Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (10 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (9 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 164 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heatherwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
I love being part of the Heatherwood community -- where students, parents and teachers are all working together.

Heatherwood Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
The neighborhood feel and community involvement is great. However, the class sizes are too large and communication regarding academic progress and behavior is poor. My child has had a couple wonderful engaging teachers, but has also had disengaged and unorganized teachers. The open floor plan can make concentration difficult for some children. I volunteer in the classroom and find that I am anxious most of the time due to the noise and commotion going on.


Heatherwood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Homework is a good way for a parent to track a child's progress throughout the year and intervene with additional help if needed. It also helps children gain a sense of personal accountability by completing it on time. I fear that the lack of homework is going to have negative effects in later years.

Heatherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Heatherwood has a great neighborhood-school vibe and, rounding-out our second year there now, we have been pleased with the focus on academics. Having said that, we are thrilled that every week our son is experiencing art, music and a healthy amount of outdoor time. As parents, this school checks-off a lot of boxes on our education wish-list. It's not perfect – for example, we could use more foreign language studies – but it's a fantastic public school. We've met great people, our son is thriving and we are grateful that we find ourselves in such an engaged, invigorating community.

Heatherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Amazing parent involvement makes this a great school. Brent Caldwell is highly engaged as the principal and ensures that the kids are well cared for and growing their minds.


Heatherwood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Class sizes have been large for our kids (31-32 kids with one teacher) for the last 5 years so it's hard to judge what the teachers could get done if it were a smaller class.

Heatherwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Amy and Ms. Brenda have made our transition to preschool such a positive one. We were new to the state and nervous about starting our oldest in school; but the personal care and interest they take in each of their students is phenomenal. They are truly gifted with their patience and the effort into the work that they do. My son loves going to school and has learned so much from his teachers and the confidence they have instilled in him. We couldn't be happier!

Heatherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers! Pre K teachers Ms. Gurrentz and Ms. Brenda are the best! They work so well with the students and make sure that they use all resources available to really enrich the student's learning experience. We have really enjoyed our time at Heatherwood so far thanks to these great educators and the wonderful front office staff.


Heatherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
We love Heatherwood. We love Heatherwood because the staff loves my daughter. We truly feel kids learn best when they feel loved, safe, and a part of the community. Ellen E. in KE is truly exceptional- she helped students learn through play, cooperation, and love. The entire Kindergarten team is wonderful and was the perfect start for my daughter's journey in education. My daughter has also flourished in 1st grade. She has loved the job-share between Lynn Sullivan and Amy Siemel. They teach with peacefulness and compassion- and truly make learning fun. My daughter is reading all over town because of them, we are so grateful. We love the community feel - the bbq's, design thinking, walk and roll week, running clubs, and monster math- as a family we feel like we are part of the school community. We love Heatherwood.

Heatherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Heatherwood starts with the excellent leadership. Principal Caldwell encourages his teachers, provides excellent resources, and offers too-notch special needs support.

Nearby schools

Heatherwood Elementary School
7750 Concord Drive, Boulder, CO  80301
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 164 reviews. (720) 561-5586
Last modified Heatherwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top