Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arrowhead Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

Although there are a few amazing select teachers, the staff is overall crude, and seem to dislike children. If you can, avoid sending your children here. The positive reviews here have to be fake.


Posted June 19, 2013

This school is awesome! My kids have gone here for 5 years and I am beyond pleased. The teachers do above and beyond and I couldn't be more pleased. Although their overall test scores are not stellar, don't just judge this school by their overall test scores because it does not reflect this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

This is the second year my kids have been to this school. I am extremely unhappy with the 5th grade teachers. They have this ridiculous system where they "mark down" the students for every little thing they do "bad." And they will mark them down for every little thing.. as if they expect these kids to be robots. Seems to me these teachers have quite the power trip going on. It destroys any enthusiasm that my child has for school. And it's gotten so ridiculous that I am going to be taking my kids out of this school as soon as possible. I don't care for their "system" and also don't appreciate teachers that like to humiliate their students in front of their peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

My son had been in Arrowhead since K & finally in the mid of his 5th grade yr we made the decision to pull him out & try out another school. I had asked ea of his teachers since 1st what I could do to help him since he was having trouble reading and his anxiety increased w/ just mentioning school, but he scored high in math & ea of Arrowhead's teachers told me not to worry and that he was just fine, but the anxiety he was facing was extreme his 5th grade year. We met w/ 2 of his teachers & the principal & still no help. Then we changed schools. Within 1 mo. they got him the help he needed & now he is doing great & he's happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

I have 2 kids w very different learning styles but both very well behaved. I also have been a parent that volunteers once a week since they were in K, but when I have asked for help with my son who has trouble I have been completely ignored. I have also been told that he has each year got the more than less desirable teachers because of his lower grades and that my son who excels got the best teachers because of his grades. He probably doesn't need those teachers as much as my son who has trouble, so this is a backward way of choosing & has only done more harm. You could help some trouble kids by giving them the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

Great school!!! They are beyond awesome! This has been the best school so far! The teachers are very caring at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I was nervous to move into arrowhead's boundaries, because of the scores, but have been nothing but extremely pleased with how well they respond to the concerns of the parents. Last year we were at a school that was rated a 9, but they didn't do a thing after visiting with them 4 times about my daughter's academic levels being ignored. -Extremely disappointed- But at arrowhead, they noticed my daughter's levels right away and have continued to evaluate her on a regular basis to make sure she is mentally challenged and not bored, therefore forcing her to act out because she's so bored! They also have help that comes into the classroom to work with those that excel and need more challenge, & those that struggle with understanding the basics. Bottom line, if you are a parent that cares, this is the perfect school, just keep close contact with your child's teacher whether your child needs to be pushed more or have their load lightened. Common sense here. Children shouldn't be frustrated, but if they are, the parents aren't doing their part like they should by either helping the child or letting the teacher know. Parents have a better ratio to child than teachers do, obviously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers are very caring at this school. The students are all friendly and the parents are friendly as well. Eveyone is always willing to help each other out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

My children have gone here for the past three years and have always had wonerful teachers. The teachers are attentive to students who are advanced and try to challenge them at their level. The G/T program is also very good. My son is in the advanced 3/4 grade class and has progressed very much this year. I don't think the scores and pure numbers do Arrowhead justice. More activities and parent involvement could help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

Average school. Average scores. Could be much much better with more parent participation and more leadership from school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

We have been going to Arrowhead for the past three years and we absolutely love it. Every teachers we've had has been wonderful. I can't imagine that any other school could compare to the care and attention my children recieve at Arrowhead. WE LOVE IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

Love the school, lots of Parent/student participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

This is a wonderful school. I am informed on a weekly basis on what is going on in the classroom. The pace at which my son is learning is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

Teachers are experienced and care about their students. They kept me informed on best ways to assist my child's learning through parent workshops, phone calls, and conferences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Cherry Creek School District is the best in Colorado and Arrowhead exemplifies that. I have had nothing but a positive experience my first year here. My son, whos in K, has a superb teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

My kids love this school and we have had great teachers. All of my experiences with Arrowhead have been good ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students76%
Female83%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students47%
Female61%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Reading

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students65%
Female76%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female65%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Reading

All Students59%
Female69%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Science

All Students42%
Female37%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Writing

All Students55%
Female71%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 56%
Hispanic 20% 32%
Black 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19100 East Bates Ave
Aurora, CO 80013
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT