Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Viejo Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Mission Viejo Elementary is a very good school with great teachers and an Amazing principal! You're the best Mr. Pearson!!! Academically, it's on par with or slightly better than the nearby elementary schools. They even supplement their curriculum with non-common core resources. The difference is the staff, leadership, and real sense of community. If this is your neighborhood school, be thankful. We have since moved to be in the Arrowhead Elementary area and miss Mission Viejo very much. It's like night and day!

Mission Viejo Elementary School 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
This is my 9th year as a parent at Mission Viejo, 5th year with Andre Pearson as Principal. Mr. Pearson is a devoted, caring, professional leader, attentive to the needs of students, families, the community, and his staff. The school is much better now than before he was the principal. He is a great role model for the students at this school and has been very proactive in securing grants, new programs, and positive activities for his school. I admire and appreciate his dedication. We have been very pleased with the way he has handled the very few concerns we have brought to his attention. Another huge plus for this school is the Assets Program and Ms. Sandy Zimmerman. The kids are taught how to get along, solve problems, be involved, be proud of their school, families, and themselves. They learn bullyproofing and how to respect each other. As a result, my children have witnessed very few fights, almost no mean-spirited acts or thuggery, and this has carried through to Laredo Middle School and I'm sure up through high school. Their time in elementary school and middle school has been pleasant, nurturing, and enriching, and isn't that what we all want for our kids?


Mission Viejo Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Mission Viejo for two years now and she will tell anyone who listens that Mission Viejo is the best school ever! So far the teachers have proven to be highly capable and very much involved in her success. My daughter is learning to be responsible for herself and her actions, she is learning about tolerance and most importantly, she is happy to be there. I think that these early years are essential to a life long love of learning and Mission Viejo has done a great job of inspiring my daughter so far. I look forward to many years of being a part of the Mission Viejo family!

Mission Viejo Elementary School 3

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Horrible principal!! It has been said before, but Andre Pearson is in no way suited to be a leader. CCSD should be ashamed.

Mission Viejo Elementary School 3

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Mission Viejo for four years and there are a lot of good things happening. She has a great teacher in 3rd grade and a great, diverse group of friends. However, this school's growth, I believe, has been and will continue to be stunted by the poor leadership of their principal. He seems to be unsure of good teachers vs. bad and his decisions, at every level, seem poor. I worry about the future of this school if they stay in Mr. Pearson's hands.


Mission Viejo Elementary School 2

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
This school could improve if they had a stronger leader. Top down leadership has taken a toll on this school.

Mission Viejo Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is packed with high quality teachers who adore their students and work hard to help every child achieve. Unfortunately, Andre Pearson, the principal, doesn't follow that path. He seems to make decisions based on little and is a very poor leader for students and teachers. What a shame for such a wonderful staff!

Mission Viejo Elementary School 4

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
Mission is a pretty decent school. My daughter seems to really love it there and she's learned so much since transferring from an Aurora public school.


Mission Viejo Elementary School 2

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mission Viejo Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2005
- a parent
So far we're very impressed. My daughter has enjoyed her experience in kindergarten and in kindergarten enrichment. We see the teachers working with fundamental skills such as basic reading and handwriting, but we also see them differentiating to accomodate for different skill levels. Mission Viejo has a diverse student body, which we really like since our daughter is learning to become a member of a diverse population. It's helping her to develop tolerance and respect for other cultures, and at the same time, we've experienced no difficulties with safety or low academic expectations. It's a good school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Viejo Elementary School
3855 South Alicia Parkway, Aurora, CO  80013
(720) 886-8000
Last modified Mission Viejo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mission Viejo Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top