Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
141 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bixby School 5

Posted December 31, 2015
- a community member
I'm not sure how they do it, but the staff at Bixby really know how to address individual learning styles for every student. Our child loves Bixby, as do we. As a parent, one thing I appreciate about Bixby is that it is not a hoity-toity school. I have no idea of the economic status of other families, but we are middle class and do not feel that we are outsiders. I did get that feeling when looking at other private schools in Boulder.

Bixby School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
The compassion and dedication from the teachers is absolutely amazing and unsurpassed! These teachers are so engaged and effective. They truly know how to foster a love for learning and self-development


Bixby School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
This community is a rare find! The teachers are absolutely amazing. Children are academically challenged and nurtured in their social and emotional development. The community is welcoming and engaged and truly wonderful. My son joined in third grade and the teachers and community at Bixby has gone out of their way to welcome him and help with this transition. My son's love for learning had started to disappear in our large class neighborhood school and he said the other night "At Bixby the teachers really, really care and the adults like children and I love learning and making friends there!". We are so delighted to have found this school and it is one of the few schools that truly understands the value of social development and individualized instruction. After 20 years in education research is can whole heartedly recommend this school!

Bixby School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
No homework in K-3 grade, which is exactly right! Young kids should be playing, socializing and finding their passions in their free time, not doing worksheets simply for the purpose of getting them used to homework.

Bixby School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
My kids thrive at Bixby! My daughter started at Bixby just this year in 3rd grade. As a quick learner, she was constantly bored in her 25-30 child classrooms at our neighborhood public school where standardized testing culture forced teachers to focus on the slower learners. She wasn't even 8, but was already seeing recess as her one opportunity for fun and creativity during the school day. Bixby has changed all of that! She comes home now excited about what she has learned and accomplished in her classes. She is seeking out academic challenges for the first time in years and she is developing the persistence and resilience she will need throughout her life. My son was fortunate to start Bixby in his last year of preschool. It's an amazing program that focuses on fostering independence and social and emotional development through play. He went through Bixby's Kindergarten program a year early and is now in 1st grade. His social and emotional growth at Bixby has been astounding, in large part because Bixby teachers focus on this important aspect of development as much as they focus on the academics. Both of my kids are thriving and developing into compassionate, passionate learners. Bixby gives kids the cognitive, social and emotional skills they need to succeed not just in their education, but in life. This is what elementary education should be.


Bixby School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
All of the staff and teachers-- you are amazing! You bring out the best in our kids!

Bixby School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
There are over 100 children at Bixby, each with their own learning style. The teachers at Bixby meet each of these children where they are and help them become the best version of themselves. This is not just effective, but exceptional!!

Bixby School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
Because the classroom size is small at Bixby, the teachers are able to help the children truly master concepts during class time. Therefore, there is little need for kids at Bixby to struggle with worksheets and meaningless repetition at home; any homework given is meaningful and appropriate. Once the time is taken-- as it is at Bixby-- to help children truly understand a concept, and feel the joy and satisfaction that comes with that, there is little need to memorize and test children over and over.


Bixby School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
At Bixby the kids are taught to know themselves, and to look for different ways their own abilities might lead them to solve problems. This gives them the ability to solve problems that may frustrate children without this emotional "toolbox".

Bixby School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
At Bixby students are taught to respect themselves, each other, and their environment. This is done by incredible modeling from the staff, who, at every turn, embody these values themselves. It's no wonder the children pick up on it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bixby School
4760 Table Mesa Drive, Boulder, CO  80305
(303) 494-7508
Last modified Bixby School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Bixby School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. Top