Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
Columbine Elementary is a gem inside Boulder! The principal is an amazing leader. He is so in touch with the students, the teachers and parents. It is a very balanced education filled with enrichment. The kids are so lucky to be in small classes, enjoy a sunny library, spend time in a great greenhouse, learn a second language and be surrounded by diversity. The teachers are all passionate and highly skilled. We feel lucky to be part of the community.

Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
We transferred here from one of the "top" schools in Boulder, seeking out diversity and second language opportunities. Title 1 schools give you that, and so much more in terms of the wonderful grants and programs unavailable to the other schools in the district. We are very happy and our child is too. A very warm and uplifting environment with amazing parents and staff.


Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
Columbine has amazing dedicated teachers, a more culturally enriched school population than typical Boulder schools, and bilingual education. With the new facilities, I couldn't ask for much more, and my kids couldn't be happier.

Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2013
- a parent
I completely disagree with the review written 11/6. My child loves Columbine-learning an incredible amount, engaged, interested, supported, respects her teachers (most of whom hold master's/award-winning). I volunteer at the school every week, know nearly every staff member. Did the parent who wrote that review volunteer in the classroom? Attend PTA meetings? Help make events happen? Carnival, Harvest Day, class parties, Parade of Lights, Art Show, etc? You'll find passionate, committed parents who support their children and the Columbine community. This negative review of the school is inaccurate and sad. The rating is a 3 due to outdated test scores. Test scores have tripled since Principal Medina started, last year's scores were approx. 90%-which surpassed many top rated schools in BVSD. Please come tour Columbine, and form your own opinion.

Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
this school is amazing, the best teachers, phenomenal staff, supportive community. my son loves his school. the class sizes are small. the kids get exposure to other cultures. highly recommend


Columbine Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
As a mother I couldn't have asked for a better Kindergarten experience than the one we had at Columbine Elementary. Small class sizes, amazing student teacher ratio, full day curriculum, fantastic after school activities such as the NASA learning program, yoga, martial arts, etc., a bilingual program, great teachers and administration, and a very warm community of families. We are so enthusiastic about the rest of our kids elementary journey at Columbine. Go Wildcats!

Columbine Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointed in our experience.. The emphasis on biliteracy - specifically Spanish literacy is a real asset to the latino community - however native english speaker suffer and are held back by the overall lack of fluency. This should not be a neighborhood school - it is in effect a charter school. The parents in the (immediate) neighborhood go to other schools that do not have 80% or more ESL. Home prices in the attendance area suffer because of this fact. The people whose taxes support the school do not feel served by the school. Generally very disorganized. Of course there are gem teachers - hope you get one. We wanted to be happy here - and really tried to be positive about the experience and the benefits - but it soured very fast beginning on day one when the new building opened.

Columbine Elementary School 3

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
My son loves going to school everyday. He is ahead of schedule in reading and math. The adminstration is super helpful. My only complaint is sometimes its a bit unorganized as far as afterschool programs and communication


Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
Me and my partner are very happy with Columbine. The principal is always available, parents involved are truly commited to our children's education which brings communities together. The staff and teachers are qualified and they always look for ways to improve our kids education. We started Columbine a year ago and we look forward for our kid to be proud to finish (mastering both languages!) his elementary school at Columbine.

Columbine Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
Awesome school! We've been there for 4 years now with 2 daughters and love it! What's best about this school: Spanish (or English, depending on your native language) as a 2nd language as part of the curriculum, wonderful teachers and principal, great parents, diversity that's hard to find in Boulder county, and awesome atmoshpere!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbine Elementary School
3130 Repplier Dr, Boulder, CO  80304
(720) 561-2500
Last modified Columbine Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbine Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top