Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart of Jesus School

Private | PK-8 | 372 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boulder

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $530,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, April 12, 2014

After having my children attend Sacred Heart of Jesus for several years and recently making a change, I came to the realization that while SHJ has some good things going for it, it is overall is lacking. It struggles with many issues and the return on investment (tuition) does not necessarily translate into a strong educational value for your children. There are some wonderful teachers but unfortunately the school has an historically unstable administration, low teacher morale and an ever diminishing student body. One should not assume because this is a private school it is somehow better than other local schools. Take the time to compare SHJ to other private and public options and you will quickly realize your children will be better off and have far more opportunity elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

SHJ is the best. My son has been coming home feeling appreciated and loved. His little community has been a place where he has blossomed into a very kind and conscientious young man. The parents are involved and teachers are great. He could read before he graduated from Kindergarten. His math skills are off of the chart. He loves his computer classes and his music class, but most of all he is happy. I love SHJ for my family. It is a great school. The kids are happy, well educated and well taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

A truly excellent school. I am a parent of four children. Our family moved to Boulder ten years ago. When we moved here we were looking for a challenging academic environment as well as a caring Catholic school and community. We found that at Sacred Heart of Jesus. And ten years later, I can honestly say that this school is better than ever. From the quality core curriculum, to the wonderful and experienced teachers, to the strong school/social community. As a private school it does not adminster the Colorado assessment test, CSAP, but it does test the students annually with the national, Iowa Basics Skills test. SHJ school consistently scores in the 90th percentile or above every year. Wow! Take a closer look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

Many days off. its terrible teachers push students away
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Moving to Colorado, from California, I thought was going to be most difficult when it came to finding a QUALITY, Catholic School. To our absolute delight, after looking at numerous schools in Denver, we found the school we were looking for in downtown Boulder. What an excellent institution for our children! Many assets to list, however, highlights include: an accelerated academic curriculum, a very 'social' school for parents to get to know each other and to get involved (even for working parents) lots of after school activities, including sports and scouts, but most important to me, is a safe, caring and nurturing place for our children to not only learn but to excel. They kids are happy and I am thrilled! The administration really cares and listens to the parents! A true 'community', not just a school, which is exactly what we were looking for when we moved! Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Our four children are all graduates of SHJ. The education they received was excellent and the values taught in the school have reinforced our own family beliefs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

The academics and personal instruction the teachers provide are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 62%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1317 Mapleton Ave
Boulder, CO 80304
Phone: (303) 447-2362

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Watershed School
Boulder, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT