Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grandview High School

Public | 9-12 | 2594 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

All Grandview cares about is their test scores and sports programs. They don't care about the students. At all. Take it from a student, the faculty is so bias towards those who are involved in sports, cheer, poms, or anything that could win them a trophy. Parents don't know, and yet they pretend to know what Grandview is really like. Do not send your child to Grandview. I started freshman year feeling confident and making friends, but now that it's my senior year I've been diagnosed with depression and anxiety. Oh, the teachers don't care about that either. They don't want to hear about anything that would prevent you from turning in your precious homework. The only things I've gained from Grandview are 3 close friends, 2800 enemies, and enlightened knowledge as to how terrible government funded public education truly is.


Posted January 27, 2013

I graduated from GHS in 2004 and have come to appreciate everything it had to offer. I found myself very prepared to attend one of the best engineering schools in the country. I still think back and remember being not only challenged, but motivated by great teachers who genuinely cared. Looking at the other reviews on here I'm happy that trend is continuing!


Posted January 20, 2012

Graduated in 2008 Grandview has: Great academics Teachers help at all costs Top Notch Athletics/Coaches Great Connections With Colleges Good Environment/Area
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2011

I just graduated from GHS last year, 2011, and I loved the time that I spent there. Yes, there are the students that drive the nice cars but they are not their's they belong to their parents and a lot of students in my class bought their cars or had to share with someone in their family if it did belong tho their parents. The teachers are very nice and if you talk to them they usually will go out of their way to help you succeed, which helped me with the transition to college. They take it apon themselves to prepare you for college, they don't have to do that for the students but they do if you form a bond with them. With the athletics I was on the volleyball team but was forced to stop due to injury but I made a connection with the basketball coach and became their manager for three years. Students have to try and get involved, join a club or sport. That is were I found my best friend and have made friends with some of my teachers, whom I still call for advice. Grandview is an AMAZING school and there is where my best memories are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2011

I have two children attending Grandview and couldn't be more pleased with their high school experience. The academics are top notch. I am amazed at the variety and amount of course offerings available to the students. There is something for everyone, on any academic level. I am always impressed with the administrative presence at all events, sports, academic or the arts. Adminstration truly cares about this school. The "responsible freedoms" mentality that the school promotes has made my children feel like they are valued and trusted in their own enviroment. As one administrator told me, " how do you expect these kids to go out in the world in four short years when you keep them under lock and key? "They need to be given freedoms and will suprise you by stepping up and being able to handle it while still under the guidance of parents, teachers and administrators." Socially, there is something for everybody and all groups and clubs are recognized, this is not a football only atmosphere. Some reviewers report a lack of diversity at the school but how are they to control the ethnicity of those moving into the area? I feel very fortunate that my children attend Grandview!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Offers diversity in classes, clubs, teachers are very caring, and motivate students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

This is the best school in Colorado. Period. Almost all of the teachers are amazing, qualified and will go out of their way to help out a student. There are class difficulties for all students; College Prep, Advanced Placement, Honors and normal classes. The sports programs are excellent, with over 75 appearances in state competitions in all sports. If sports is not your thing, there is the theatre/band program, which I have to say is nothing short of the best in Colorado. We have the 3rd best Chambers Choir in the WORLD. If you don't like any of these and are a social person, I guarantee you will find some people to hang out with. I moved to Aurora from a country on the other side of the world, and within the first week, I made some friends. The only con is how early school starts. 7:20 AM.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2010

Like wise, after reviewing the reviews, I too think it is good school, however, I too feel it is not diverse enough to inlcude minority students. The district itself represents small amount of minorities in general, which is not the problem. I do feel the district is doing a good job on trying to reach out and address the issues that come with small percentage. Some teachers do a great job, others are very questionable. My son has attended going on 3 years, and because it is a neighborhood school, we maintain him. The principle is a great guy who listens, reaches out, and address issues. Overall, it is good, I would not say great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Good school with some serious downsides. The curriculum is strong. The instruction is adequate. Students would benefit from a smaller student to teacher ratio. Likewise, academic enocouragement was not wehre I would have liked to see it. This was a continuation from middle school. It seemed students were rewarded for busy work vs comprehension on both levels. My son attended for one year. He enjoyed the friends he made, the academic schedule and the well equipped facility. He did not appreciate the lack of diversity and insensitivity toward other student's cultures and students of color in general. Equitable access to athletic programs and diversity were a huge dissappointment at Grandview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

