Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beulah Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2010

What's not to love? Great kids, quality caring staff, good class size, magnet school for environmental studies, serves as the heart of the small community, I went there, my kids went there, now my grandkids are going there. I hope my great grandkids can go there!


Posted April 17, 2010

Proof that a small school in a rural community can provide a well rounded, excellent education. Wonderful staff who are always working to make the school even better, and to be sure each student has the best possible opportunities. A wonderful sense of community among students, teachers, staff and families. Kids are loved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

It is a small school with absolutlely dedicated teachers. I think they have many, many successful students.


Posted April 17, 2010

It is the center of our community -- a source of pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

As the saying goes, 'It takes a village...' the Beulah School in the village of Beulah allows our children the safety and convenience to be educated near where they live.


Posted April 17, 2010

It is the most beautiful location of all Pueblo county schools. The teachers are dedicated and well trained. And it would cost a lot to bus all the local kids to other schools.


Posted April 16, 2010

We are Beulah, CO A small rural mountain community who has the most amazing public K-8 school. It produces outstanding students in academics, character and citizenship! If America could bottle what our teacher do in this rural setting, we wouldn't have the public educational issues we face today! With the economic climate, we are in jeopody of loosing a perfect educational model! S.O.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Beulah is a special community, which has managed to preserve its unique personality in the face of many forces which threaten to diminish us. Our school is an integral part of what makes this a rewarding place to live - we want to preserve it!


Posted April 16, 2010

Please help us. Our District is threatening to close our successful K-8 school. Beulah is a small mountain town 25 miles SW of Pueblo, CO. Our school is so much more than a place to educate our students but is also the glue to our small community. If our school closes our children will be forced to commute to and from a 'town' school each day. They will lose out on the opportunity to be part of their own rural community. We have a family in our school that is 4 generations deep, one 3 generations deep and several that are 2 generations. What a crime it would be to close a school that has served a community through some of our nation's most difficult times only to be closed in 2010. A time when we can assist countries and children around the world but not our own. Closing any school based on financial reasons is the biggest crime imaginable. Please help us and may God Bless us all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The Beulah School is doing great things by aligning the school's curriculum with an environmental education focus. This makes so much sense in these times of concern about how people can live sustainably on a shrinking planet. A citizenry that understands that people are a part of the natural world needs to be educated into existence, and the Beulah School, as an environmental magnet school, is working towards that goal.


Posted April 16, 2010

Beulah is a great town with great kids that deserve a quality education. It would be a shame if the schools had to merge and they would loose the small town feel.


Posted April 16, 2010

It gave my son a wonderful start .From kindergarten to 3rd grade.To me that is the most important time.It is a small town school with a big heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

All of the teachers and staff know every kid and their individual needs and qualities. Teacher-student-ratios are great. The students all know each other (from kindergarten to 8th grade) and are like a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The Beulah School is one of the main reasons we moved to this community. I love it, and the sense of family within the school system is hard to beat. We have great teachers and great kids and the entire community really supports our K-8 school. We have alot to be proud of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

We love the comprehensive education this school is providing for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

My son loves the outdoor classroom!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I am a grandparent and I think this school, in the community of Beulah, is a rare gem. It has teachers who really care about the children, providing them with an excellent education and a spirit of community. The fact that the school is small helps each child get personal attention, which in turn makes each feel valued, and that in turn helps each child to be eager and unafraid to do their best. That kind of attention is impossibel to achieve in the 'mega-schools' that are popping up everywhere.


Posted April 16, 2010

Because of the awesome job of turning out good students & citzens
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I love that the Beulah Middle School is a rural school that allows these young students to develop themselves in ways that allow their unique learning styles to be supported by the strong ciricullum as well as develop character skills. Please help us keep the Beulah Middle School recognized for the excellence that is the standard that it is run on.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students96%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students74%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students82%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Science

All Students55%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Writing

All Students59%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 56%
Hispanic 21% 32%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8734 Schoolhouse Ln
Beulah, CO 81023
Phone: (719) 485-3127

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Craver Middle School
Colorado City, CO


Sky View Middle School
Pueblo West, CO




Pueblo Christian Academy
Pueblo West, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT