Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Village East Community Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

This school is terrible. We were told we were going to be in one of the best school districts in CO. I hope that means the rest of the Cherry Creek schools far surpass this one. Our daughter was being inappropriately harassed by a boy classmate and when the teacher tried to get to the bottom of the problem, the parents blamed the teacher for their son's behavior- he's 10 years old and in 4th grade! My son was spit on and bullied by his classmates almost daily. The children here are so poorly behaved that no learning takes place here. I pulled my children out of there and homeschool them until we can move to an area with a school with children who are actually parented! They are learning so much more at home with me than they ever did at Village East. Don't send your kids here if you actually care about them and their education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

My son has been attending this school for over two years now and in that time he has made A great deal of improvement especially with his reading for the most part the teachers and staff have been helpful and have helped him better than any other school he has attended .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

The school is very diverse but I believe the teachers are stretched too thin and students have a difficult time excelling and are not stimulated enought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Village East is not a school I would expect to be in Cherry Creek School District. There is virtually no supervision in the before and after care center. The children fight and argue with no help at all from administrators and staff. My child has been unaccounted for many times in the school and the aftercare program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Village East Community Elementary is a wonderful school if you actually take the time and effort to get to know the teachers and other faculty. My son was in Ms. Willards class as a Kindergartner and I could not have asked for a more devoted outstanding teacher. Unlike other parents I actually spent time in his classroom and went on fieldtrips so I feel that I got a good indication fo the kind of teacher she was. She has high expectations of her kids as do I and she does not put up with messing around in the classroom nor disruptive kids. She spends time with each student and really knows each childs ability and strengths and builds on those. I could not believe the control she had over the classroom with the student teacher ratio they expect these teachers to work in. I would recommend Ms. Willard to anyone that has a child entering Kindergarten. She is involved in her class and the school which if you took the time or effort to talk to her you would know. This year my son was in 1st grade. There were some small issues that the school immediately addressed and my son went to another class. Still I love this school and the administration for the care and concern they show
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

My child has been at Village East since Kindergarten, she is now going into 3rd grade. The school itself is full of children from all cultural and economic backgrounds. While at this school my child has thrived academically, and has grown into an amazing individual. I believe this is due to her early experience at the school. For the parent who made the comment about Ms. Willard I have to say I strongly disagree. Ms. Willard is an amazing teacher. She meets her students where they are academically and pushes them to work at their highest potential. She doesn't just teach the student, she takes to time to build relationships with the families, and attends every school function even when the event happens while she is off track. Even though my child has moved on, Ms Willard has been instrumental in helping me advocate for my child by sitting in on meetings with teachers, providing articles, and getting my child involved in activities outside of school. A bully is definitely not I word I would use to describe Ms. Willard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Village East Ms. Willard is a great teacher, she has taught all 3 of my girls. She is old school and doesn't put up with anything. If you have not done your job as a parent by getting your children ready for school. What do you expect her to do! Bully she is definitly not. She has high expectations and gets the job done with what she has to work with. So PARENTS meet the teacher half way and do your part before they arrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

This elementary school is by far the worst school in cherry creek school district. The entire administrative staff needs to be replaced especially Mrs.WILLARD (kindergarten teacher). This women is a bully to the small kids in kindergarten. like the other reviewer said, we found our child outside the class room ten minutes before school ends. So, we pull him out of this horrible school and put him in privet school. I do not recommend this school at all! If you have a choice of schools please, please choose a different one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

I am one of those parents who is constantly involved in my childs' care and education - and I LOVE LOVE Village East. The kids there are loving little children who are ready to learn under the supervision of EXCELLENT teachers. Of course there are always kids who make it tough in the classroom/on the playground - but overall the atmosphere is superb. As a very diverse school, it embraces the cultures of all the children which I love. And I find the school to be a secure and safe environment for my precious little ones. I couldn't ask for more from the staff and students at Village East.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

Village east is a is a very scary school to me.My children moved to this school and all my children right when they stepped into that school they begged me to move.My child was attending 2nd grade at the time,and she had the meanest teacher I've ever knew.I'm not going to point fingers,but the village east staff has a lack of hard-working people.To many teens are working there and most of them don't even care about the kids.It frightens me that my child can walk off with some stranger and never to be seen or heard from again.My child told me about the things he sees during recess,there are children doing things they shouldn't til their in high school.There are kids cussing which in all cases shouldn't be allowed,kids having boyfriends and girlfriends and kissing,and many other things that are to inappropriate ti be said.I'd moved my child the first month my child been at that inappropriate school.If I had to rate this school between 1 out of a billion it would be below 1 that's for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

GREAT school! My son attends kindergarten and I am blown away at how much he has learned in half the school year. I know other children that are in the kindergarten but attend different schools that don't know half as much as he does. Keep up the great work Village East Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

This is an excellent school. Mr. Arritola is the best principal I have had the opportunity to collaborate with. I love the focus on teaching my child how to make good choices. They also help the students to tear off negative labels and create a positive self image. It is a great school that teaches students real life skills and how to accept each and every person for their inner spirit rather than looks, clothes, race, or gender. I look forward to many more years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

This is an excellent school. Every school has a few bad apples. The teachers and the administration are fabulous. This school will teach your child that everyone is human, no matter your culture. My fifth grade daughter was very nervous to be around so many different cultures, now after 7 months she doesn't see skin color anymore she sees children that have become her friends. The curriculum in the gt programs are very challenging. The teachers always offer to assist any child if they are having problems. I will be sad when my daughter moves to sixth grade, and I find her a middle school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I was very happy to move my daughter to another school, it couldn't have happened fast enough. I had nothing but great experiences with the teachers and administration, and many of the kiddos are really wonderful. But a few bad apples seem to have really ruined this school - I just never figured out why the school was so chaotic. Between theft in the child care, bullying in 2nd grade, and some of the parents complete lack of caring about their kids, I just have had enough. I hope things turn around for this school and it's kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

Excellent school. I have 2 kids one on kibndergarden and the other one on second grade. The teachers are excellent and my children have learned very enormously thanks to the pasiencia and care of them. Technology is excellent. To make the parents participate in activities with the kids is huge. The work of the teachers one by one with the kids is excellent since the kids take advantage of mas the learning. The teachers always prepared to clarify to our doubts and the restlessness of our children. The personnel of the school is very kind and amiable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

Excellent School!!!! Congratulations Teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

My son is a first grader at this school. His teacher, Mrs. Heins, is a wonderful teacher. She is constantly in contact with me. She responds to all of my emails within 24 hours in most instances. Sadly, however, I do agree with the before/after school program. I've had problems with my son being bullied, the director keeping information from me regarding my child, and the staff not knowing the whereabouts of my child at any given time. As for the school's security, I feel that it could be much improved. Children are easily coerced by older people and I fear it would be very easy for a stranger to get a child to go with them and no one be the wiser at the time it was happening. The child/teacher ratio is out of balance leaving too much room for error.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

My son has been at this school for 3 years. His kindergarden teacher, Monica Argotsinger, was Amazing! Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the next 2 teachers. I have spent the last 2 years tryint to get him out of this school. My husband and I are now to the point of paying for private school so our child doesn't have to go to school here. There is little to no communication from teachers/administrators. The extended program is run by teenagers who pay no attention to the students. There is little supervision during recess, and little security around the school. It's scary a child can walk off with anyone, and there is no teacher to stop it. My family won't be attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

I think this school is great, so far so good. My son is in 1st grade, he started at Village East, half-way through Kindergarden, and he has received 2 awards since being there. I like it ,if I there is/was a problem the teachers will contact me ,and they also have a contact number they can be reached at. Can't wait for my daughter to start next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Very poor communication with parents, not enough supervision, teachers seem to just let the sudents work it out themselves instead of stepping in and helping with solution
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female64%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)60%
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Reading

All Students59%
Female64%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students37%
Female44%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)25%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female58%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)46%
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students50%
Female49%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)23%
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students33%
Female43%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)25%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)27%
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female60%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)47%
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students61%
Female71%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Science

All Students30%
Female29%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)16%
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Writing

All Students36%
Female42%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)24%
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 32%
Black 33% 5%
White 20% 57%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Barbara Walker

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1433 South Oakland St
Aurora, CO 80012
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 747-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Aurora Quest K-8
Aurora, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT