Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Boulder, CO
Students enrolled: 351

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Sacred Heart of Jesus School, Boulder, Colorado Parents coming from out of state looking for a Catholic school for our kindergarten daughter. We think we made a very good choice. The academics are stellar, faith life is strong, the faculty is current in best practices, the technology is state of the art and the community is welcoming. We have found a tradition of excellence.

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
SHJ was a disappointment. The administration and leadership is unstable, volatile and confrontational. The morale is low and the children are the ones who suffer. I know some people have had good experiences with teachers. However, the academics were not great, and simply having some technology in the classroom doesn't mean you are "ahead of the curve." There is nothing that is cutting edge, nor are the teachers well versed on educational trends or techniques. The parent body is nice, but they can't be the ones trying to fight the uphill battle. Too many other good options to even consider this as one.


Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 1

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
After having my children attend Sacred Heart of Jesus for several years and recently making a change, I came to the realization that while SHJ has some good things going for it, it is overall is lacking. It struggles with many issues and the return on investment (tuition) does not necessarily translate into a strong educational value for your children. There are some wonderful teachers but unfortunately the school has an historically unstable administration, low teacher morale and an ever diminishing student body. One should not assume because this is a private school it is somehow better than other local schools. Take the time to compare SHJ to other private and public options and you will quickly realize your children will be better off and have far more opportunity elsewhere.

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 5

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
SHJ is the best. My son has been coming home feeling appreciated and loved. His little community has been a place where he has blossomed into a very kind and conscientious young man. The parents are involved and teachers are great. He could read before he graduated from Kindergarten. His math skills are off of the chart. He loves his computer classes and his music class, but most of all he is happy. I love SHJ for my family. It is a great school. The kids are happy, well educated and well taken care of.

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 3

Posted December 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
A truly excellent school. I am a parent of four children. Our family moved to Boulder ten years ago. When we moved here we were looking for a challenging academic environment as well as a caring Catholic school and community. We found that at Sacred Heart of Jesus. And ten years later, I can honestly say that this school is better than ever. From the quality core curriculum, to the wonderful and experienced teachers, to the strong school/social community. As a private school it does not adminster the Colorado assessment test, CSAP, but it does test the students annually with the national, Iowa Basics Skills test. SHJ school consistently scores in the 90th percentile or above every year. Wow! Take a closer look!

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 0
no rating

Posted February 16, 2009
- a parent
Many days off. its terrible teachers push students away

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
Moving to Colorado, from California, I thought was going to be most difficult when it came to finding a QUALITY, Catholic School. To our absolute delight, after looking at numerous schools in Denver, we found the school we were looking for in downtown Boulder. What an excellent institution for our children! Many assets to list, however, highlights include: an accelerated academic curriculum, a very 'social' school for parents to get to know each other and to get involved (even for working parents) lots of after school activities, including sports and scouts, but most important to me, is a safe, caring and nurturing place for our children to not only learn but to excel. They kids are happy and I am thrilled! The administration really cares and listens to the parents! A true 'community', not just a school, which is exactly what we were looking for when we moved! Thumbs up!


Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 0
no rating

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
Our four children are all graduates of SHJ. The education they received was excellent and the values taught in the school have reinforced our own family beliefs.

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School 5

Posted April 26, 2005
- a parent
The academics and personal instruction the teachers provide are excellent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Of Jesus School
1317 Mapleton Avenue, Boulder, CO  80304
(303) 447-2362
Last modified Sacred Heart Of Jesus School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart Of Jesus School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top