Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smoky Hill High School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
I attended Smoky my freshman and sophomore years, before I had to move and switch schools. The best thing about Smoky is their school spirit- with over 40 clubs and sports, there's something for everyone. The pep assemblies are insane because everybody goes and participates in games and competitions between the different grades. Each class has a designated color, and go crazy with it during spirit week. The teachers try to help as much as possible, and if they can't they will point you to someone that can. I went from being a D average student in middle school to a B average, in hardened courses. Smoky is definitely the best you can get.

Smoky Hill High School 1

Posted December 15, 2015
- a community member
I attended Smoky hill my freshman year and was bullied to the point I couldn't wait to leave. The school faculty did close to nothing to help me. Many of the teachers don't want to help you, or act annoyed when asking for help on school work. I would not recommend this school.


Smoky Hill High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Several clubs support helping a cause and the local communities. This creates a compassion within the school.

Smoky Hill High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and school admins are very open, caring and responsive with communication. Fairness in grading.

Smoky Hill High School 4

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Highly dedicated and engaged teachers, strong school spirit, diverse student body, and opportunity for rigorous academic classes and extra curricula activities and a strong emphasis on athletics.


Smoky Hill High School 3

Posted October 24, 2014
- a student
worst school ever. i wouldnt recommend this school for your child. all the teachers do is write students up and drown them with endless detentions and the teachers never have time for any of the students!! switching schools asap

Smoky Hill High School 4

Posted December 15, 2013
- a student
Smoky Hill is full of all kinds of people. The great thing is, for the most part, they all get along. Being in drama doesn't make you exclusively a drama kid, just as being in IB doesn't really make you a nerd. People meet others and connect with others in all sorts of ways, and cliques really don't exist, at least not in the common sense of the word. Students respect each other for their talents and interests. There are those who aren't involved in anything, who fail their classes, and who are unknown. That is where the school has fault. Also, the school is sharply split by demographic. The African Americans and Hispanics are a large group of people that seem to be apart from the rest of the school, and they do badly. If they are not motivated to do well, Smoky Hill is probably not the best place for them. If your student has hobbies and is planning to join a sport, NHS, IB, AP, or band, drama, orchestra, or choir, they will succeed. Speaking from personal experience, the IB and performing arts environments are two of the best in the school. Both IB kids and performing arts kids support and love each other. I cannot speak as well for the other groups in the school.

Smoky Hill High School 4

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
My oldest child attended Smoky Hill for 2 years until we relocated. I was satisfied overall with the curriculum and the staff, but would have like to see more study skills presented to the students. The principal is amazing as are the majority of teachers and staff we encountered. The population is diverse, a plus for us, and there is lots of opportunity for student and parent involvement. My only issue with school activities is that everything met on Tuesdays after school, forcing kids to choose only one club or organization to participate in. We had a few issues with bullying but with the help of the deans they were addressed quickly and my child felt safe afterwards.


Smoky Hill High School 4

Posted August 18, 2011
- a student
Smoky has some of the best teachers and security guards ever, every time i come to class, i want to learn because the teachers are so rad! And don't even get me started on the security guards! The security guards are the most interesting, trustworthy, AWESOME people you will meet, personally, they make Smoky Hill. but the deans are very strict and inconsistent on the dress code.Smoky, IF YOU CAN'T CATCH EVERYONE THAT IS VIOLATING THE DRESS CODE, DON'T CATCH THEM AT ALL PLEASE, its very unfair to those who do get caught.! how does the cleavage of my knees or shoulder effect the learning environment?? Other than that, Smoky is wonderful!

Smoky Hill High School 5

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding school. Amazing school spirit and great traditions. IB and AP programs are exceptional. New renovation looks amazing.

Nearby schools

Smoky Hill High School
16100 East Smoky Hill Road, Aurora, CO  80015
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (720) 886-5300
Last modified Smoky Hill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top