Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
I talk to the teachers about the noise level in classes, where kids are being bullied while the teacher is in the room. Yet they seem to be neutral to it, like as if they have given up. Teachers are concerned about my daughter and her attentiveness in class, which is a problem, but there can be better tutoring available.

East Middle School 2

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Students are out of control here. Seems the teachers are not able to keep them focused. Too many kids who belong to families who are limited on the English language, causing a huge learning curve. Music and art is minimal. Teachers and staff are nice, but hands seem to be tied.


East Middle School 2

Posted March 16, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher working here at East, this school is a mess. It's huge, unorganized, and chaotic. We have some good people here who are trying to do some good things, but not enough of them. Neither teachers nor students receive the help/support they need. Despite the fact that we are an MYP school, it often feels like babysitting rather than "preparing them for college"

East Middle School 2

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
East has gotten better over the years but it still has some problems. Most of the problems could be put to a stop if the teachers/staff were a little more strict. Some of these teachers are not here to do their job and others don't get the support to do so. I have never been to a school concert or activity because this school is very poor at parent involvement. Overall, this school is okay if your an involved parent with your child.

East Middle School 1

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
Some people in this school are caring and mean well, but a couple of the teachers really don't give two hoots if the kids learn anything and this is evident when you observe the low score this school has received.


East Middle School 1

Posted November 06, 2011
- a parent
My son spent 3 years at this place witnessing fights and drug use. Teachers seemed uncaring and apathetic. I hugely regret that I didn't pull him out, circumstances were very difficult at the time. I will always remember the answer I got from a teacher when I asked why homework wasn't given -it would be 'pontless' as students simply wouldn't do it. Horrible place.

East Middle School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a community member
East is a great school and I'm happy that I'm able to go to such a great school with amazing teachers that really do care, and I'm sad that this will be my last year here at east. East is a great school

East Middle School 5

Posted December 02, 2010
- a community member
I am a previous student of East Middle School. I attended in my 6th grade year. If things run the way they did when I was there, I think the school is fantastic. The teachers all had a yearning to educate the children, while enforcing the importance of having drive, good morals, & striving to keep grades up. Their teaching mechanisms were creative. Not everything was straight out of a book. Many things were visual and hands on. The quality of education I got was not something I appreciated at that age, but now I still look back to this age and things I was taught for personal reference. Both in skill for work, parenting, referring back to values and morals I was taught. Educating children is tough work, and I really feel the teachers I had at this school were brilliant and put their heart into it. I was in the west wing, which was for more advanced students. The idea of separating the children based on their own individual speed of learning is brilliant. No child was left behind or forgotten. This allowed for every student to learn at the pace of which they are most comfortable.


East Middle School 1

Posted August 03, 2007
- a parent
This school has educated my child in nothing but violence and a lack of drive. I am so disappointed that I allowed my daughter to be subjected to that kind of experience. Thus the main reason my husband and I are now looking for a new school for her this upcoming year.

East Middle School 3

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
This is the first year my child is attending East. We have experienced hardship with this change in his life. However, I must say that once the school was able to identify the issues (with help and participation from us)East stepped up to the plate. When email was sent to the principal he didn't respond and still hasn't. However, he obviously sent it to my child's teachers who did. I think if the parent/family shows the school their interest and care for the child they will act. Thanks to Ms. Eichelberg, Ms. Akers, Ms. Burd, Ms. Wink, Ms. Strom and the school psychiatrist (sorry forgot name) for all your caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Middle School
1275 Fraser Street, Aurora, CO  80011
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (303) 340-0660
Last modified East Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top