Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Fox Ridge strives to provide gifted and talented students as well as all students with the rigor they will need to succeed in high school. Emphasis is placed on teaching critical thinking skills as well as a curriculum rich in problem solving, writing, reading and technology. All students are provided the opportunity to grow, for those who need additional support we offer intervention classes as well as support from teachers at lunch, before and after-school. Our teachers are dedicated to each of their students learning their content and igniting a love of learning.
October 03, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fox Ridge Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has had a very positive experience so far (currently starting her 2nd semester 6th grade). The teacher are very communicative and open. I am very surprised about the negativity towards the principal, Mrs. Thomas seems great in my opinion, as well as my daughters. She is very accessible and encourages an open dialog with parents. No issues with bullying that we have observed. It is a shame that these sites attract people with an axe to grind.

Fox Ridge Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
All of the teachers are great and I appreciate their hard work and efforts and feel sorry for them do to their poor leadership.


Fox Ridge Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
The only determination this school develops is for the bullys to go unpunished so that they can be persistent with their bullying each and every day.

Fox Ridge Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Again the school allows bullying to take place and effect other students education and brain development.

Fox Ridge Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Students are rewarded for bullying. Bullying is laughed at and overlooked by the school officials.


Fox Ridge Middle School 1

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is a continuous problem and the dean and principle do nothing about. They have not returned any of my calls or emails. My son's lunch is stolen from him by a bully a few times a week and the school does nothing. The same bully that we have constant problems with has been reported by a number of other parents as well. Another parent witnessed and reported that student waving a knife around at the bus stop and saw him trying to start things on fire at the bus stop. Every reported incident by students and parents went unanswered and that student is still free to bully other students and put their lives at risk. The zero tolerance policy doesn't seem to exist at this school.

Fox Ridge Middle School 2

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
There are definitely some very good teachers at this school (although the math department suffers from a serious lack of resources which they blame on common core) and I would like to give the school a higher rating but for the poor leadership and our continual experience of having nonacademic agendas pushed in our faces. At back to school night the principal displayed some visuals and quotes by Nelson Mandela which , to say the least, as leader of the MK armed branch of the ANC that used violence as a means to an end, is a controversial topic for middle school, especially during these fragile times when our community leaders should be working toward unity. Mandela was no Martin Luther King: why didn’t she choose King to quote at back to school night? Other teachers or counselors who, in apparent complicity with the CCSD, are vigorously pushing their own special agendas in the classrooms such as indoctrinating young children with GLSEN -style propaganda. There seem to be deliberate steps by a secretive admin here to hide things from parents and communication is blacked out. Is it a safe environment? We have to debrief our kids when they come home from CCSD schools like this one, so that depends on what you mean by safe...

Fox Ridge Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
There are some excellent teachers at this school and others who are not, at all. very mixed.


Fox Ridge Middle School 3

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
Administration is AWFUL. The principal's focus is not on education, but rather brainwashing about the "horrors of white privilege" and ensuring that her favorite teachers (not necessarily the best teachers, just the ones who will keep their mouths shut) remain year after year. The good teachers are either fired after a year or two, or just quit to find a more satisfying employment opportunity. This school needs new administration to empower the good teachers, control the "entitled" students, and refocus on educating children. Readers will notice that Fox Ridge's ratings have been dropping over the last few years...that accurately reflects the declining state of the school. Our kids are fighting hard to perform well, but their success is often DESPITE the school's culture rather than BECAUSE of it.

Fox Ridge Middle School 4

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Beautiful school building and grounds. Teachers engaged and a wide selection of activities. Administration seems overwhelmed and disorganized at times.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fox Ridge Middle School
26301 East Arapahoe Rd, Aurora, CO  80016
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (720) 886-4400
Last modified Fox Ridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top