Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2011

The staff of South Midle School are amazing. I had my child in a very good local charter school. That charter school did not have the resources to handle my child's special needs. The staff of South MS went above and beyond to help my child not only make the adjustment, but prepare him for HS. I wish my child would have attended South for more than just one year. This school is fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

My daughter went there, all lot of support for her learning disability!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

I strongly recommend South Middle School to any person in the world, because this school is a supporting, non-judgmental, dedicated and fun school to those who want to pursue an education full of leading success. It isn't the school that gives the children knowledge, it's the fact whether the child want to learn or not. South middle school made my years of middle school a complete miracle, because with all the trauma I have faced in the last three years, I was in need of desperate support, and who was by my side the entire time? The staff at South middle school. When I needed clothes, the counselors helped me, when I needed a break from class, because I was feeling sick, the nurse helped me. What I trying to say is that south middle school is full of excitement and success, you just have to want it badly enough.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2006

I am a formal student of this school and I didn't like it one bit. Also I passed thru this school with all F's, no I'm not bragging, it's just the fact that instead of helping me with my school work that I barely understood in the first place, I was just passed into the next grade. My mom and I both agree that this is not a very good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 13, 2006

South Middle School is an average school I have to say. I am currently a student there, this school gives a lot of attention to the kids I mean they have a punishment for every breaking the rules acts. This school has many fun events for the students. The academics however is average also. The only reason South has poor academic is that the students choose not to learn, most rather spend their time in the SPIN center, a detention place for misbehave kids. And believe me there is at least one 'bad kid' in every class that disrespect the teacher every time. South students I guess aren't getting enough pressure in learning, that why they choose to give up most the time and doesn't give enough efforts. The activities provided by South is pretty minimum, art, music, health, band, orchestra, P.E., the usual activities. There aren't that many clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2006

This is one fun school to go to! With many exciting events every quarter!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2005

I feel the teachers care about the students and provide stimulating subject matter enticing students to want to learn more. They have lots of music and art opportunities here during their regular schedule as well as exploratory classes to add to their regular curriculum. I am fairly new to the area so I don't know much about the parent involvement. I know being a newcomer to this area from out-of-state the staff welcomed us very warmly and were very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

My son is a 6th grader at this school. I am not so impressed with the way teachers teach at this school, alot of times my son brings home homework that he doesn't fully understand how do do mainly because the teacher only breezed through a partial explanation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

Iam a former student of south, this school was one of my favorite schools if been to everything is good here but it's hard to get help, I love the after school program. the only bad thing is they 'mix-up the grades' and it feels like I failed a grade. other than that it's a great school
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 7, 2004

South Middle school is one of the best schools that I have been into. They have a huge amount of diversity and the staff and students are wonderful and frendly. South is defently a recommended school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
11%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Female30%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch30%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%

Reading

All Students39%
Female43%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)15%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Writing

All Students33%
Female41%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)14%
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female19%
Male20%
Black (not Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible21%
Reduced lunch eligible11%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch11%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant20%

Reading

All Students36%
Female35%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)16%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Writing

All Students30%
Female37%
Male24%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible21%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch22%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female21%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English23%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%

Reading

All Students36%
Female42%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Science

All Students16%
Female11%
Male20%
Black (not Hispanic)14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Free lunch eligible16%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch12%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities17%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English18%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%

Writing

All Students28%
Female39%
Male17%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 32%
Black 22% 5%
White 7% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12310 East Parkview Dr
Aurora, CO 80011
Phone: (303) 364-7623

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Aurora Quest K-8
Aurora, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT