Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 94 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aurora Academy Charter School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
We were unsure of the charter program when we enrolled in the lottery system at AACS. When we got in however, we were thrilled since the public schools in our neighborhood had very low test scores. Since August, our kids love school, their teachers and their friends. My son is in keyboarding and learning things I never knew how to do and my daughter is on the honor roll and reads all the time. We said we would give it a year and see how they did, we will be back next year for sure! Only wish they had a high school too.

Aurora Academy Charter School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
I have worked at this school for over 10 years. What brings me back every day, now with my son, is not convenience, but a deeply held belief in the strength of our community. We are dedicated to rigorous curriculum, employ capable and compassionate support staff, demand accountability and professionalism at every level, and I have never worked with a more capable and passionate group of teachers. I trust my colleagues with the most precious thing in my life and feel truly blessed to be a part of this school.


Aurora Academy Charter School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
I have two children attending AACS, the oldest for five years, my youngest for two. I have nothing to say but great things about this school. My oldest struggled in Kindergarten with reading. The school has wonderful support staff that worked with him on a daily basis and brought him up to grade level. Now, four years later he is reading at a grade level three years above where he is at! Both kids love going to school and their teachers! Their teachers are supportive and are great at communicating with me. Each family does have to complete volunteer hours and I love this idea. The teachers welcome me into their classroom and I am never at a loss on how to complete my hours. Loretta does a great job plugging parents into this school to complete their volunteer time. She works with parents who are working full time and not able to come during the day. AACS treats us like family and I know my kids matter. I know they are coming to a safe and loving environment when I drop them off.

Aurora Academy Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Gina in the office is the glue that holds this school together. Raffaela is the health para and helps in the office, she does an outstanding job as well.

Aurora Academy Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
These teachers stay after school and tutor for students that are not on grade level. These teachers have students in their classroom during their lunch hour to make sure they are understanding the content.


Aurora Academy Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
My son has homework every night. I think that is fair since we are preparing him to go to high school and then college. Building the expectation of homework is best done at a young age so they are prepared for what is coming next.

Aurora Academy Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Students are not let off the hook when they do not do their homework. Students have to go to Soar Academy as well as Homework Workshop if they do not turn in their homework.

Aurora Academy Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
This school has high expectations for all of their students. Students respecting teachers as well as their peers is a core virtue of this school.


Aurora Academy Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
The teachers go out of their way to make sure every student is supported to do their best. Students are together for a number of years and have been able to develop strong relationships with their peers.

Aurora Academy Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
This school has a strong discipline policy and students understand the expectations. Students know that they are held accountable for their learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aurora Academy Charter School
10251 East 1st Avenue, Aurora, CO  80010
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 94 reviews. (303) 367-5983
Last modified Aurora Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top