My son attends Granview and I think it is an excellent school. I believe he is receiving a very solid education there that will help him have success in college. The music/band programs under the direction of Mr. Farmer are outstanding. The jazz bands in particular are, IMO, some of the best high school jazz bands in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Teacher are so involed and want to do everything possible to help your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

Grandview is an amazing school. Very few schools match up to the standards of Grandview. There were many complaints about not helping the 'average' student. This is a valid point only if the student doesn't go and talk to the teachers and staff. If approached the faculty is extreamly helpful and none will say no to help. Of course, some teachers are going to be better than others but no teacher will refuse to help you. Grandview is NOT for the socially backward, unless you are socially backward fitting in the the 'groups' is not a problem. Also the rich kid sterotype in not very accurate. It is true that a lot of the parents are rich but very few, i mean very few of the kids act rich.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2009

Excellent social studies, foreign language, business, math and performing arts programs especially. Committed staff and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I've been to many different schools in not only Colorado, but other states as well. I must say Grandview was by far my favorite. I don't attend there anymore, and i wish i was. The safety is very high, sometimes gets annoying when you would try to ditch. lol. The classes challenge you, and the teacher genuinely care. Now, im a junior today and i was a freshman when i attended GHS. Even though i absolutely hate school, Grandview has a lot of my favorite high school memories.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

Like any high school, Grandview has its strengths and weaknesses. The overall environment is of safety and caring. There are some excellent teachers are some that are not so good. The school is top-heavy with administration and would do better to put some of those resources toward the students. The teachers also tend not to carry a full load of classes some only teach every other day and are not very available to students for outside help or make-up work. Again, if Grandview expected their teachers to teach a full load of classes and be on the premises during their planning periods, class sizes could be smaller and students would benefit from more interaction. Grandview has an on-line gradebook system that allows parents to keep on top of their students assignments, but not enough of the teacher use it with any regularity. The same is true of the Balckboard a resource that the school is paying for but is only used by a very small percentage of the teachers. The leadership doesn t seem to require enough accountability from the teachers and with a few exceptions, the teachers skate by with putting in minimal time. A lot of made of Grandview s athletic success, but it isn t always in a student s interest to attend a school with close to three thousand kids and a good football team. Unless you are a stellar athlete, you don t even have the opportunity to participate in athletics. The same is true of the theatre department it is the same dozen kids who are always being cast in the plays while the other hundred are expected to build the sets and act as support staff for the teachers appointed stars. Grandview needs to improve their ability to include and recognize all students instead of just the top 5% that helps them to look good on paper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

This school offers great oppertunity. The teachers are amazing and there isn't major bullying. Most kids and groups keep to themselves. Dont get me wrong not everything is perfect here the biggest problem would have to be drug use. Kids talk about it alot. but teenagers will be teenagers. Also there is the all american rich pretty girls but they mostly keep to themselves. All around grandview is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

I went to grandview all four years of high school and had the best opportunities and experiences that i'll ever have. The faculty is astounding, the classes are very helpful, the atmosphere is very warming, and the school spirit is incredible. This has got to be the best high school around. I kid you not. I'm not a big time 'school person' but i loved grandview.


Posted August 29, 2008

If a student wants to have a high level of success, Grandview provides the right tools for them to do so. It is really in the hands of the student, however that is what high school is all about! The tools are there and if the student uses them then Grandview is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

I attend GHS and Im proud to say that this school is absolutely the best in the area. It contains its stuck up group but every school has that. For the most part, it consists of regular people of all races that interact with eachother. I'm a junior and I love it. The school excells in academics and athetics. We basically win everything. We are not stuck up and there are few that are 'rich white kids.' Don't be fooled by sterio-types. If your looking for a good school, you've come the the right place... GHS baby all the way
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

i love grandview! we are the best. and people dont like to except that. we are not all rich and stuck up. we work hard for what we want and what we have. our techers and principals and deans and everyone are awesome!! grandview is the best school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

650 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

650 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

650 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female56%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)27%
Asian79%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial54%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligible35%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Reading

All Students83%
Female90%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)70%
Asian91%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students77%
Female85%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)57%
Asian93%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female42%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)13%
Asian64%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible19%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)75%
Asian91%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible78%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Science

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asian82%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students69%
Female77%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asian84%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

23

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 57%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Asian 9% 3%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Harry Bull, Jr.

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • College/career center
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20500 East Arapahoe Rd
Aurora, CO 80016
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eaglecrest High School
Centennial, CO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT