Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thunder Ridge Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2014

There are some great teachers & staff that work at this school. I rate this school low due to a few reasons. One is inadequate student teacher ratios. The other is lack of knowledge on how to educate post cancer kids. There are more kids surviving cancer so this school needs to get up to pace for special needs kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

I have been a student of this school all three of my middle school years. Personally, most teachers are amazing and there are many clubs and ways to get involved in the school. My only problem and my biggest problem is the bullying. There are cliques all over the school and everyone who goes to the school knows that they are either the popular group or the loser group. Unfortunately, I was considered a loser all 3 years and was mistreated by many of the popular people. What hurts the most is these kids don't even realize what they do to their peers. I never felt welcome to the school by the students and I have been shoved in lockers, even, without the teachers noticing while they are in the same hallway as I. The students do get a talk about drugs and weapons and bullying, however, they continue to do it behind the adults' backs and the adults continue not to notice. Even if something is reported to the counselors or teachers, the problem never seems to go away. I now enter high school not confident that I will make friends and terrified that my situation will get worse and carry on just as it did in middle school. I sort of recommend the school but please do be very careful.


Posted June 24, 2013

Lots of programs and extracurricular activities. My kid feels safe at school. Could be a little better at informing parents of happenings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

As a past student of this school, I can honestly say that this school is the worst school of all time. Being bullied is always an issue, and if you don't fit in with the other students, you can expect to be bullied.


Posted April 7, 2013

As a current student (eighth grade) of Thunder Ridge, I can truly say that this is a great school. The teachers here are extremely passionate about their jobs, and it shows. They offer every core class in an advanced form with the Pre-AP program. I don't dislike very many people at this school. We are a tightly knit community and are very tolerant. Also, they offer many extracurricular programs that can relate to anybody. I love it here at Thunder Ridge, and next year, I will be very prepared for Eaglecrest, and I am ecstatic about that as well. I think you should definitely consider Thunder Ridge as a school, for it can help people of any learning level, and you will never be friend-less in this caring community.


Posted March 18, 2013

There is way to much bulling going on at this school! The Staff does nothing about it either! Besides punishing the kid that is being bullied! They want to keep their record clean! Instead of dealing with the problem! I know of several kids that were bullied and nothing was done! Instead of dealing with the problem kids they put one kid in a room for protection during lunch and he had to walk with teachers in the halls instead of dealing with the bullies. what kind of school is this???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

My daughter is wraping up 8th grade at TRMS, and as a parent I could not be happier with the care and education that she has gotten there. Every teacher she has had has been easy to work with, and excelent in their subject area. She has been given the skills and the confidence to enter high school totally prepared. We are sad to have her leave next year for high school, but thrilled to have our son start in the 6th gade. Great teachers, dedicated administration, and fantastic families. This is the kind of school where you can feel great about sending your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

I am going into my 8th grade year at Thunder Ridge and I can't wait for the year to start! There are so many great after-school programs that are fun and many are educational. The teachers are nice and are very focused on getting you where you need to be to succeed. I'm sorry that this will be my last year, I just don't want to leave!


Posted July 9, 2012

I am currently going into my 8th grade year at Thunder Ridge. The school has been standing for many years, and I am very satisfied by its teachers and other staff members. On one hand, the food could be better, but I definitely recommend it.


Posted April 25, 2012

I love this school I love the staff and students they are all kind and sweet I think the teacher amazing because they always have a fun entertaining way to Learn.i love the gym teachers and the fun activitys they have for us I am curantly in 6th grade and can't wait for another school year to start!!!!!!!!!! I recommand this school if you want your child to be safe and happy!!!!!!!!!!


Posted February 7, 2012

I switched to Thunder Ridge from Grand Junction. The people here are a lot nicer and caring than the people at East Middle School (the school I went to) The teachers are really nice and understanding. I love it here!


Posted June 28, 2011

I am currently a 7th grader at Thunder Ridge and i love it! I switched in the middle of 6th grade from Horizon Middle School because we moved. I didn't want to move but as soon as I met all my teachers and students, I didn't want to leave. The teachers are very helpful and nice. They give you plenty of time to study for a test and give you a packet that has all the answers in it (im talking about science). The students are very nice and there are rarely any rumors and if there are nobody spreads them. I would recommend this school.


Posted August 24, 2009

Im currently in 8th grade at Thunder Ridge and I am satisfied with the curriculum. Teachers really make an effort to really connect with everyone of their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2009

i have gone to Thunder Ridge for a year and that year has been the best year of my life!! the teachers and students are fantastic and i have friends that have been going to this school in 2003 and there hasn't been one bad experience and they all have said that those 3 years have been the best years of their lives. This has been the kindest most wonderful school i will and have experienced. Thanks so much to the wonderful students and staff at Thunder Ridge Middle School. :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

I am a student in the 7th grade. i have so many wonderful memories on the teachers. it just a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2009

The teachers are great and the friends you make there is awsome. Whenever i am on break i always want to go back to see my friends. There is no popular ar not popular group so everyone is treated with respect and everyone has a friend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

Well i am currently a student at Thunder Ridge and I think that some of these comments are crazy! I mean gang violence?!! The teachers are great and will do everything to help you sucseeed in school teachers like Ms. Ryerson a seventh grade science teacher will stay after school with you as will Ms. GrethBark at seventh grade social studies will help you with anything . All i can say is i can't believe this is my last year at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

This school is wonderful to go to!!! Every week day is new and full of fun. I always feel safe and i learn so much!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2008

I love the principal. Willing to listen to parent concerns and cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

the comment on august 15 2004 is ridiculous! there are no gangs! i have never even seen a knife there! the school is safe! there are plenty of security guards willing to get involved the school rocks! the teachers rule and the curriculum actually isnt boring! Im an 8 th grader, there arnt even too many bullies, they all get in trouble! but most kids are nice -johnt
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female67%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)51%
Asian80%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial72%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)74%
Asian85%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students68%
Female71%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)54%
Asian80%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asian76%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)64%
Asian83%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible78%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students73%
Female81%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)71%
Asian83%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asian100%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible72%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Reading

All Students72%
Female81%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)65%
Asian90%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)54%
Asian90%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students65%
Female79%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)51%
Asian85%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mark Sneden

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5250 South Picadilly St
Aurora, CO 80015
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT