindergarten. We have been very pleased with the teachers and the education so far. I was not thrilled with the interim principal (2012-2013) but I know that is a hard position to be in. I am looking forward to getting to know the new principal who seems very nice upon our first meeting. I think the education is well rounded and the discipline is fair. The religious teaching, along with the excellent education, is the main reason we chose this school. My son's Sunday School teachers are continually amazed by what he knows. I'm proud to have my son at this school and can highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

My son is finishing up his 2nd grade year here and he is having a difficult time. He was going to Vista Peak Elementary and he had a bond with his 1st grade teacher. He was excited every day and came home with new stories about what he learned. They wanted to put him in the GATE program for his creativity and writing. When he started 2nd grade at PWCCS, we expected higher standards so I was not surprised that he wasn't doing quite as well in reading and writing. But then I started paying closer attention to his work and found that he had actually started declining in his writing. He no longer was writing complete sentences like he was before. He was asked to write a paragraph and would get away with only writing 2 sentences. There seem to be many children with special learning needs in his class. Since the tuition isn't crazy expensive, I started wondering if this was a place for children who couldn't make it in public schools. Although we have only had experience with one teacher, the principal and other teachers seem great! I just don't know if I made the right choice for his education this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

As the mother of a 1st grade boy who's finishing his first year at PWCCS, I've got to say that I am so pleased and completely impressed by this school. The staff at PWCCS are caring and attentive with students and parents. The academic and spiritual curriculum are well balanced and thorough. And I love how organized everything is. PWCCS is also an incredibly active school, with school-wide events throughout the year. I love the small class size, the school's active interest in using the advances of technology to aid in teaching and I love the open lines of communication we parents have with everyone at the school -- from the principal, to the teachers, to other parents as well. And one more very important reason I love this school -- my son is thriving there. We are looking forward to next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

I attended PWCCS all the way through grade 8. I went on to Regis High School. I was well prepared in every aspect. In fact, I find myself helping my classmates who are struggling. If you plan for your child to go to a competitive high school, I would recommend sending them to PWCCS. I thank my parents for making that decision.


Posted April 26, 2011

If you want a great balance of education, religion and a caring yet disciplined enviornment- this school is incredible! My son has gone here for 2 years and it was highly recommended by his previous school, Mt Olive. The leadership is great, teachers wonderful at every level and the cost is dollars a day for what your child is receiving. It's an amazing character builder and I can feel great about where he is going every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

I have two kids at this school. They have exceptional teachers and the new principal is superb. The middle school is rated in the top 15% in the nation for every subject! It also got an A+ rating from the accreditation committee. There is competitive sports beginning in 4th grade, Spanish, P.E., computers, art and many other specials that sound like they may be eliminated from public schools. I highly recommend this school if you are looking for a top-rated school with all the extras and outstanding leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

My kids have been going to school here for three years. We love the school and think it is doing a superior job of teaching them both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

I think I'd always vote for more Spanish lessons and half-a-day every day computer learning [to address previous reviewers] but schools do have a state quote to follow, ya know? What's really surprised me about PWC is the sports program. 5th-6th grade basketball won 1st in one tourny and 3rd in another 2009-2009 and all the coaches in the other schools were competitive but yet 'civil' if you know what I mean. Sometimes it's the things you don't expect that make sending your kid to a school like PWC totally worth while. Even in a down economy where we should probably be hoarding our money away, we choose PWC. And, we won't regret it in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

I attended Peace with Christ for close to 5 years. It seemed like a great school at the time, as we were told that we were being educated at a higher level than students at public schools. But when I arrived in high school, I found my freshmen year to be very overwhelming. I was placed in all honors classes. I excelled in math and science, but I struggled a lot in English. I realized when I got to high school that I had not learned at all how to organize an essay. Also, I found that the transition from the small school setting to a very large high school campus was hard. It seems very overwhelming so i would recommend to only send your students there if you plan to send them to a private high school as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2007

Love the Christian and religious aspect. Parents who complain about too much religion should read the name of the school again. It is called Peace with Christ Christian School and supported by a LCMS Lutheran Church. If you do not like religion - go public.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

My son has gone to PWCCS since pre-school, he has received an excellent education both in academics and Christianity. This year he will be starting keyboarding and will continue to learn Spanish which he was able to use on vacation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

My oldest son graduated from PWC and is doing excellent at Regis High. Younger son is still at Peace. Great school, caring teachers, but the religion is a little overpowering. Spanish in lower grades? I expected more than videos 3x/week. Computer education? I wanted more on how to work with the computer than hand-me-down computers and donated games. Teachers don't know the computer and can't teach it! Like ALL schools it has its' good points and bad. I would like more emphasis on technology and less on religion, but overall it's alot better than the local public school system. I am very happy with Peace, but not ecstatic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

I cannot begin to say enough with how pleased we are with our decision to send our daughter here. Class sizes are small, opportunities are many and the Christian emphasis and atmosphere is phenomenal. Surpassed our expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

This school provides our son with a quality education in a christian environment. He has a wonderful, caring teacher who keeps us well informed. He is excited to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2004

Wonderful school with caring teachers! We are very happy & glad we chose to send our 3 sons here. You only have one chance, & your choice will be their future! We could not afford not to send them here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 56%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 3:15
School Leader's name
  • David Robinson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3290 S Tower Rd
Aurora, CO 80013
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 766-7116

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT