Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mission Viejo Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Mission Viejo has been great for my first grader. Mrs Droege is a great teacher and my son has learned a lot. The before and after care teachers are also great my son is constantly playing and getting lots of excerise. The principal seems very involved and there are always after school activities going on. Couldn't be happier .

Mission Viejo Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
Really like this school. From the principal (Andre Pearson), to the teachers, and aftercare staff and even the custodians, everyone works together to make this a great place for the kids. Our son has needed extra help with reading, and Mission Viejo has stepped up with assistance, creative programs and patient guidance.


Mission Viejo Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
Calls, emails, class pages, and even notes in bag - these teachers reach out and let you know what's going on very effectively.

Mission Viejo Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Mission Viejo Elementary is a very good school with great teachers and an Amazing principal! You're the best Mr. Pearson!!! Academically, it's on par with or slightly better than the nearby elementary schools. They even supplement their curriculum with non-common core resources. The difference is the staff, leadership, and real sense of community. If this is your neighborhood school, be thankful. We have since moved to be in the Arrowhead Elementary area and miss Mission Viejo very much. It's like night and day!

Mission Viejo Elementary School 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
This is my 9th year as a parent at Mission Viejo, 5th year with Andre Pearson as Principal. Mr. Pearson is a devoted, caring, professional leader, attentive to the needs of students, families, the community, and his staff. The school is much better now than before he was the principal. He is a great role model for the students at this school and has been very proactive in securing grants, new programs, and positive activities for his school. I admire and appreciate his dedication. We have been very pleased with the way he has handled the very few concerns we have brought to his attention. Another huge plus for this school is the Assets Program and Ms. Sandy Zimmerman. The kids are taught how to get along, solve problems, be involved, be proud of their school, families, and themselves. They learn bullyproofing and how to respect each other. As a result, my children have witnessed very few fights, almost no mean-spirited acts or thuggery, and this has carried through to Laredo Middle School and I'm sure up through high school. Their time in elementary school and middle school has been pleasant, nurturing, and enriching, and isn't that what we all want for our kids?


Mission Viejo Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Mission Viejo for two years now and she will tell anyone who listens that Mission Viejo is the best school ever! So far the teachers have proven to be highly capable and very much involved in her success. My daughter is learning to be responsible for herself and her actions, she is learning about tolerance and most importantly, she is happy to be there. I think that these early years are essential to a life long love of learning and Mission Viejo has done a great job of inspiring my daughter so far. I look forward to many years of being a part of the Mission Viejo family!

Mission Viejo Elementary School 3

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Horrible principal!! It has been said before, but Andre Pearson is in no way suited to be a leader. CCSD should be ashamed.

Mission Viejo Elementary School 3

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Mission Viejo for four years and there are a lot of good things happening. She has a great teacher in 3rd grade and a great, diverse group of friends. However, this school's growth, I believe, has been and will continue to be stunted by the poor leadership of their principal. He seems to be unsure of good teachers vs. bad and his decisions, at every level, seem poor. I worry about the future of this school if they stay in Mr. Pearson's hands.


Mission Viejo Elementary School 2

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
This school could improve if they had a stronger leader. Top down leadership has taken a toll on this school.

Mission Viejo Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is packed with high quality teachers who adore their students and work hard to help every child achieve. Unfortunately, Andre Pearson, the principal, doesn't follow that path. He seems to make decisions based on little and is a very poor leader for students and teachers. What a shame for such a wonderful staff!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Viejo Elementary School
3855 South Alicia Parkway, Aurora, CO  80013
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (720) 886-8000
Last modified Mission Viejo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top