Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aurora Academy Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 503 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Aurora Academy Charter School (K -8) provides my children with a positive learning environment. My graduating eighth grader will be in honors classes in an Aurora Public Schools high school next year. The staff are outstanding, the faculty really care about the success of all students, and the parents' involvement enriches the sense of community. I think that the education and preparation they are receiving at Aurora Academy will serve them well as they move on in their education and throughout their lives. I have been impressed with the high quality academic, athletic, and extra curricular opportunities at Aurora Academy. I have seen my children grow as students and as responsible, intelligent, and caring members of a community. "Expect more, achieve more!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

My son has attended this school two years. Parents are asked to volunteer but some parents become very involve to the point where they are teacher assistance and are they are the one's teaching and discipline the children. I disliked this because I am not sure if they are even qualified to take on this role but the school needs as much free help it can get. Also the students are not challenged enough, the teacher focuses on the children that need additional supports and ignores the other student. My son could count up to 1,000 when he started Kindergarten here but the assessment stated he could count up to 36. I figured the teacher or probably parent got tired of hearing him count and just wrote down 36. Also they focus on a Saxon learning that basically teaches kids to critically think which is fine but that's all they work on. The TCAPS scores began to decline after fourth grade because the students are never really learning the academic criteria they solely focus on critical thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

this school i terrific .. every teacher teaches wonderful and they teach every school fairly . more than half of our school have a 4.0 gpa or higher ... expect more achieve more is for u s... we strive own it achieve and respect (soar) .. bring your kids here they will love it


Posted June 20, 2013

i love my school. I was behind when i came in 1st grade now i'm a better reader and the staff/teachers took time to help me and i love them for that!


Posted September 21, 2012

We have 2 children in this school for the past 5 years. I volunteer every week in the classroom and my husband is a Cub Scout den leader. We LOVE this school. Academics are outstanding, but more than that, the staff is entirely supportive of what makes the best learning environment for your child. I have had zero negative experiences thus far (we were going to homeschool but got in one week before school started so went with Aurora Academy instead). We have never regretted it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

i used to go to this school and its the most amazing school. the teachers are very dedicated and many have been teaching for years. theres also an avrege about 50 kids per grade so everyone knows everyone. parents are greatly involved in this school so if u are a parent you have to be willing to make a commitment. this is not like any other charter school it develops your child into a great leader and the ability to make strong choices. theres many sports teams that often recieve some of the highest reputations. their music and art programs have award winning bands. the corriculum is unlike any other where all of the kids learn extremely well and are so advanced compared school. its more affective to enrole your child at a younger grade at this school because of the revisiting and the building or the knoledge that develops at a young age. this is more than the avrege school because the students are more like family and the teachers are so dedicated to their students sometimes on a personal level and willing to make a great commitment and really relate to any child team building and bonding is also practiced.. any one who goes here is guarenteed to succeed in high school and in life


Posted May 17, 2011

My twins are finishing their third year at this school and we have been happy with the school from day one and will continue their education with Aurora Academy. We have been very pleased with the high level of education they have received and their excitement for learning. If there ever has been an issue it is quickly resolved in a professional manner. The parents are highly involved, and although this can be challenging to fulfill the required volunteer hours with two younger children at home, there are inumerable opportunities to fulfill your hours and I love how this creates a great parent-teacher relationship and evan my sons' fellow students are happy to see me. I agree whole-heartedly with the previous comment regarding the school motto...."expect more, acheive more" ....the perfect definition of this school, its high level of education, staff, parent involvement, and student acheivement and respect. Need I say more!! My only complaint....having to drive 20 minutes for lack of a better school nearby!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

Aurora Academy provides a challenging curriculum and the staff is focused on helping each student succeed. This school gave my two sons a big jump start when they went to high school. The staff is professional, and the parents are dedicated to the program. My niece and nephews are now going to Aurora Academy and each of their families have been very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love Aurora Academy and my kids do too. They have both achieved high grades than a traditional public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I love the Core Knowledge Curriculum. The parent involvement is outstanding. The teachers are dedicated and work hard for less pay than most districts offer. We are a school with a lot of heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

We are the first charter school in Aurora, Co. This is our 10th year. We have great students and administrators. Substitutes love coming to our school. They are amazed on how the mission of our school resonates among students, all staff and administration. Our school is run by our board of directors who are all parents of attending students. Check out our Csap scores for our middle school over the years, and the after school activities we offer our students. We are a perfect example of 'small is good' in regard to student population and class size. America needs to embrace the concept of charter schools.


Posted October 23, 2009

The Core Knowledge curriculum provides an excellent well rounded learning for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I love Aurora Academy for several reasons. It offers the Core Knowledge Curriculum, the Staff is committed to our kids and families and the school community is small enough that everyone knows each other. It's a super place to send your children!! I found that once my kids entered a 'regular' public school they were so much further ahead of their peers. Aurora Academy has given my kids(all four) a real advantage. Thanks Aurora Academy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We have amazing and invested teachers, curious, hardworking students, a supportive administration behind us and a rich curriculum preparing our community for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

We have the best kids and the best staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Our school is based on volunteer hours from the parents, so the parents are really involved. The education is advandced compared to other schools. I am so glad we found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Aurora Academy prepared my child to be successful in high school. It teaches traditional math so students actually learn math. It teaches about what makes our country great without ignoring our flaws. It provides a solid, traditional 'liberal arts' education in the k-12 grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My children are getting the best start in life. Aurora Academy motto is expect more achive more and I see that in my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

As a Charter School the high level of parent involvement and parent participation in our kids school makes all the difference in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Aurora Academy has the best teachers and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students69%
Female69%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students33%
Female35%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)37%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English31%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female70%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students63%
Female65%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female76%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students73%
Female86%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Science

All Students46%
Female57%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Writing

All Students52%
Female67%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female50%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Reading

All Students74%
Female83%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students44%
Female50%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female60%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students74%
Female80%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students58%
Female72%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female62%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Reading

All Students79%
Female91%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Science

All Students60%
Female71%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students57%
Female68%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 57%
Hispanic 26% 32%
Black 22% 5%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10251 East 1st Ave
Aurora, CO 80010
Phone: (303) 367-5983

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT