Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Boulder, CO
Students enrolled: 311

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Vista High School 5

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter will be entering her senior year at New Vista in the Fall and has been at the school since 10th grade. The school's block system that allows students to dive deep into a smaller number of subjects each quarter is a perfect fit for her learning style. Classes are small enough to allow all students to participate and form solid relationships with each other and with the teachers. We are so glad that we chose New Vista when we were considering other public high school options in the Boulder area.

New Vista High School 4

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
I disagree with the parent who said that New Vista students are not prepared properly for college. My child works every night and weekend on homework assignments and enjoys the time spent because the assignments are mostly challenging. There were also exams in most classes though not all. However, it is true that the focus is not on testing but on critical thinking and student-driven projects. These projects do an excellent job of preparing students for college and beyond because they require them to do independent research, manage their own schedules, choose how they want to communicate their ideas, and work in teams. At the end of each quarter, students are invited to present their work to an audience. Students are responsible for planning their own academic schedules with the support of an advisor who's with them all four years. New Vista is not for everyone because of the level of responsibility placed on the students, but for motivated students who enjoy or need an alternative, small school setting, it's a great option,


New Vista High School 1

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a 4 year New Vista student, I cannot in good conscious recommend this school. Despite what a student review said below, this school does NOT prepare your kid for college or the real world. There is minimal testing and even less homework. Time management is not a skill learned at this school, nor is accountability - you don't get your homework done on time, that's ok, you can have an extension. The only reason that my daughter is prepared to go off to college is because we made her take classes at CU concurrently, so she would learn good study habits and get a sense of what kind of homework she can expect next year. With less than 80% of the senior class making it to graduation this year, I think that NVHS has to make some tough choices about their curriculum and the way that they teach.

New Vista High School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a student
New Vista was the perfect place for me. Community engagement, real-life applications, mutual trust, and social justice are just a few of the pros of going to NVHS. It is NOT A LAST RESORT SCHOOL. It is a place where students of all backgrounds, orientations, and beliefs are welcome. It is a place where all students can be challenged, regardless of academic achievement. It is a place where all students are respected--and expected to give respect in return. There is a very real community of engagement at New Vista. Apathy is present, to an extent; all schools have burnouts. But New Vista students strive for excellence in so many areas. What's unique is that New Vista actually SUPPORTS them in those endeavors. Every student is cared for, challenged, supported, and educated. I firmly believe there is no better high school in the BVSD school district.

New Vista High School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a student
The school helps prepare you for college despite some peoples opinions. I went to New Vista for all four years of my high school education and now I am a successful college student and so are many of my friends. The school prepares a student for the creative thinking needed in college and most of all it shows a student how to be in charge of their education. The student receives help and guidance, from a great group of teachers, on what classes to take, which colleges and scholarships to apply to, along with problems that many teenagers encounter in this time of their life. The classes create a creative and intellectual learning environment, which especially helps out now in college. Check it out. Call them up or checkout their website. It is a great friendly atmosphere so don't be shy!


New Vista High School 5

Posted February 23, 2011
- a student
I attended another high school for my freshman year and found that transferring to New Vista kept me out of drugs and behaviors like smoking and partying, where at my old school I was harassed for not taking part in such activities. If you want more information about this school I suggest visiting the website and/or contacting the school yourself, so that you may form your own opinion of the school. http://bvsd.org/high/newVista/Pages/newvista.aspx

New Vista High School 1

Posted October 18, 2010
- a student
This school should be seen as a "last resort" school if your child has been unable to succeed at another high school. Yes, the learning here is more "hand-on" but the overall education is a joke. If your child is planning on attending college, this school will leave him or her VERY underprepared.

New Vista High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
They actually engage students in learning. It is set up for students to be successful by making students partners with adults, responsible for their own learning, lots of choices for learning about subjects that students are interested in.


New Vista High School 5

Posted May 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

New Vista High School 5

Posted March 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Vista High School
700 20th St, Boulder, CO  80302
(720) 561-8700
Last modified New Vista High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Vista High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top