Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

September School

Private | 9-12 | 30 students

We are best known for providing individualized attention to all students

 
 

Living in Boulder

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $440,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

September High School provided a top quality education for my son. Although he scored high on IQ tests, he was failing his courses in public school. He was constantly being penalized, being kept in at lunch and after school, although he wasn't a discipline problem. It turned out he was bored out of his mind. The individualized attention and focus on improving weaknesses while capitalizing on strengths was just what he needed. He is now on the road to medical school, whereas before he was on the road to dropping out of high school. I cannot recommend this school enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

The teenage years can be brutal and high school can be hell if you don t fit in. My student can be herself and excel in her talents and strengths at September High School. She is supported and encouraged to use her ideas and creativity when she writes a paper, does a project, etc. She gets individual attention from teachers, counselors and staff whenever she has a question or concern, whether it is school related or personal. In public school she was negatively challenged and criticized for the way she dressed, the color of her hair and her thinking. She was not recognized for her high g.p.a., attendance or intelligence. At September School not only is she recognized for her academic hard work, she is encouraged to be herself, use all of her talents and continue to think outside of the box. As parents we want her to succeed and be successful in whatever path she chooses and to stay true to herself. At September High School we have that support and she has the mentors and tools she needs to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

My son graduated from September School June 2012. Before enrolling as a 2nd semester freshman he had attended traditional public schools. In the community that is the September School my son grew from an angry boy to a remarkable young man. This Fall he will attend one of the nation's top schools. I have not doubt Sept school had much to do with his personal growth. The staff and faculty treat students as young adults and a low student/teacher ratio encourages personal relationships between them. This benefits exceptional students as well as those with learning issues, or as was son's case, both. Academic programs are individualized per student. Students can explore subjects of their interest through the honors programs. They may also take classes at Boulder High School and at the University of Colorado (both are a few blocks from the school). My son was able to participate in a athletic program at Boulder High. The school uses several buildings in central Boulder. They are old and show it. The school clearly does not invest much in cosmetics. Instead tuition provides an excellent, caring faculty who provide a unique learning environment for student growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

My daughter has been at Sept School for 2 years. Prior to that she was struggling in the public school system: skipping classes, getting failing grades, and dreading going to school every day. She felt invisible to her teachers, her poor grades were causing her to seriously consider dropping out of school. It was agonizing to watch her going through that experience and we felt helpless. That all changed the day we walked into September School. It was small, homey, and the staff we met with seemed genuinely interested in listening to us. Our daughter immediately felt comfortable there. We walked out of there feeling truly hopeful for the first time in years about her education. Now, 2 years later, we can say this: not all of my daughter's issues with going to school were completely solved (she still struggles with motivation), but many of the big issues were. She really likes the staff, she feels she can be herself there, she attends classes and field trips, she feels like she can speak out, and most importantly, we have no doubt that she will be graduating next semester. I'm not surprised that they have such a high graduation & continuing education rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

My son attends September School, and I am very pleased with the education he is receiving. Previously, he attended a Boulder public school, but he hated the environment. Since switching to September School, he has been happier and continues to perform at his best academically. He no longer complains about teachers and school. I admire the dedication of the teachers and staff, and my son appreciates the egalitarian teaching style. I agree with the parent (October 3, 2009) who stated, This is the best school for creative students and those who care about justice and freedom of expression. As for the comments posted March 6, 2012, they are misrepresentations. I find the small campus to be charming, the buildings are not dilapidated. The students are not permitted to smoke on campus. Tests are given and students are assessed. Furthermore, there are student evaluations (conferences) given twice a semester and, if requested, the teachers provide a synopsis of the students performance every two weeks. I encourage anyone with a high school student who is dissatisfied with their current school situation to visit the school and have the student shadow for a day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My son attended this school during his junior and senior year. His instructors helped him get stellar grades and he had experiences that he will never forget. This is the best school for creative students and those who care about justice and freedom of expression.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

We have two children (ages 20 & 21) that are September School grads. We are now starting our third child there and are so grateful to have a school that loves kids! They are encouraged academically, as well as in their personal lives, to be the best they can be. The whole staff is incredibly dedicated. There is a sense of community there that is missing at other schools. My older kids are doing great and I have to thank September School for a big part of that. They instilled a sense of confidence and an excited curiosity for learning that I don't think they would have gotten elsewhere. I highly recommend September School to kids who have what it takes but aren't using it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 62%
Black 5% 5%
Hispanic 5% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • At September High School, we have thrived for 35 years as Boulder's longest running independent high school. (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • John Dunn, Head of School
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 444-5027

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • September High School is the longest running independent high school in the city of Boulder, and we're proud to be celebrating our 39th anniversary this year. Our innovative approach to education has a proven track record and is accredited by the North Central Association. September High School is an intimate and supportive community that fosters individual development and reawakens the love of learning!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$15000 - $16000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1902 Walnut St
Boulder, CO 80302
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 443-9933

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Watershed School
Boulder, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT