Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Overland High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

As a graduating senior this year, I am incredibly fond of Overland and all that it has given me in the past four years. When I came in as a freshman, the school resembled a jail, but now it is truly something to be proud of. Overland has come a long way. Our athletics, while not perfect, have improved tremendously, as well as our performing arts department. Overland has a very caring, spirited, and warm community that has taught me about the beauty and importance of diversity. in the past couple of years I have met and befriended people from all over the world/country, and I honestly would not want it any other way. Of course, Overland is not perfect, but if one takes the opportunities the school offers, they will benefit from doing so. Going to Overland has been a marvelous experience, through my hard work at this school I was able to be accepted into all of the universities I applied to. Among these are University of Colorado at Boulder. I will be attending NYU, but I know of quite a few students in my class that will be attending schools like MIT, Brown, Purdue and other prestigious universities. This school is truly unique and deserves much more credit than it is given.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2011

I currently attend Overland as a 10th grader and I love it! All the people who are complaing about the school are mostly parents and dont attend the school so they dont know what goes on inside the school. The school hires some of the best of the best teachers who truly care about the students and push us to do our best. It has greatly improved form what it was and continues to improve. The school is so diverse that meet someone new everyday and I really enjoy that. So stop complaining about Overland because EVERY SCHOOL HAS ITS PROBLEMS AND NOT EVERY SCHOOL IS PERFECT SO STOP! Overland is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2011

Overland is a pretty good high school. I am a freshman that attended Campus Middle school and i tried to choice into Cherry Creek High School but i didn't get in. I love all of my teachers but the classes are easy. The staff is great but I hate the principal. He is messing up the school. He hired a teacher to teach both band and orchestra and the teacher has no marching experience. He has worked the band into our lunch period and even worked us through lunch on a saturday rehersal with two 60 second water breaks and made us march in the sun. The musical arts at overland at very bad and have no hope of getting better until the band teacher is replaced and the principal learns how to hire a good teacher. About 90% of the band feels this way. I do find it very offensive to classify the students of Overland as thieving drop outs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2011

I too was partially dismayed by things I had heard about Overland High School while my son was a student at Prairie Middle School. But, I did my research on the students and staff; and I found Overland to have a caring, supportive, diverse environment with no cliques and great teachers! The new STEM institue is wonderful, and it is an invaluable addition to the area. I'm sorry to hear about the alleged break-ins to cars of surrounding residents; however, I think it is unfair and inaccurate to classify 70% of our students as ungrateful, thieving dropouts. That is so far from the truth! I live right up the street from Overland, I have had no problems. Please do not take the word of a post that is littered with misspellings and bad punctuation. The new principal is great; and he has all but eliminated the smoke pit by 7-11(which, by the way, is NOT located on school property). My son is now a sophomore at Overland. He loves the school, the teachers, and the environment. He is doing great academically and athletically, and the students ARE held accountable for their actions! We do need more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

i live in apartments behind the school, on a dayly bassis there is someone that has had there car or truch broken into and stolen from including 2 times myself, its hard to tell who it was concidering the hordes of kids that walk through here and dont live here, overland is filled with about 70% ungreatfull theaving dropouts and 30% of kids who actualy care. when this issue was addressed to the school they simply said "they need to get home some how" so heres our new solution, there are no truspassing signs around the complex, so from now on when students pass through the complex they will be detained whall law enforcement arives to issue summons.


Posted October 17, 2011

This school is not a good surrounding. You see a thousand kids smoking by the popular ditch by 711. Not good , bad school, bad influences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

I love this school it is a great school and it has vary awsome teachers and I love all the teachers that work there
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2011

I am a freshman at Overland this year and i highly enjoy it. I came onto this website and saw all the terrible reviews and tried to choice into schools. I am so glad i did not go to another school. Overland in the past has not been the best school but i think the principal is taking a good new approach and trying to bring the school back. My teachers are caring and help me with my work and answer all my questions. At overland we are like family. Thats what makes the experience so much better. I am so proud to be an overland blazer. Class Of 2015!!!!!:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2011

I work in various high schools in the metro area. Cherry Creek Schools are good schools and the teachers are held to high expectations. Overland has more economic challenges then more affluent neighborhoods so personally I feel that these teachers are some of the best in the state of Colorado. My daughter comes home and talks about how amazing her teachers are and I will forever be grateful for their dedication to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

I would never recommend anyone to attend Overland. I'm a current student, and it's horrible. I filled out my school-of-choice forms as soon as they were available. Teachers don't care, and students are allowed to do whatever they please. I sat in my math teacher's classroom to work on a test that I had missed due to being sick, this was an Algebra 1 class with Juniors, Sophomores and Freshman in it; I heard the "N," word a good fifty times if not more. It's literally two different schools, a majority of about 60% who could care less and 40% who actually care. Hopefully with the direction of the new principal it'll turn around. But it's highly unlikely.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2010

I have two kids in Overland High School and can tell you as someone who has two advanced degrees that this is a low quality school. Athletics and extracurricular activities take up to much time and you can even participate if you have an F, but not two because education is important. You have no communication with teachers and as indicated by a low graduation rate it is obviously not a priority. The teachers and parents are not on the same page or even reading the same book for that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

Overland High School is the step-child for the Cherry Creek school district. On numerous occasions they have asked Aurora Public Schools to take over the school. Facilities are old and neglected, athletic uniforms and equipment need replaced, coaching and administration is like a revolving door. They allow too many out of district students (DPS & APS) to open enroll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

I am very surprised to see that Overland received such a low rating. I received my HS education from three different high schools and Overland, in retrospect, is a great school. Yes it is more diverse and yes it isn't in the best of areas, but I truly believe that the teachers there are one of the best. They have a passion for their students and it being an older school, many of my teachers actually went to OHS for their HS education as well. Overland simply has a bad reputation because many of the students are from economically disadvantaged families, and thus acts differently than many students from more affluent communities. This in no way is a reflection of who they are as students nor of Overland as an educational institute. Overland is a great school.


Posted October 15, 2009

Overland High School has been an excellent choice for our daughter. The school is large enough to offer all that would be expected of a school in the Cherry Creek School District. The academics, sports, activities, and clubs are varied and numerous. My husband and I have been active volunteers and have encountered many wonderful and dedicated administrators, teachers, coaches and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Overland High School is not only one of the most diverse schools in Colorado, but we are held accountable for high academic classes. People here get along great with each other maybe because this school is so diverse but we also make our peers want to get involved because of our pride. Rules and regulations are getting straightened out so students do not skip class and make sure they arrive on time. Teachers ask students to come in for help when they need it. Pride, spirit, communication, academics, and diversity. What else could you ask for?
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

I transferred my kids to this school and they love it. Great teachers. They love the international diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

All of the teachers at overland high are very nice they teach very well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2008

I love this school I will be in 10th next year and im in the drama club and in choir. They have alot of activities and have wonderful techers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

Personaly I just started going here and I love it! All of my teachers are nice and they have a really good way of teaching like Mr. Fontana who just started teaching here at OHS. He teaches Spanish and has a really fun way of teaching it. And Mrs. Von-Tilius is the best math teacher she breaks everything down and explains it. I LOVE OHS! Class of 2011 rules
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2007

After leaving this school, I was very sad because the cherry creek district is my favoirte. At this school they offer so many classes to students, that even go up to A.P. (Advanced Placement). The teachers are awesome, and the school is big for its size. There are so many activites that the schoold does, no one gets left out. There are a varity of people here, and such spirit comes alive here, and there is always FUN involved in Overland, even if your just in class. Any school in the cherry creek district is great, they are the best, that I have liked after attending denver, and aurora public schools, because the cherry creek district is nothing like the rest! You will enjoy this school, trust me!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female25%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)20%
Asian65%
Hispanic18%
Multiracial24%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligible27%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)2%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%

Reading

All Students56%
Female64%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asian85%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible66%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students41%
Female49%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asian75%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible49%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female26%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)21%
Asian36%
Hispanic23%
Multiracial37%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible36%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English34%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Reading

All Students61%
Female63%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)57%
Asian50%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Science

All Students43%
Female40%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)37%
Asian43%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Writing

All Students37%
Female40%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)32%
Asian43%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

80%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 32% 5%
Hispanic 31% 32%
White 26% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jana Frieler

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12400 East Jewell Ave
Aurora, CO 80012
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 747-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT