Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aurora Hills Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2011

im a incoming 7th grader and i HATE this school. The students are mean to you , the deans dont care at all and last of all the principal keeps acting like the school is okay but its not.Just because it has a IB program doesn't mean it should .its very ghetto.


Posted May 7, 2010

If I could give Aurora Hills a zero rating I would. I have 2 students in this school, one in 6th and one in 7th grade. My disappointment is confirmed daily here. Many of the teachers are pleasant, however they do not keep the parents informed. Parent Portal is supposed to be a tool for parents to track student progress. To date it has not been updated since February 10, prior to that it was October 09. Parent involvement is lacking badly at this school. The students that attend this school are disrespectful and bullies. The administration does not follow through on what they promise the parents and it is obvious they do not care about the students attending. They focus all of their attention on the badly behaved children and do not reward the kids that do work hard. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

As a parent of an incoming 5th grader. If I didn't have a student at the school, there is no way I would send my daughter next year. My experience however, has not been negative. The staff is great. They are very helpful and willing to go the extra mile for kids. I brought my son to the Mustang Night earlier in the year. Staff members were playing games and talking with kids. They are volunteering their time to be with our kids. I see them at atheltic events supporting our children. Academically, I find the classes to be challenging and well rounded. It is a middle school, and kids at this age can be a challenge. Overall I feel this is a wonderful school! I would not hesitate to send my kids to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

Great school...IB Program, STEM opportunities, technology, solid staff The building is odd but a new one is on the way! I recommend the school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

i am a parent of a 7th grade student and i am very disappointed in this school. The students have no homework ever unless it is something they did not finish in class. That is the craziest thing about this situation. They are not allowed to carry backpacks into classrooms for safety reasons, They do not have enough time to go the restrooms or even to their locker. Lunch period are short. The teachers can only do so much, it seems like the few good teachers they have have to spend too much time disciplining when they could be teaching. I will not be sending my child to this school and wish i could move her now. Think long and hard about this school choice. Very sad situation!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

The staff is excellent at Aurora Hills. They work very hard to help the students become successful young adults. They face many challenges every day working with studnets from lower economic backgrounds, but they always keep a professional demeanor and work hard to ensure the safety of their school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

This is a horrbile school. It needs a lot of work and a better staff. The school is undeserving of the IB status. If you live in this area you may want to consider enrolling in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

I have two children that attend this school. They both dislike the school. Based on my interaction with the staff, I am not fond of it either. Parental concerns are dismissed because the staff does not want to be bothered. The students have a 17 minute lunch that barely allows them to get through the lunch line. They are not allowed to go to the bathroom. The para pro's are rude and disrespectful to the students. The amount of bullying at the school is high and uncontrolled. The supposed dress code is not enforced. My children do not feel safe nor do I feel safe sending them here. They will not be attending Aurora Hills in the future. We are just trying to get through the end of this school year. If you are thinking of sending your child her for the benefit of the IB program, think again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

My student was in the Summit program, which has since moved to Aurora Quest K-8. The option for the IB program was not very enticing as it seemed that the teachers' philosophy for 'rigor' simply meant more homework. Aurora Hills offers the IB program to everyone and that is a problem because IB is not an easy program, nor is it a good fit for every student. As a parent, I agree the dresscode was very restrictive. Having a dresscode was supposed to make the students safer and cut down on discipline issue. Imagine our surprise when it didn't. There are major discipline problems and I never felt that my student was sae there. The school is not about choice, it is about conforming. The administration is not very helpful to concerned parents, who are often dismissed without their concerns being addressed. I would consider a different school for my student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

I went to this school during 6th and 7th grade (05-07). This school is definetly not a good schoo, even if your child is in an advanced program. I was in Summit here and didn't enjoy the experience due to the drama, bad teaching and unfair rules. The advanced programs weren't challenging and no improvements were attempted to be made with problems that were seen. There is a lot of fighting in addition to the other problems. I ended up leaving for my 8th grade year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

How times have changed. I was one of the original students when AHMS first opened. We moved into the school and held classes before construction was finished. Parents, teachers, and yes, even the students were excited to be in such a unique building. It's sad to read the comments here considering I thoroughly enjoyed attending there. It is unique being that it doesn't have windows. I do remember holding class and eating bag lunches outside before the cafeteria was finished. I can't recall a lot going on outside that had to do with what we were learning in class so we didn't miss the windows. Learning is a joint venture, if there are bullies and teachers that don't care about students, get them out of the learning environment.


Posted July 23, 2008

The only good thing about this school are the special programs like I.B. I dont recoment anyone to put their child in this school unless they are going to be in the advanced placement programs.


Posted February 13, 2007

i have two children at A Hills a 7th grader and a 8th grader. They are both involved in the band and love it. they are both in the Middle Years programme and enjoy it. They both agree it is quite challenging, but the teachers and very supportive. This schools dress code is a quite strict, we could live without it. they also need to work on teh bullying
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2006

I think more needs to be done regarding bullying at this school! I also can't stand the dress code here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

I found the teaching staff to be very supportive of my children, but feel the administration could do more to prevent bullying and improve class discipline. The cubicle style classrooms make the learning environment a challenge for those who are easily distracted by constant noise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

Overall i give this school a 2.5 because of various reasons. For starters this school is allways filthy looking. The academic programs here are not a great quality because ofsingleing out some types of kids. One good thing about the school is that they have a good selection of extracurriculars that are fun and educating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

I have a 7th grader at AHMS. The staff has been fantastic in supporting our family through the loss of my husband. When my child was in emotional trouble they were the first to notice and take action. Cody has never had as good of grades has he has at AHMS. I am so greatful for the entire staff at AHMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

a.h.m.s. I have an 8th and a 6th grader attending.Great music program for both 8th grader plays flute,clarinet,and percussion. Never played before loves this program and teacher(very enthusiastic)6th grader plays viola same thing loves program and enthusiasim of teacher. Both girls are in academically challenged program called Summit it is for gifted and talented,most teachers are great in this program.They also have a middle years program at this school I did not choose that for my kids but its a great option for some. I love the choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

The environment of the school may not be so appealing to the parents that are looking at the school for looks. Aurora Hills has a great educational program as well as extra curricular activities. Although it does not have as much money as the Cherry Creek schools do, the overall quality of the school and its education is very good. Parents that think the look of it is bad could have a point. but not having windows isn't that bad. this school is pretty old and the school may not have as much money as they need to get windows. As an 8th grader, I feel comfortable at this school and have no problems with the environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2004

i think the school s a very bad environment for students.My reasons are tha there is no windows and the dress code is very bad.My kids are smart but not at this school. My kids don't have fun at this school they feel trapped like prisoners. Darcy May
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female43%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)30%
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Reading

All Students52%
Female62%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)30%
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Writing

All Students41%
Female49%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)23%
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female28%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligible29%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)14%
Proficient in English22%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Reading

All Students40%
Female45%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)7%
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Writing

All Students37%
Female45%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female29%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligible47%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%

Reading

All Students34%
Female43%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible47%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%

Science

All Students25%
Female24%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%

Writing

All Students28%
Female39%
Male18%
Black (not Hispanic)30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English34%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 32%
Black 24% 5%
White 14% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1009 South Uvalda St
Aurora, CO 80012
Phone: (303) 341-7450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Aurora Quest K-8
Aurora, CO



Axl Academy
Aurora, CO




Challenge School
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT