Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jewell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 559 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

While this is only our first year at Jewell, I am extremely happy with how the year has been going. My son receives special services through an IEP and his case manager has done an amazing job of keeping me in the loop with his progress. His teachers really seem to care about all the kids and my son has learned so much in kindergarten. The administration is always quick to retun calls or emails and is always present before school, if needed. Jewell is extremely crowded and I do not like the current student to teacher ratio, but I feel the school is doing the best they can with the limited resources they have to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I believe kids learn with help of teachers but its not the teAchers fault if the student doesn't pull his 100% effort ! Its a great school we need to teach our kids too and then a school will be better them great !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

I had a student in second grade this year, prior to this school my son did very well in school but when he came here he was targeted by the teacher who he had for two years now and continued to give him disciplinary marks far more often than other students who were involved in the incidents he was marked for. He was bullied by the teaching staff with negative comments on his school work when positive comments would have been more appropriate. Example... My son missed one problem out of 26 on an assignment, then drew a picture on the back when finished. The comment on the paper read:" You should spend your time reviewing your answers instead of drawing. Give yourself a mark for not following school rules." This is such a cup is empty attitude. A more positive tone which would have been more appropriate might have been : Great work!! and nice picture, lets try for a 100% next time!! I am pulling my student from this school and have not plans to have him return two years of this is enough, I hope some day they will get a more professional staff here, until then all of my kids are going out of district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

My son was diagnosed with Dyslexia and this school was not prepared to deal with his dissability. Staff became frustrated and litterally looked at me with blank faces when we discussed transition plans from year to year. My 8 year old son cried and begged me not to take him to that school. I ended up pulling him out and paying for private school. The staff at this school does not know how to manage children with varying dissabilities. They should mirror districts that have successful plans and tools in managing children with varying dissabilities. Colorado has several schools that should win awards for their efforts. The Consultant for the district litterally told me that they had too many kids with dissabilities to focus on my child. I should have sued this district but ended up moving so that I could provide my children with a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

The teachers are wonderful however the school has lost great teachers and programs over the years with the addition of the a different principal in the early 2000's veteren teachers left, programs cancelled, and a hugh focus on CSAP scores to obtain money replaced education. Class sizes are very large and all children have to go to English Lang. Developement, you can see where the focus is going. Dissapointing leadership and losses - -feel bad for the teachers high turn over every 2 or 3 years ..... What Mill Levy ??? This school lost more than it gained and you will see good scores thats where the focus is not on the individual
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

my child also has special needs. During his time in this place he escaped from the school, was physically injured and began to suffer severe anxiety. Staff would contact me and report that they did not know what to do or how to keep him safe and that I should take him home. There was no picture schedule and little understanding of how to teach a child with autism, staff became rude and defensive when challenged. I don't think that any special needs child should have to attend this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

The program for the special need children in this school is not recommended by me for anyones child. My son broke his arm due to their staff negligence and on top of that a paramedic was not called after it was apparent his arm was broken. My son with Autism sat in pain for thirty minutes before he was recieved proper attention. My son has not went back because special ed director refuses to give my son a one on one para or place him in a environment where mom feels his needs are better met. The program at Jewell failed my son and know one seems to care my son was hurt. Its been a couple months and know one has reached out to see if my son is healed and if he is going to be back. My son will not attend Jewell again because of their inconsistency and lack of support for the children. It is a shame that now I have to take legal action because their special ed director refuses to give my family any other option but the one at Jewell which already failed. By the way, since this happened the teacher quit trying to shake the fact that it was because the classroom does not have the proper support severely Autistic children need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My son attended Jewell Elementary for second grade this year. He was previously at a different public school for Kindergarten and at a charter school for 1st grade. I absolutely love this school. His teacher was terrific, flexible, understanding and encouraging to my son. It is absolutely the best experience he has ever had at a school. My son's academic future has been permanently changed for the better by his experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

When the principal and school district allow the teachers to be in the classroom and actually teach, the academics and teaching are very good. The school has excellent 'specials' p.e., art music. If a parent expresses concerns in the school it is frequently met with hostility, blame, and not in a spirit of what can we do to fix this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female37%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)67%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Reading

All Students54%
Female49%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)61%
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Writing

All Students30%
Female34%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)44%
Proficient in English31%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female53%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)56%
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students45%
Female45%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Writing

All Students30%
Female30%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English31%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female46%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%

Reading

All Students47%
Female50%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Science

All Students31%
Female39%
Male24%
Black (not Hispanic)14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Writing

All Students43%
Female55%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 32%
Black 26% 5%
White 19% 57%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14601 East Jewell Ave
Aurora, CO 80012
Phone: (303) 751-8862

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Axl Academy
Aurora, CO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT