Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horizon Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Thanks for the patience of my child. Without it she would need therapy, this school saddens me.

Horizon Middle School 1

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
I enjoy the staff., BUT what I find disturbing is that they assign homework the day before major tests. This is 6th grade, 1st year of multiple teachers and A&B type schedules and then their bombarded with homework. It's no wonder these kids are failing their main classes. It's alot for some students and I think something needs to be done. HOW ARE THEY LEARNING???????


Horizon Middle School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a community member
This school is really great they have wonderful teachers that care and you can make friends really fast and easy my frist day I already made 3 or 2 friends sure there might be bullys but they do the best they can to stop that if i were a parent I would want my kid to go to horizon.

Horizon Middle School 4

Posted November 07, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school the teachers are so friendly it's just that the students aren't so friendly they are kind of mean.otherwise it's a great school the teachers really care

Horizon Middle School 1

Posted July 22, 2013
- a community member
Worst three years of my life. Teachers didn't care. I don't remember who the principal was she never came out of her office. You don't thrive in this school, you survive it and leave the first chance you get.


Horizon Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
In the past this school was really in the bottom list. In the beginning of school year I see that they were so many understanding between students and staff. And as a parent my husband and I got involve. I see that a lot of parents don t get involve here. I can see how many students that don t have discipline here (which is really start from home). Now and then, I have been visiting, meeting the teacher's and ask for my kid s progress. Substitute teachers are not great in-fact they are horrible with kids and hoping someday I get a chance to observe this subs. Teachers are wonderful, willing to assist and help the kids succeed.

Horizon Middle School 4

Posted October 17, 2012
- a community member
Horizon is a good school. The teachers are very supportive and have good methods. The principal and vice principal are amazing. This school definitely deserves 4 stars.

Horizon Middle School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
This school has been a great experience for me AND my child. The staff is all very approachable - from administrators, to teacher, to lunch ladies! I was worried about my child getting lost in such a big school but they do a great job of keeping the 6th graders "looked after" and really do know all the kids by name. It feels like a small school in a big setting. The teachers are engaging, ad administration is supportive. What a great middle school experience! :)


Horizon Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a community member
I am very impressed with this school.I'm only in 7th grade, but so far it has been a GREAT learning experience. I am a current AVID student and we demonstrate our school.We are proud of who we are.The teachers are great!!!!!

Horizon Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2011
- a parent
Horizon has excelled over the last few years and the leadership has really taken charge. I would encourage parents to throw away their school of choice forms. The kids from the elementary feeder schools are bright and ready to learn. This school has been an VERY positive experience for my son and daughter. Horizon is a hidden gem that does not get the credit it deserves. So glad we didn't transfer them to the "other" middle school in the area!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horizon Middle School
3981 South Reservoir Road, Aurora, CO  80013
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (720) 886-6100
Last modified Horizon Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top