Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Boulder, CO
Students enrolled: 466
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 4

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
My son, who is extremely motivated academically, and a TAG student, thrived at MMS. In fact, it was a life changing, for the positive, for him. We switched him half way through 7th grade, and he slid right in. He was well prepared for a rigorous high school with all IB classes, and is continuing to thrive in high school. He had some exceptional teachers. Though he feels he could have had better prep in Science he is still thriving in science in HS (IB course too). Yes, of course there is drama here and there, but there is enough diversity that you can be yourself and find friends who are great for you. I LOVE the principal. She is open minded and cares deeply for the kids and the school. It is a place where kids can thrive. I love the diversity. It's really hard to find that in our school district, as well as a place where middle school kids say more often than not, that they love their middle school - which is what I heard from the MMS kids I asked.

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 5

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school; very accepting of all types of diverse students. Principal is amazing and caring and staff is some of the best in Boulder. Our son has thrived in advanced math (has skipped 2 grade levels) and advanced Language Arts. He is thriving, happy, and loves school. One of the few middle schools in Boulder with National Junior Honor Society and TAG program.


Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 5

Posted March 19, 2012
- a community member
amzingly kid friendly and has exelent art programs. students are kind there are never any fights and kids feel free

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 1

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
Students at the High School this school feeds into says kids from here are woefully prepared for high school compared to the those from other schools that feed in . The school does not differentiate students in language and had to be prodded strongly to provide an accelerated 7/8 math class this year after not having once since they were formed. Many parents of kids more academically inclined are desperately trying to open enroll out or move. It is the principal who drives the lack of academics.

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 5

Posted June 02, 2010
- a community member
This school has great teachers and the principal is always checking up on the classes. The teachers will help you if you are struggling with something and only want you to succeed in life and school. Manhattan is the only school in the district to be named a No Place for Hate school three years in a row


Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a student
i go two this school i am a sixth grader there and think its the best school ever and give it an overall 10 everybody there loves every teacher and enjoys it i dont know one child there that doesnt like it i think if u like the arts but would like to be just as accedemicly inclined than this is the school for you!

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
My grandchildren have received a well-rounded education from Manhattan from a dedicated administrative and teaching staff who obviously love teaching and the children whose lives are impacted by their dedication.

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
Manhattan Middle School is the best school I have ever seen. Their standards are very high. My daughter deeply enjoys the school for the arts and projects available. I highly recomend Manhattan Middle School.


Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
Both of my daughters have loved this school. The arts program is fantastic and the IB program is really great. The opportunities they are getting at this school have been wonderful and the principal is very engaged.

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
I couldn't be more pleased with the experience I've had at this school. My 6th grader is happy and engaged in her classes. Dinner conversation often revolves around the cool things she's learned during the day. I've found her teachers to be involved and responsive; a couple I'd consider stellar. The arts focus has surely boosted my child's confidence and self-esteem, and there are a number of art class options to engage just about any interest. Homework is reasonable and fair. I continually see the students at this school tended to with care and respect. The diverse population of students provides a real life cultural experience; an education in and of itself. The best part is the philosophy that they teach the whole child: equally important to the child's education is his/her happiness and well being. I give this school an emphatic A+, and encourage you to visit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics
290 Manhattan Dr, Boulder, CO  80303
(720) 561-6300
Last modified Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manhattan Middle School Of The Arts And Academics Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top