Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2011

My son spent 3 years at this place witnessing fights and drug use. Teachers seemed uncaring and apathetic. I hugely regret that I didn't pull him out, circumstances were very difficult at the time. I will always remember the answer I got from a teacher when I asked why homework wasn't given -it would be 'pontless' as students simply wouldn't do it. Horrible place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

East is a great school and I'm happy that I'm able to go to such a great school with amazing teachers that really do care, and I'm sad that this will be my last year here at east. East is a great school


Posted December 2, 2010

I am a previous student of East Middle School. I attended in my 6th grade year. If things run the way they did when I was there, I think the school is fantastic. The teachers all had a yearning to educate the children, while enforcing the importance of having drive, good morals, & striving to keep grades up. Their teaching mechanisms were creative. Not everything was straight out of a book. Many things were visual and hands on. The quality of education I got was not something I appreciated at that age, but now I still look back to this age and things I was taught for personal reference. Both in skill for work, parenting, referring back to values and morals I was taught. Educating children is tough work, and I really feel the teachers I had at this school were brilliant and put their heart into it. I was in the west wing, which was for more advanced students. The idea of separating the children based on their own individual speed of learning is brilliant. No child was left behind or forgotten. This allowed for every student to learn at the pace of which they are most comfortable.


Posted August 3, 2007

This school has educated my child in nothing but violence and a lack of drive. I am so disappointed that I allowed my daughter to be subjected to that kind of experience. Thus the main reason my husband and I are now looking for a new school for her this upcoming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This is the first year my child is attending East. We have experienced hardship with this change in his life. However, I must say that once the school was able to identify the issues (with help and participation from us)East stepped up to the plate. When email was sent to the principal he didn't respond and still hasn't. However, he obviously sent it to my child's teachers who did. I think if the parent/family shows the school their interest and care for the child they will act. Thanks to Ms. Eichelberg, Ms. Akers, Ms. Burd, Ms. Wink, Ms. Strom and the school psychiatrist (sorry forgot name) for all your caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

i dont believe this school is a very good school. The principal seems to lack leadership and from what i have seen the test scores were very low. My daughter is inroled in a very safe school either because she tells me of all the fights that happen there. I am also strongly against the idea of the uniforms because i believe people should be able to express thier individuality. Therefore i will be glad whne my daughter goes on to highschool. With all do respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

My daughter went to East for all 3 years of middle school. I felt that they did a great job. I was really impressed when Mr. Romero took over as principle, he seem to really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

I have my daughter at East Middle School, I think that it isn't ran good enough by the principal and administrative assistant either, I have also heard from my daughter that Ms. Miller was one of her best Math teachers while she was in 7th grade. Overall it's one of the best middle schools in Aurora from my point of view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2003

I had three children that went to that school i don't think its that great of a school the principal Mrs. Friend and the assistant principal Mrs. Frasier were just rude and for one of my daughters her two teachers were very nice Mr. Daly(history), and Mrs.Miller(math).


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
27%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female24%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)16%
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant27%

Reading

All Students42%
Female47%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)21%
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Writing

All Students21%
Female25%
Male18%
Black (not Hispanic)16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English24%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female22%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligible32%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch18%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)9%
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant23%

Reading

All Students36%
Female38%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Writing

All Students35%
Female43%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible47%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female24%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)20%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligible14%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch17%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English28%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant22%

Reading

All Students39%
Female47%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Science

All Students25%
Female26%
Male24%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)25%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligible28%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch20%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities26%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%

Writing

All Students29%
Female37%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)20%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligible38%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English31%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 32%
Black 17% 5%
White 8% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1275 Fraser St
Aurora, CO 80011
Phone: (303) 340-0660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT