Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
Our son attended Whittier since Kindergarten and will be graduating and transitioning into Middle School this year. Whittier has been an excellent school, challenging, diverse, engaging and with a great academic program. Being a university professor myself, I can attest to the high level of commitment from the teachers and staff at this school. Highly organized and accountable teachers, enough freedom for the student to be a self-directed learner within a contained and guided environment, also, it is a beautiful school with historical charm. Highly recommend this school and the neighborhood!

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
This school is awesome - Becky Escamilla is an incredible leader and makes the school so wonderful. The diversity and mixed socioeconomic population are things that work so well in this school.


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2010
- a parent
We are so impressed with Whittier! Simply what they do works. All of our four children have attended excellent private schools at various times and I must say that Whittier has been all around, more impressive and accurate in how it brings learning to our child. We wish they all would have had Whittier for their elementary foundation. A fantastic, compassionate, vibrant, loving place for all children. Go Wildcats!

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
Flatirons Elementary is wonderful because of the parents, staff and community togetherness. We come together and get things accomplished as a team.

Whittier Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
It's the oldest continously-operating elementary school in the State of Colorado. They have great diversity of students and a great IB program.


Whittier Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
We are so impressed with Whittier's elementary program! Our child is exposed to foreign language classes, art, music and the IB curriculum. Children are truly challenged on a daily basis and the teacher and parent community is very tight-knit and success oriented. Best school!

Whittier Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 04, 2008
- a student
Hi Jhee Ahn Jung, a Korean student who graduated from this school. This is by far the best school in existence. The teachers of this school are excellent people, especially Craig Yager and Lisa Blumenthal. They really taught me a lot about life, both intellectual and emotional. This is just one of those places I will remember forever. A good video I can always play back

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2004
- a parent
This is probably the best elementary school in the Boulder area. My wife and I know most of the staff by name and, surprisingly, they know us also. Our daughter goes to first grade and our niece and nephew go to second and fourth grade there. There's a little bit of the hippie idealism taught there, but it's tempered pretty well with a realistic attitude. We plan on moving in the fall and the one thing we regret leaving behind is Whittier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier Elementary School
2008 Pine St, Boulder, CO  80302
(720) 561-5431
Last modified Whittier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top