Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heatherwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 391 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

Heatherwood elementary is a wonderful school. Parent involvement and teacher's dedication make it one of the best in Boulder County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The school acts together as a community and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Heatherwood is a family friendly school with strong parent involvement and a great sense of community. Our family lives in a rural setting, so it is especially important that my children feel part of a community at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Heather wood Elementary is a great school with an outstanding community. Both teachers and parents do their very best to make sure the children have a great experience at school. The school always get high scores on the national tests. Our open enrollment is up due to all of these reasons, and everyone speaks very warmly about the school. We are proud to be part of the Heather wood family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The staff at this school go above and beyond regarding the care and compassion that is given to each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

I feel this school is so family oriented and really WANTS parent participation. One always feels welcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Heatherwood's principal, teachers, para-educators and staff are the best any parent and child can ask for. Compared to schools that I have been involved with in the past, there was always someone telling you which teacher you should hope to get or to hope you don't get. In Heatherwood, any teacher you get, you know they are going to be a wonderful and caring teacher and that your child is going get a great education. They are very dedicated to our children and it's an awesome community that I'm proud to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love this school because the teachers are excellent. I cannot complain about one teacher my children have ever had. Also, the school does tons of fun activities to get families involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Our son attended Heatherwood not so very long ago in the scheme of things. Now in college, his love of learning and respect for academia emphasized at Heatherwood, remains. The teachers were engaged, caring and most importantly provided a base of loving to learn that will last his lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This is an absolutely awesome school. The sense of community is great. The school is right in the center of an older community, and many of the families live here, walk their kids to school, talk, hang out, have playgroups and get-togethers. It is a great place to live and learn. The teachers are so friendly and know all of the kids by name. The school has open class rooms, it recycles, has recently changed their lunch menu to a much healthier alternative (with salad bar). I can't say enough good things about Heatherwood Elementary. Our kids just love it, and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Heatherwood Elementary is a great school. The teachers and staff are dedicated to teaching the children. The parents offer tremendous support. There are extra activities coordinated by the PTO for both academic and social events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

HW has worked hard at making the school a true community school, where kids and parents work toward making the school great. The teachers/staff/principal are wonderful, caring people, and my kids just love to go to school. The school is also a ecocycle Green Star school, a recipient of SRTS grant funding to encourage kids to ride/walk to school, and offers great after school activities for kids, including intramurals and HW University.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

We have an incredible community of families, teachers and admin that put children first. Everyone goes the extra step to make sure that all kids have a nurturing, safe, and challenging enviroment to learn and grow. Our school educates all aspects of a child... the emotional, social, athletic, artistic, musical and intellectual. Our principal is very involved in the daily goings on of the school and knows every child by name. We have many social events for families throughout the year. It is a very close knit community of friends and family. My children love going to school and at the end of the day that is what is important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Long term retention of faculty and principal, intramural program, full gymnastics PE program, community service program at local food bank, bike and walk to school, character development program and recognition, active PTO with community building events, active Girl and Cub Scout program in every grade, after school music program, one mile fun run 'Heather Heatherwood' modeled after the 10K Bolder Boulder; after school affordable programs on-site through Heatherwood University, very high percentage of parental involvement and volunteering, amazing principal- I went to see him once and he was handing out milks to the kindergartners in the lunch line
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teachers, great administration, great parent community all supporting the education of our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The sense of community at our school is amazing!People get along and support each other. Our faculty really care about the students and their families. Our parents really care about the teachers. I have 2 kids who are in (have been in Heatherwood) my oldest just moved to middle school this year and I can't say enough about our school. We had the opportunity to go to private and charter schools and we chose Heatherwood because of the outstanding academic opportunities, the good balance of art/music & athletics that are still so important at our school! Bonus, it's our neighhood public school! Win/win in our book! As well as being a distinguised school academically, our kids are taugh to give back and care for our environment. We have many community service activities and we are one of a handful of Green Star schools, partnering with Eco-Cycle to build a model Zero Waste community at our school. Great kids are coming out of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Heatherwood has provided exactly the right type of education for my kids. They receive individual attention when they need it, feel pride in their school and schoolmates, they learn respect for themselves and others. I notice the commitment of teachers, parents and administration working in partnership to create a great experience for kids. The focus and priorities are connected to the community. They use technology appropriately and give kids the opportunity to excel. I trust they would use the funds awarded to make Heatherwood even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Our community! We have a strong community 'feel' which breeds a confidence among teachers, students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Mr O, the principal is awesome and really loves the school. He makes a point to know each kids name and really listens to parents and teachers. the school has great community and functions as part of the larger community.


Posted September 16, 2009

Heatherwood Elementary School is supportive of its students, teachers and parents. It is not only a school but a community builder.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female100%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students89%
Female96%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students74%
Female85%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female77%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students87%
Female82%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Writing

All Students68%
Female74%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students83%
Female78%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students83%
Female89%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 57%
Hispanic 8% 32%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7750 Concord Dr
Boulder, CO 80301
Phone: (720) 561-5586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT