Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boulder High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

I have a freshman at boulder high, when she is asked how she feels about school, she says she loves it. I can only speak from our experiences thus far. I have contacted the principal directly 2times, both times, he addressed my concerns the same day. I was so impressed with this level of professionalism. The school is either at or above capacity. Still they do not have children sharing lockers, which is huge, they ordered more lockers to accommodate the kids. Academically, I feel as though BHS is one of the strongest schools in this area of colorado. The teachers are excellent at responding to emails and the teaching staff have shared goal of success for all of the students. You'll get the scoop at open enrollment time if you go to the presentation. The mission of the teachers here seem to be educating students while in HS, as well as getting your child ready to be successful in their upper education careers at the university level, while trying to instill the ability to function successfully in society. The social climate is one of acceptance, safety, tolerance, and honesty. When an issue arises, the counselors are on it, with open lines of communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

I graduated BHS a semester early. In the beginning when I was a freshman, I was on the verge of being a truant.I didn't ever want to go to school because I thought I was bad at it. The teachers immediately saw the problem and fixed it. Three and a half years later I had my diploma. The people at Boulder High were polite at the least to everyone. I was always very fat and never got teased once. The theater department is amazing. The shows seem like they could be on Broadway!


Posted October 3, 2013

I love BHS, I am currently a sophomore and have loved every minute of it, all of my teachers have been excellent and I enjoy the time I spend with most of my peers. The environment is very inclusive and I have never witnessed any bullying or harassment. Many of the other reviews make the open campus a much larger deal than it actually is. After the first few weeks freshman year the thrill of it wears off. The administration is excellent, as are the counselors. The school provides an environment were any student can find success. There are plenty of classes at different levels to meet the needs of everyone. I'd recommend Boulder High to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter put her bag in the gym with her classmate as they had to run the track, when they got back 4 people got their Iphones stolen, including my daughter's cellphone. The school police and the principal only filed a report for this and not email all the parents know of the situation going on in the school to help their kids be aware of their assets. I really hope this will not happen to any student again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

My son is currently a freshman here and loves it. He is very involved--plays multiple sports and is on the Student Council. He takes several advanced classes and appears to be well challenged. There is a lot of diversity and it's said that there is a place for everyone. Our danish exchange student attends as a Junior and concurs--she also says that American High Schools are much more fun than Denmark ;) If your child is a good student, they should definitely take at least a few Advanced classes as the regular classes are considered "easy". I toured Fairview this morning with my 8th grade daughter and my impression was that Fairview is a typical "suburban" school, while Boulder feels more Urban. Fairview felt bigger and there seemed to be MANY more kids--enrollment is now at 2134, not sure about Boulder High. Boulder does have an open campus, but the majority of kids are eating lunch, not doing drugs. We have friends at Fairview and they are very happy with it. I think the staff and curriculum are great at both schools--but you should visit both to see what suits you best. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Amazing teachers. Beautiful setting in Boulder, CO that allows for a very peaceful and exotic learning experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

The reviews may say great things about this school, but it is a hell hole, the teachers at this school dont even deserve a quarter of their paycheck. the only good teachers they have end up getting fired. i do not recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

The academics may be fine here but some of the decisions of who speaks to the kids and what they say that the administration made are inexcusable. I would not send my child here.


Posted November 13, 2008

This school has an amazing curriculum and incorporates sports, arts and academics in a perfect balance. Not only does it provide great support for students of all learning styles (there is help for those struggling and those who want to go above and beyond can even take classes at the nearby university CU). This school offers so much for its students as well as a lovely campus and learning environment with excellent teachers. It has definitely been one of the greatest parts of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

My daughter loves Boulder High School. This is her first year. One of her classes is too easy. Otherwise everything is fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

Boulder High has an open campus environment close to downtown. This does not work for many kids who are not mature enough to handle an open campus environment. If a child is motivated and mature they will do well at the school, otherwise they will fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

The school excels in the instruction of other languages as well, including (as far as I remember) Latin, Japanese, Russian, German, Spanish, and French.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 2, 2006

Boulder High School is the best school for a young adult to go to because of its high academic achievements, but as well has thousands of oppertunities to find out what one likes to do, such as theater or Student Goernment. Also, its location allows for a freedom that is lacked in other schools. It's picturesque setting tops off everything. Plus Boulder is a great place to live.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2006

Addresses the needs of a wide range of students. Has issues around its open campus. Maybe needs to look at expanding the building or decreasing student enrollment. Great sense of Art - a dynamic creative feeling, particularly when compared to several other sterile HS buildings in the District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

Offers appropriate programs to students who require more challenging curricula. Good mix of ethnicity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Amazing! My child learned so much and had a lot of fun! I was lucky enough to find this great of a school! Thank you Boulder High!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Outstanding number of upper level science courses available. The teachers at this school our of the highest quality in the state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2004

Kids go to school to learn! Not to stage political protests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

Boulder High is an excellent school for any child. I had a great experience there, but like most high schools, the amount of effort you put in corelates directly to how much you will get out of it. My three favorite teachers were Pete Carnes, Matt Greenman, and Mr. Ramsy (not in that particular order). Great Arts, and overall really fun and interesting classes. Farveiw High is are rival, and we (bias) are a much better school, with really tallented kids. GO PANTHERS!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female57%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian53%
Hispanic18%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)9%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students71%
Female78%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian79%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students66%
Female73%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian63%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)9%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female37%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian63%
Hispanic20%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Reading

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian92%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students60%
Female55%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian92%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students57%
Female56%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian71%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1604 Arapahoe Ave
Boulder, CO 80302
Phone: (720) 561-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

September School
Boulder, CO



Watershed School
Boulder, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT