Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Creekside has been an amazing experience for both our children. We've been there 5 years, and have children currently in 2nd and 4th grade. Every year, my children's individual needs - academic, emotional, social, and medical - have been met with the very best efforts of every teacher. Creekside cares about the whole child, and the diversity in the school - far from causing anyone to be "held back" because of the needs of "slower" student - has enriched my children's experience so much. We've had conversations about everything from autism, social needs, ethnicity, and how to welcome someone new. Both my kiddos have good friends there, and we can't wait for the new school that will be finished in 2017. Creekside is awesome!

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
My students are currently in 2nd and 4th grade, and they do about 10 minutes and 30 minutes of homework a day respectively, leaving plenty of time for free play in the evening or for extracurricular activities.


Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Inclusion of the students with autistic spectrum disorder, Interaction with students from every socioeconomic background, and opportunities to be "ambassadors" to new students from all over the world whose families are here studying at the University - all these things have provided endless opportunities for my children to learn compassion, caring, and empathy.

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Students are rewarded for LEAP behavior - whenever they exhibit Leadership, Empathy, Accountability, and Pride (pride as in working with excellence, not as in feeling superior), they are given positive rewards - everything from being entered into a lottery for prizes to the Principal calling home to tell parents what a great job their kiddo did. There are students in the autism spectrum that are included in the classrooms, and my children have been able to observe and learn fair and kind treatment of these beautiful peers - my youngest son exclaimed with joy at Valentines when he found a card from the one of the autistic students in his class. When my older son was tempted to use a calculator on an assignment he shouldn't have and we reported this concern to a teacher, she had a gentle meeting with the entire class of students - a number of students had made that error, and she explained to them clearly the policy regarding use of calculators and what she expected from them.

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Creekside is a great school, with smart and caring teachers, an active parent community, and a more diverse population than you find at other Boulder schools. We love our neighborhood school!


Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school. We came to Boulder from abroad and our children (now 8, 10) did not know any English. The children loved the school and the teachers immediately. They had a wonderful first year and now they are in their second year (grades third and fourth). Both our children's teachers had been amazing (At the beginning of last year my older's son teacher asked us what our son likes to play at the break so she could help him find his place). They learnt English amazingly fast and the overall school program really impressed us (math and social studies). The principle is also great. His priorities as he explained them was making sure the children know that they are loved unconditionally, that they feel a sense of achievement and there was a third thing i forgot...The community is open and active. The children love most of the food in the cafeteria. I have only good things to say :)

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Amazing teachers, great leadership, fantastic community! We are constantly awed with the teachers' ability to teach effectively to so many different levels. A single classroom might include kids who are just learning English, a child with autism, and gifted kids, but everyone's needs are met appropriately and effectively due to the focus on smaller class sizes and co-teaching. The principal is hitting his stride now that he's been there for nearly 2 years, and making some great positive changes in the school in the midst of budget cuts. Literacy is a big focus, and the school is doing well with making sure each child is learning at their particular level. Math is not yet set up to enable faster learners to move ahead, but they're working in that direction and I have every confidence they will become as successful in providing varied learning opportunities for math in the next 2 years as they have been with literacy in the past 2 years. We were almost scared off from Creekside due to its low test scores, but we are so glad we chose this great school. Look beyond the test scores and you'll find one of BVSD's true gems!

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
we adore creekside! the community, teachers, children, and facility are awesome. what a great surprise. feeling lucky here in martin acres.


Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a teacher
I have worker at Creekside for 12 years. I consider it to be my home away from home. The students and staff are like my family. Creekside is a beautifully diverse and vibrant school. There are few schools in Boulder such as this. This school reflects the real world in that there are people with differing abilities, languages, religions, race, and socio-economic levels. Creekside is a wonderful community!

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended Creekside since kindergarten and is now in fifth grade. She has had *amazing* teachers all the way through, who have challenged her to improve on her weaknesses and build on her strengths. Also, Creekside has a very friendly, "community vibe" where everyone feels welcome and students with special needs, different languages etc. are totally included. And the class size...where else are you going to find 22 kids with 2 teachers or 16 kids with one teacher? Not even in a private school, that's for sure! I would recommend Creekside without hesitation.

Nearby schools

Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park
3740 Martin Drive, Boulder, CO  80305
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (720) 561-3800
Last modified Creekside Elementary School At Martin Park is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top