Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prairie Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

i went to prairie my 6th 7th & half of my 8th Grade year my mom pulled me out because all of the crazy drama this a is horrible school. I was in com.8-2a & our dean did not help with the drama i was getting ROCKS thrown at me name calling. It was the horrible. It wasn't just the bullying our math teacher was not experienced she would laugh & talk with the kids instead of teach. My social studies teacher called kids dumb. if you are looking for a middle school i suggest looking elsewhere.


Posted July 23, 2013

I went to Prairie for all 3 years and I for the most part loved it. Many of the teachers that I came in contact with were nice and friendly. I will say that the teachers can be a little nosy, which can be a good thing. My friends and I were having personal issues and pretty much the whole staff jumped in to help. This happened actually every year I attended... MOST of the teachers will jump in if your grades aren't superb, but you will occasionally encounter a teacher who wants to teach you about how it will be in high school and won't care about your grade. My little brother is entering the 6th grade and we are definitely sending him here.


Posted June 25, 2011

I never got to go over my cousin studying in this school, and the comments I think it's a great school =D


Posted May 15, 2011

I absolutely LOVE Prairie!! It is an amazing, diverse school! One thing that makes this school diverse is the different kinds of cultures and races. I am in 6th grade and I am loving my teachers and the principal, Dr Cassady! She is a great principal, if she weren't she wouldn't bother to learn some of the students names! She know my cousins name, my brothers name, and my name. She encourages students to learn and listen to the teachers to be successfull in their future lives. I have never gotten straight A's in my life except for now in 6th grade and I know I will continue earning them with the way the teachers teach the students. I think if it weren't for Prairie the former students wouldn't have now graduated. Prairie is a school to go to if you want to succeed!


Posted March 27, 2011

It is your own child's fault if they don't want to put in the effort to be a better student. The teachers at Prairie actually do help a lot. Maybe you're not doing your part as a parent in making sure that your child is taking every opportunity given to improve their grade. I love Prairie and always have. The only thing my kids hate is the dress code. It's better than being put into uniforms though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

It is basically an APS school with CCSD badge on the front. It is similar to Overland with no communication with teachers. Oh yes, you kids will be allowed to fail semester after semester if you are not on top of it. If your kid has bad grades don't expect a call unless they get in trouble. Trying to get in better school district or school (he has 3.0 gpa) because I see the writing on the wall and just don't believe Prairie or Overland prepare kids for success unless your idea of success is your child in the Military or Massage Therapy degree from Heritage College. I want more and want teachers that believe and teach my kids that also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

The teachers at Praire are always willing to help. Many stay late grading papers, doing after school activities and tutorials. And they make sure that all students learn and understand the material. The principal, Dr. Cassaday, is a great prinicipal. She encourages the students, and informs them every week on PNN. PNN is a news broadcast by the studnets. The academics are outstanding. There is a class for everyone, and the core classes are selected specialy to suffice each students needs and abilities.


Posted February 26, 2010

Terrible school I can't wait for the year to end so I can get my daughter to a school where the teachers/counselors can help her succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

This is my daughter's first year at Prairie. I am so grateful for everyone who works with and for the students at Prairie. My daughter comes homes from school and has so much to chair about what she has learned during the day. She loves the creative way the teachers present materials and how they recognize her individuality and encourage her. There music program is also wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Wonderful, caring staff. Great environment for kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

this school is great diverse and the teachers stay late to make sure their students are getting all of their workvdone and that they understand it
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2008

I went to Prairie for 3 year and it's absolutely a wonderful school. I love how they split the academics up up in 3 communities. The teachers are so nice and if you have problems they deal with it the best that they can. I know that because I used to have problems daily and the teachers would comfort me and tell me they would deal with it and they did. My name is Katie Malina and I was in community 3 the time I was at Prairie and the 3 years I was there I felt like family. The prinicipal Dr. Cassiday is such a sweet woman and she brings happiness to where ever she goes. Prairie has great excellence and is very diverse. In fact Prairie is the most diverse in the county. Prairie has a lot of activities and every year they go to a Colorado Bulls ga
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

This is a wonderful school! I Have been going here for 2 years now and will complete in 8th grade year here also! The teachers are just wonderful leaders and always making the children a better learner! They make sure the child get the education that they need! Also the princible Dr. Cassady is a great lady! She brings joy to the classes and makes sure that it is a safe inviroment for us students! I love how the school divides up into 3 parts!I love my community, wich is number 2!I have grown to love and have so much care for the teachers in 7-2a! They are just wonderful teachers and outstanding friends! This school also has a clean enviroment. Every morning I just look foward to going back to prairie middle school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

this school is organized and has lots of great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

There is always room for improvement. I believe the teachers actually care about the students who attend this school and are willing to go that extra mile to improve education. The knowledge base of many of the theachers is above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

This is the best place ever. Never would my children go to another middle school. Prairie has wonderful teachers, students and a great principal. I love how they put the kids into 3 communities so they may focus more on teachings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

My children both attended Prarie with wonderful results. One with a learning disability received the kind of attention that prepared her for high school. My youngest child went from Prarie to Regis. Why is he successful at Regis? Because he went to Prarie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

My son has gone to this school for two years. The curriculum is poor at best. The teachers have no control of the classroom which creates a negative learning environment. I fear for my son's physical amd mental wellbeing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have been impressed with the staff and students at Prairie. My son is in the 8th grade, and is excited about going to school! The teachers are invested in our children - helping mold characters as well as minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

I would not want my child to attend any other school than Prairie. Dr. Cassaday is a TERRIFIC leader and the administration is top notch. Everyone at the school cares about the students. Diversity is our strength and students are not just taught a rigorous curriculum, they are taught life skills in dealing with people different than they are. The band program (including the newly resurrected Jazz Band) is phenomenal thanks to the leadership of Martin Martinez. Parental involvement could be higher, but the ones we have spend a lot of volunteer hours because they love the school, students and staff so much. The new Springboard curriculum (pre-Advanced Placement classes)is going well and challenging our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

552 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

552 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

552 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

584 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

584 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

584 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female53%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)47%
Asian63%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)27%
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Reading

All Students1%
Female2%
Male1%
Black (not Hispanic)1%
Asian0%
Hispanic2%
Multiracial4%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)1%
Free lunch eligible1%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch3%
Students with disabilities (IEP)1%
Students without disabilities2%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English2%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant2%

Writing

All Students44%
Female52%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)37%
Asian53%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial58%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female63%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asian77%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)31%
Proficient in English58%
Immigrant13%
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asian72%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible49%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English61%
Immigrant6%
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Writing

All Students48%
Female57%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)42%
Asian69%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligible45%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrant13%
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female43%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)34%
Asian64%
Hispanic34%
Multiracial45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Reading

All Students53%
Female61%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asian58%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Science

All Students41%
Female43%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asian56%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)2%
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Writing

All Students45%
Female54%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)40%
Asian58%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligible51%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 32%
Black 32% 5%
White 23% 57%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kandy Cassaday

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12600 East Jewell Ave
Aurora, CO 80012
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 747-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Axl Academy
Aurora, CO



Aurora Quest K-8
Aurora, CO



Challenge School
Denver, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT