Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


High Peaks Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
High Peaks caters to mediocrity. It advertises itself as high-achieving so that bright students will open enroll. High-achieving at High Peaks means helping 95% of the kids enrolled be average/proficient; a high percentage are molded into mediocrity. The more able students are marking time and are used to improve school stats while their understanding of their abilities and self-esteem suffers. The gifted program previously built by Michelle Eckstein (who is now at Peak to Peak) has changed; it is run with a repetition and consolidation mindset characteristic of low expectations. The staff lack professional development with regard to how they can serve intelligent minds. We've been through 3 teachers. They just would not go beyond their narrow curriculum. Presumably, it is not encouraged. High Peaks boasts about its Niche Ranking- this is an uncredentialled ranking service and parents who don't understand the proficiency ratings game on state tests or ranking methodologies are failing their children by sending them here. The sad thing is that this school has potential, it has capable minds, it lacks vision and leadership.

High Peaks Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Registrar- kind and cheerful person. Registrar- kind and cheerful person. Registrar- kind and cheerful person.


High Peaks Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
A school that attracts highly able students through open enrollment and then merely achieves 95% proficiency rather than 95% advanced on a substandard CSAP/TCAP (colorado state tests inflate scores compared to the naep) is resting on its students laurels rather than supporting them.

High Peaks Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Homework is a repetition of what they do in class. Parents become the teachers who actually teach during homework in a 1 on 1 setting. The teachers primarily present and distribute the material that the students will then learn and experience at home.

High Peaks Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
It aims for mediocrity. When the bar is set low, when critical thinking and feeling are not encouraged, there is very little room to develop grit.


High Peaks Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
It disrespects its students needs and abilities, demands mindless compliance and inculcates similar disrespect in them.

High Peaks Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
I'd HIGHLY recommend HIGH PEAKS! I have 3 children, each with different learning styles & abilities. My oldest went to Middle School this year & has tested into advance classes because of the education he received at High Peaks. My other 2 are in 2nd & 4th grades. The teachers are absolutely wonderful & child centered. The curriculum is outstanding! They don't stress the kids over learning, they make it fun. High Peaks is a Core Knowledge school, so they get more in depth instruction than in a neighborhood school. They tailor lessons to each student's ability & have small groups to help students succeed. The Principal is Lora de la Cruz. We have found her to be very welcoming. She is extremely caring & has been available whenever we've had a concern or issue with our children. She has been instrumental in getting our 2nd grader the help she needs. I can't say enough about the school. From the Principal to the Teachers to the Staff, this school really cares about children & their families.

High Peaks Elementary School 4

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent for 8 years at High Peaks. Our Core Knowledge focus school attracts a highly engaged community of students and parents who thrive on learning. Our family's experience been overwhelmingly positive and my two children have thrived there. My middle schooler was more than prepared for middle school after graduating High Peaks. High Peaks is a warm, supportive environment where the teachers and principal truly go above and beyond for students. We feel lucky to be part of such a wonderful community.


High Peaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
We have had a very positive experience at High Peaks. Excellent teachers, many of whom are National Board Certified, and an engaging, interesting curriculum that is a perfect fit for my child who always wants to learn more. Having spent years at our neighborhood school, where the curriculum was very bare-bones, it is wonderful to see that there is a public school in Boulder that does more than teach to the minimal standards and has high expectations for all students.

High Peaks Elementary School 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Pay attention to the negative reviews. When several different people all note the same things it means they are real issues. Here are the things that I am unhappy with about the school and they all just happen to be noted in the other unhappy reviews: -No warmth, lack of care and concern for the whole child -Principal is not supportive of parents, it's her way or you can leave -Very rigid and inflexible environment and curriculum Like another review said. I'm sorry we ever set foot in this school and I would strongly recommend my friends to not send their children there. I am disappointed that I wasted our first choice for open enrollment on High Peaks.

Nearby schools

High Peaks Elementary School
3995 Aurora Avenue, Boulder, CO  80303
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (720) 561-6500
Last modified High Peaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top